We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dommed”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
delhi
Level Contributor
293 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Dommed”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for a night during my vacation trip in sri lanka, check in was smooth, but once in room was awful, as washroom had issues, room mirror was kind a black, lcd tv had big scratch, so finally asked them to change room which took them more that 45 mins to decide and finally they change the room which was okay so better stay away from room 119, though due to change of room out view to sea was gone as we were given room 229, anyways over service was sad and poor, as I never seen in my entire life of travel that management staff and manager having breakfast and dinner before guest in same buffet place and staff is more busy service them than the real guests, it was sad to see that when you are paying, I wont recommend this place due to this poor attitude and sad professionalism, there are lot many option available and gr8, avoid this place, its poor and not maintained at all

Room Tip: avoid this hotel if u can but anyways if ur in this hotel avoid room 119 and all top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parikshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I'm very much disappointed and sorry to hear about the experience you have had and wanted personally check into these issues.
However, I could not verify the information mentioned on your comment due to certain discrepancies. The room numbers (119) and the views mentioned does not match with our hotel as all our rooms provide lovely view of the ocean including room 229.
If possible, please contact me at eam@surf-bentota.net. So if any of these issues are related to our property, I could immediately attend and rectify them. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    263
    96
    54
    52
See reviews for
278
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

It was a wonderful & memorable weekend.had so much of fun with family. Heart touching welcome with good variety of food. Wonderful stay overlooking the beach. Very quiet surrounding for a peaceful mind to read a book laying on the poolside. Ideal hide way for a busy life.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rajitha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Rajitha,

We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like the whole team took great care of you, which is wonderful. It's our goal to create a comfortable and inviting space for our guests, so we are thrilled that's exactly what you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fab view with a wonderful beach quite safe even in monsoon season as long as you don't go too deep. We were up to waist deep and enjoyed the surf, Both pools are well maintained, Staff is very courteous and helpful , Geethanjaly and Vindhya went out of their way to be nice and courteous, we will be going back and soon

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in front of the pool have their own lounging area between the pool and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldviewer365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear worldviewer365,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out such a fantastic review! I have shared your feedback with our entire team, and they join me in thanking you for recognizing the service offered by them. We're looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations next time you are in Bentota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If your looking for a stunning view of the Indian ocean, not hampered by coconut trees, along with fabulous hospitality, Surf is the place to be.
Although its the off peak season, all meals were served on buffet basis, and for the price we paid, you really can't complain.
Rooms were the standard star class hotel rooms, with comfortable bedding, along with an excellent and powerful shower. But the best was the stunning view from the room, where you could enjoy miles and miles of pristine blue waters of the Indian ocean, which is not hampered by tall coconut trees as we are often accustomed to most beach side resorts.
Another stand out was the exceptional hospitality of the front office, in particular a lady by the name Geetanjali, who was very hospitable and went that extra mile to make our stay a very memorable one. She even facilitated a very very late check out for us with no extra cost.
They also served a very refreshing and unique welcome drink, which was more of a mocktail. All in all, a very very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Munzaa,

Thank you so much for taking time to publish such a great review about the Surf Hotel Bentota. As you have mentioned, the location of the hotel and the lush green lawn without any tall trees provides a breathtaking view. If anyone needs to lay down in the shade, near the two swimming pools located in each end of the hotel, we have plenty of coconut trees that provides shade. I will make sure to pass your compliments to our staff especially to the front office who provided you with an excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratnapura, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

i came with my family and we had memorable times in the beach and pool. We enjoyed well and had tasty foods . staff is very helpful and friendly specially staff relation officers ..The surf, I will come back and love you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Nayomi,

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable overall stay while staying at the Surf hotel. It is pleasing to see that you not only enjoyed the facilities provided by us but also received a very good service from the staff. It would be our pleasure to have you back here and please feel free to get in touch with us if you need any assistance with future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The property is beautiful and the staff are friendly. The attention to detail is spot on and the staff, especially he guest relations manager, ms. Geethanjaly went out of their way to make our stay memorable! We loved the place and look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashrita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Ashrita,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about The Surf Hotel on TripAdvisor. I would make sure to pass your compliments to Geethanjaly and let her know that you valued the service provided. Again, we appreciate you recommendation and looking forward to seeing you back at The Surf in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came in a group of 05 n was greeted by a very friendly manageress who not only gave us a upgrade but allowed us check in @ 10:30 am.The room was nice n roomy but the best thing was the Pool ..it was simple awesome.
#Food :
Dinner -> need more variety n food needs to be bit more spicy-was too sweet :Pls remove the restrictions on dress code... knee high shorts should be allowed
Breakfast-.> good variety ,king-coconut would be a good addition (and hoppers)
Lunch-> good..reminds me of home ... pls add Ice cream

# Staff: friendly but looked bit scared of guests...can improve with bit more experience/exposure

# Mini bar- better have a warning notice on the cooler settings .

So Final word : with little bit of fine-tuning can go for 5 star...coz u got the best beach front ,best pool(s) n excellent rooms.

Do think about the food n call me i will definitely come back !!
Thanks for the great hospitality and i wish you all the best ...go for 5 star its closer than you think ...!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmilaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Amila,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. Providing a great value to all of our guests is our main goal and we thank you for appreciating it. I will make sure to share the suggestions you made with our team and improve those areas to provide an even better experience during your next visit to The Surf hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.9 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing