We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a hotel, great beach and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel, great beach and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with our little daughter. Everything about it was great. The food and the location was very good. Undergoing renovations currently. Exceptional service from some of the staff namely pathum from front office and isuru from the restaurant. Even the General Manager came and spoke to us and checked if we needed anything. A few grumpy and unsmiling staff but didn't spoil our stay. Nice stretch of beach. The spa is very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is just off the main Galle Road. A few other star class hotels nearby. The town is about 15 minutes away. A few independent restaurants scattered along the way with one almost outside the gate if you get tired of the hotel grub. Having said that the hotel buffet offered a reasonable variety with dishes both local and international. Not much of indoor entertainment or reading material. The room was clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Dunu,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience here at The Surf hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our location, cleanliness of rooms, spa, and overall service. However, I'm disappointed to see that you came across some unfriendly staff members. We will do our best to educate all our staff to avoid such behavior in the future. Thank you so much again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    259
    95
    53
    50
See reviews for
269
312
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

my husband and I stayed at the Surf last week and we absolutely loved it. the superior rooms by the beach are lovely and the beach itself is well maintained, nice and long... Special mentions to Harsha who was so pleasant and lovely, always ready to help! she made our stay extra warmer.

the rooms are quiet and cosy..just the way we wanted it to be. However i feel that the food could improve. it wasnt bad or anything.. Food was just average... maybe they could expand their variety a little more. i would say more seafood, indian, food items.

the restaurant aslo tends to be noisy at times, as the manager communicates really loudly with the waiters... maybe they can tone down their volume.. so that the guests could have a nice chill time.

but the bottom line is.. its a FAB place for a holiday.. if you are beach lover, this hotel offers you a nice long stretch that is maintained very well.. i would recommend it to anyone... Keep it up guys... lots of wishes coming your way!!

Room Tip: all rooms face the beach so no problem..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kauchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Kauchi,

Thank you very much for recommending The Surf hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to hear that you absolutely loved the location and rooms of our property. Also, thank you for sharing your experience about the our F&B services and will make sure to attend to those matters with our Chef and restaurant staff. We hope the next time you visit us, you will see an improvement in those areas and will able to have a even better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matara, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

very good hotel for spend a holiday.very good hospitality and service.I had the most fabulous time at the Surf Hotel Bentota.The rooms were brilliant and quite big. They have two big pools and that stretch of the beach .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeewana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jeewana,

Thank you very much for recommending The Surf Hotel and we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay while you were with us. Please feel free to contact us anytime you wish to come back this way. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My self and wife had a good time at the Hotel . Booked on 19/20 July 2014( Room 139 ) Food ,Rooms & Hospitality of the staff was Very Good .

We stayed at the same hotel about 10 yrs back . After the refurbishments the hotel looks beautiful .

Staff was helpful and Special mention should be Given to Githanjali -GRO and Pathum .

Hope to visit again soon !!!!


Lakshman Pandithasekera.
17/6 A Siriwardana Rd
Dehiwala ,
Sri Lanka .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 132Lakshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Lakshman,

Thank you very much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to see that you not just enjoyed the facilities offered at the Surf, but also had great experience with the service from our staff. As you have mentioned, we have done many improvements to our location to provide a better experience for all our guests. Again, we appreciate the comments you made about The Surf Hotel and looking forward to see you here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms with a view of their long beach, two pools at each end of the property where we relaxed a whole afternoon in!

A'la carte is minimal but what they do have is good. The buffet has both local and western dishes. My wife suggests that they could probably have more seafood on the buffet (prawns/crabs) :p. In their defense though they do have a seafood restaurant we couldn't visit :)..

A walk down the beach will bring you to a cool-shady-grove and rocks on the beach where you'll find an array crabs sunbathing! :)

Would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you prefer walking into their shallow pool from your room get a room on the north end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Gayan,

Thank you so much for publishing this review online about your visit to The Surf Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we offer at our hotel and the friendly services of our staff.
I will inform our Chef about the suggestion you made about having more seafood options at the buffet. And as you mentioned, we do offer a wide variety of seafood dishes at our "Fruit De Mer" seafood restaurant for all our guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My girlfriend and I had the most fabulous time at the Surf Hotel Bentota. Much much better than any Resort in Western Australia.
Tremendous service, stunning beach and of-course the food. “ “Mind blowing””
Can’t wait to go back .

Room Tip: Choose a room quite close to the Shallow pool. Loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Woody,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about us on TripAdvisor and rating us above many other resorts. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our resort and enjoyed the food and the services. It would be our pleasure to have you back here at The Surf Hotel and please feel free to let us know if you need any help with your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I visited this hotel recently and I was amazed by the quality of service offered by this hotel. The staff was very hospitable and the hostess went out of her way to ensure that every customer was comfortable after checking in. The rooms were brilliant and quite big. They have two big pools and that stretch of the beach is very clean. Lifeguards are continously on patrol which makes swimming much safer. The Surf is one of the few outstation hotels I know of that also has a gym. There was a wide choice of delicious dishes at the restaurant and room service was fast and excellent. The staff at The Surf Bentota were far more welcoming and courteous than those at most of the well known hotels and I would definitely visit this hotel again. Thank you very much for a great experience !!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor. The lounge area outside the ground floor rooms have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dinal,

Thank you very much for your feedback about the recent stay at The Surf Hotel. It appears that you did utilize many of the activities & facilities we offer. Apart from the gym and the two large swimming pools, we do offer other activities during the day such as water aerobics, tai chi, and stretching. Also, it is wonderful to see that you were provided with nice service by the staff which gave you a welcoming feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.9 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing