We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to avoid this accomodation!”
Review of Mihin Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mihin Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed in this guest house 1 night and really never again.
The position is very bad (about 2 km from the center of Bentota and without the direct entrance to the beach. You must go to the main street and reach the beach from another hotel.
I booked the "economy double room" 6 months in advance in order to be sure that during the Christmas there will be a room available for me.
We arrived in the check in time and the owner told us that all rooms are full and we have to sleep 1 night in some "other room". For me it was OK until I saw the room. It was a LOFT 2 x 2 m with a small window, without attached bathroom and very smelly. Really terrible.
The bathroom, we could use, was in the garden like a public bathroom for all guests, there was no possibility to lock the door, so during I was having shower, I had a "nice" visit of some guy..
The toillet was even worse, there was only a hole in the ground without flushing without water!!!!!
I didn't want to accept this solution, but the owner and especially his daughter (really arrogant person) told me: "if you don't want this "super" room, you can go and we all can waste our time"...
We were very tired after the long travel with the public buses and we said, ok, but we stayed only 1 night instead of 2 nights.
After the terible night in the smelly loft we received the "wonderfull" breakfast, on the plate there was 2 pieces of old scrambled eggs, perharps the rest from another person, in the cup of coffee there were many ants and the marmelade and butter were old and rank. Perharp it was like a "fine" that I wasn't happy with my room...
I was in Sri Lanka 14 weeks, tried many guest houses in the whole country and this Bihin Villa was really the worst experience I had... Please avoid the stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dasa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Dasa P

We thank you for choosing Mihin Villa Bentota to spend your lovely holiday. It was unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy your stay as expected.
We agree that your email request received in advance and we secured you a 'Economy twin room with shared bathroom' according to the rate you bargained. It would have been your expectation to receive a Deluxe Air-conditioned room but we were not in a position to do that.
We strongly reject the published photos and they are not relevant to the incident.
As a responsible accommodation provider, we are committed to maintain a safe and secure environment for all guests staying at Mihin Villa Bentota. Therefore, we have a zero tolerance in place for all indecent behavior and drug use in premises, hence we advised you to leave the property on the following morning.
We thank you again for choosing Mihin Villa Bentota.
Thanks & Regards,
Mahinda Siriwardana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed with two kids and the owners were very nice to lend us boogey boards and beach stuff. The beach is really close and great for body boarding!
The rooms are basic with good mosquito nets, some have air con but I think you have to pay extra. We liked the Sri Lankan breakfast option, dinner compared to other guesthouses was more basic but still very tasty!
Lovely garden and helpful owners

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleviajeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear littleviajeros,

We thank you for your recent stay and your valuable contribution to share your thoughts with our travel community. We are delighted to hear that your family and kids had a lovely time in Mihin Villa Bentota. We hope to see you next time when you are back in our lovely country. Thanks & Regards, Mahinda Siriwardana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

After searching a place to stay in Bentota we ended in this lovely homestay with the family. The owners are the best. Real, genuine, hospetable and very positive people. They accept you with hands wide open and they will share life stories with you and chat as much as they can. It was lovely and true Sri Lankan experience.
Lady of the house is a cook,so delicious smells are to be expected every morning and evening.
May I not forget the tropical garden they have,really nice.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Sreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Ana_Sreb

We thank you for your recent stay at Mihin Villa Bentota and taking your valuable time to share your experience. We hope to see you again when you are back in our lovely country. Thanks & Regards, Mahinda Siriwardana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's like home away from home. The owners are very friendly and warm. Perfect stay at Bentota. Just two mintues away from the beach. Opposite to a mask factory. The place is clean and the food is good too. The only draw back is they don't have hot water for shower. Mahindar, the owner introduced us to Pala, government certified three wheeler who is a great guy as well. .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahaMatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear MahaMatin

We thank you for choosing Mihin Villa Bentota to base yourself while you were visiting Bentota. Your kind feedback is vital for our development. We hope to see you in near future when you are back in our lovely country. Thanks & Regards, Mahinda Siriwardana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It is run by a family and their house is converted into a hotel. When we arrived at that hotel, there was no other guest staying at that place so the food - dinner as well as breakfast - provided to us was horrible with no choices given we were vegetarians. Good thing of that place is that it is just 5 min away from the beach and that beach has not got many visitors coming in so that acts like a private beach for guests. Free wifi is available.

Room Tip: Good for a night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AS1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear AS1202,

We thank you for your kind feedback.
It was unfortunate that we could not fulfill your specific meal requirements as we currently do not run a specialty restaurant at Mihin Villa hence we provided you travel directions to all other nearby restaurants.
We may develop a restaurant which can cater variety of meal requirements as we progress.
Please do visit us when you are back in our lovely country next time.
Warm Regards,
Mahinda Siriwardana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely week in Bentota staying at Mihin Villa. We originally booked 3 nights but extended to 7 after seeing the nice beach and our friendly greeting from the family.
We arrived late after a long journey from Hatton but we were greeted with tea and food which was much needed! The breakfast served every morning was plentiful and there is a lovely garden to sit out in. The family could not do enough for us and were very accommodating to all our needs, we also had a few delicious dinners during our stay at a very reasonable price.
The villa is 2 minutes from the beach and right by restaurants and shops. Overall we had a great stay and will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear MahHannah,

We thank you for your kind feedback. We believe that your review will help other valued guests to make their informed decision.
It was our pleasure that we had the opportunity to host you over 7 days.
Please do visit us again when you are back in our lovely country.
Warm Regards,

Mahinda Siriwardana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Mr. Mahendra is a gracious host. The property is easy to locate. The beach is just 10 minutes behind the property and that is a plus point. The Breakfast is excellent and the tea is amazing. Do spend some time chit-chatting with this sweet couple. I miss them already.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Neha M

We thank you for sharing your home stay experience with our travel community. We have greatly enjoyed your stay with us.
As we always want to make sure that our valued guests stay happy and get a comfortable stay, we are not hesitated go out of our way. Your stay made our days so happy too, smiling around and sharing thoughts. We felt like you are part of our family.
We thank you once again for your lovely thoughts and please do visit us when you are back in our lovely country.
Warm Regards, Mahinda Siriwardana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
Rockside Beach Resort
Rockside Beach Resort
#10 of 25 in Bentota
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Haus Berlin, Bentota
Haus Berlin, Bentota
#7 of 66 in Bentota
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hygge Resorts
Hygge Resorts
#23 of 25 in Bentota
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mihin Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihin Villa

Address: No 204 Galle Road | Robolgoda, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Bentota
Price Range: £14 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mihin Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mihin Villa Bentota - accommodation is conveniently located in only few steps away from Bentota Beach. We have 6 well maintained guest rooms designed for maximum comfort of our valued guests. Our guests have the comfort of using wireless Internet from guest rooms and it is free. We invite you to visit us and enjoy your holiday in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mihin Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing