We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven - should not be missed!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apsara

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bentota, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
13lozza13
SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven - should not be missed!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed at Apsara, with my husband and friends, for two weeks in August. This was our second visit and if anything the property is even better. Every detail has been carefully considered by the owners, resulting in a property of the highest standard.

There is a team of staff on hand to take care of your every request, including a chef! You pay for the ingredients and the chef prepares anything you request. The standard equals that of top restaurants but unlike many restaurants you know the ingredients are freshly bought and prepared on the day; the kitchen is spotless. Of particular merit during our stay was butternut squash and apple soup, Moussaka and Coral fish but everything was delicious.

The villa is luxurious and equals the standard of a five star hotel. There are three double rooms, each with its own on suite bathroom and one room has an additional bed and cot if required. The rooms are set around a delightful courtyard. The rooms are cleaned and the beds made each morning; the beds are turned down each evening. Mosquito nets are available but we found there was no need to use them as the staff are extremely vigilant in dealing with any stray mosquitos. Outside, but under cover there is a beautiful dining table where all meals were served. For every meal the table was beautifully laid and the food was then served by the staff. In the evenings candles are lit and the setting is magical as you look out over the river. The lounge area is vast and there is a wide range of DVDs to watch, if you can tear yourself away from all the other amenities.

The swimming pool and surrounding area is truly stunning and the pool is exceptionally large for a villa. The sun beds surrounding the pool are luxurious; cushions and mattresses are placed by the staff each morning. There is a platform at one end of the pool and this proved to be an excellent place to sun bathe in shallow water; certainly very relaxing! As you step down from the sun deck you walk over a lawn which leads to a landing dock where any boats you require can tether. This is a superb spot for gazing out over the river.

The villa is has a wide river frontage where the vista changes by the hour, according to the tides. If you wish to spend time on the beach you call for a boat and for a very small charge you are transported across the river where a narrow spit of land joins the river to the beach. There are several hotels on the beach and we enjoyed cocktails on the beach as the sun set; amazing!

I cannot fault Apsara and recommend it without reservation. We have now enjoyed two amazing stays there and would change nothing. The quality of this accommodation is outstanding. If you are looking for a relaxing but luxurious holiday where your every desire is taken care of, by competent staff, then the experience should not be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That everyting was taken care of; we could truly relax.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro51314
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Just gorgeous!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed at Apsara in the middle of our Sri Lanka adventure in Oct 2011 - with a young family of two children and a freshly born baby.

We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing time in the villa. All the food was beautifully prepared for us - and the children's love for pancakes indulged daily.
All the staff were fantastically friendly and very helpful with organising activities for us to do when we wanted to leave the villa.

Each room was beautifully decorated and the living and dining spaces in particular were fab. The pool is a great size and the view over the water is wonderful - especially for crocodile spotting - which the children loved doing.

It took a bit of time to get used to the fact that the bedrooms were open to the courtyard and would have loved for there to connecting doors between the bedrooms for peace of mind at night. That being said it was very safe and secure with a night porter and I have a tendency to be a bit neurotic!

I would love to return. It was just gorgeous!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming staff along with the clean and calm environment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presiley...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sri Lankan Paradise”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in January 2012

We first stayed in Villa Apsara in 2011 and loved it so much we returned in 2012.It is in a perfect position as if you want to be peaceful, it is on a river mouth so you sit in the garden,swim in the pool and watch boats,birds,and an occasional crocodile go by. Each time we hired a boat to take us up the river where we saw, among many other birds, 4 different types of Kingfisher, bee eaters ,Brahmini Eagles and huge monitors . The birds ignore you as no one disturbs them.If you want to see people,you can walk out of the front door onto the street and watch village life,and it is a short walk to a town with a weekly market ,where we were the only tourists amongst a sea of colour and noise.Then,when we wanted to swim in the sea or to surf,we took a tuktuk to the beach at Bentota.Sometimes,the more athletic of us walked there .The villa itself is beautifully laid out . Perhaps the best bit ,though, was the unbelievably delicious food we had made for us throughout the day. We choose to eat Sri Lankan curries each night and Chandana ,the chef, made more and more delicious ones,allowing for us not liking very hot curries. During the day he constantly produced whatever we wanted -a homemade cake for tea and wonderful soup for lunch. We never went out for a meal because it seemed a pity to waste his cooking. This also meant that the whole holiday was terrific value as we only paid the actual cost of the food as the cost of the chef and Pryiantha ,the very helpful manager ,and the other 3 staff was all included in the price of the villa. I have recommended it to lots of friends as it was so beautiful and such good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position,the villa itself and the cooking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredais...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I have been lucky enough to rent Apsara a number of times. It is without doubt the best villa I have stayed in during over 40 trips to Sri Lanka. The staff are absolutely lovely, the food is amazing and the location is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the villa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Apsara is a magical place that will exceed your expectations”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed at Apsara for a month and it still wasn't long enough! The villa is clean, stylishly decorated and has a magical feel about it. The staff were amazing and made sure we were always happy and the pool and view make this the perfect place to unwind. We had our two young children and my in-laws with us and the staff managed to keep everyone from our 5 year old to my 70 year old father-in-law happy. The food the chef cooked was just amazing (a must try is his pumpkin curry) and the staff organisied all of our day trips/spas/boat rides/windsurfing/water skiing lessons etc etc etc with ease so I really did not have to lift a finger from the moment we arrived until the second we left. Apsara exceeded all of our expectations and I would recommend without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything - the villa and the location plus the private chef was amazing.
Liked least: Nothing except I had to hit the gym when I return home after eating too much
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thrippo
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Aspara was idyllic!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed here as a couple, with a teenager, for about a week and felt totally spoilt and relaxed. The villa itself is beautiful and with its nod to nature and openness, has echoes of the Bawa architecture, which we became interested in whilst in Sri Lanka.The staff were delightful- friendly yet professional, accommodating and extremely helpful- and were a key factor in making the stay so comfortable and memorable. Our meals were discussed, sourced and cooked daily to a high standard (local dishes were our favourites- we were even offered to accompany staff to the market, which we enjoyed). Our stay was the perfect balance of chilling out...by the pool/ playing board games/ reading/ listening to music ( all provided) and exploring... river safari/ beach outings/ turtle sanctuary/ visits to both Bawa houses and gardens etc. We would certainly return and have recommended since to friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high level of service
Liked least: Leaving :)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magnificient, luxurious, "self catering" with superb chef and attentive staff”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in May 2012

As a family with 3 teenagers, we spent 3 weeks in Sri Lanka, a week of which was in this little piece of paradise called Apsara. It was the perfect place to chill out in a beautiful setting on the Bentoto lagoon. The sunsets were magnificent lying on steamer chairs next to the pool with a cold beer and the sounds of lagoon's wild life echoing across the water. You hear nothing of the traffic which passes 30 meters from the entrance behind you; you hear just the birds and the frogs and the occasional put-put of a small boat making its way up or down stream.

The most noteworthy thing about Apsara is the staff who have perfected the art of being right there when you need them and fading into the background when you don't. The chef was magnificent. While my wife lay at the pool, he taught me 9 Sri Lankan dishes which I still make back in England. If I felt like going to the market with him and taking a lesson, we would go off to the fresh fish and vegetable market to buy the ingredients (and take photos) and then after a couple of hours of canoeing on the lagoon and through mangrove tunnels seeing large lizards and wild birds, he would patiently teach me every step of recipes which I wrote down as we progressed (he was previously employed by a 5 star hotel in the UAE so knows a bit about food, but we concentrated on the Sri Lankan dishes he grew up with).

The manager who lives next door with his young family is a real Sri Lankan gentleman (and a world class windsurfer who now coaches the national team). He arranged everything we needed with speed and efficiency. I rented a large family sized motor boat from his brother a mile or so down at the mouth of the Bentoto river and spent several days either fishing at the rather spectacular entrance to the river (lots of fish, lots of fight) or chugging up the lagoon with the family where we saw everything from large monitor lizards to exotic birds and snakes (we even got to hold baby crocodiles which are released into the wild when they get to about 18 inches long and, at the beach, baby turtles which are kept safe from predators during the first 3 days after hatching when their shells are soft and then released into the sea which increases the survival rate from less than 10% in nature to well over 40% if I recollect correctly, which fact rather pleased the young animal rights activists in our family).

Apsara is close to everything you need. The staff will arrange a tuk-tuk whenever you want it (our preferred means of transport over short distances, a 3 wheeled motorized taxi seating 2 well fed adults or three active teenagers). It is so much fun that I often took one to just amble around the country side looking for photo ops of which there are many.

I have traveled extensively in Asia, Africa, Europe, and the Americas and I can honestly say that Apsara set a new standard for us. I think that it was just the total peace and quiet and the chance to spend close family time together....combined with the opportunity to jump in a tuk-tuk and go visit the frenzy of the fish market or the pounding surf of the tropical beaches that did it for me. That and the mangoes. I grew up on a mango growing estate in Africa so I know a bit about mangoes....or I thought that I did until I tasted the mangoes the chef served at breakfast and that I found I could buy for a few pence on the side of the road whenever breakfast seemed a long way away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peace, food, staff,....all wildly beyond expectations
Liked least: There wasn't a single thing that wasn't absolutely perfect
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$325
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing