We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing but difficult for small kids”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apsara

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bentota, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
soso82
RYD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing but difficult for small kids”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed for great three nights at this amazing place, the staff are helpful and tentative, the chief made everything we wanted with a smile. the only issue is the three bedrooms are totally separated. the villa is on the river directly and then there is an open area on that area are the three door each leading to the bedroom and the ensuit toilet. it would be great for friends or family with teens, but for us a family with young children it was difficult. We ended up sleeping in 2 bedroom each parent with one kid, because w didn't feel safe enough for our kids to sleep alone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2014
Dear Abdullah,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Apsara and the staff we're their usual friendly selves.

As for safety for the children we do have a note on our property information to ask about the suitability for younger children as the pool is not gated and being a river front property that is also something for guests to be aware of. The bedrooms lead out onto a courtyard set away from the pool and river, but it does of course have access to all areas. We can provide extra beds/cots however in order for young children to share their parents rooms, our night watchman is always on the property and we can also arrange nannies at a very reasonable rate to look after young children in the day or throughout the night.

Thank you again for staying at Apsara,

Kate, Priyantha, Siri and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
13lozza13
SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven - should not be missed!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed at Apsara, with my husband and friends, for two weeks in August. This was our second visit and if anything the property is even better. Every detail has been carefully considered by the owners, resulting in a property of the highest standard.

There is a team of staff on hand to take care of your every request, including a chef! You pay for the ingredients and the chef prepares anything you request. The standard equals that of top restaurants but unlike many restaurants you know the ingredients are freshly bought and prepared on the day; the kitchen is spotless. Of particular merit during our stay was butternut squash and apple soup, Moussaka and Coral fish but everything was delicious.

The villa is luxurious and equals the standard of a five star hotel. There are three double rooms, each with its own on suite bathroom and one room has an additional bed and cot if required. The rooms are set around a delightful courtyard. The rooms are cleaned and the beds made each morning; the beds are turned down each evening. Mosquito nets are available but we found there was no need to use them as the staff are extremely vigilant in dealing with any stray mosquitos. Outside, but under cover there is a beautiful dining table where all meals were served. For every meal the table was beautifully laid and the food was then served by the staff. In the evenings candles are lit and the setting is magical as you look out over the river. The lounge area is vast and there is a wide range of DVDs to watch, if you can tear yourself away from all the other amenities.

The swimming pool and surrounding area is truly stunning and the pool is exceptionally large for a villa. The sun beds surrounding the pool are luxurious; cushions and mattresses are placed by the staff each morning. There is a platform at one end of the pool and this proved to be an excellent place to sun bathe in shallow water; certainly very relaxing! As you step down from the sun deck you walk over a lawn which leads to a landing dock where any boats you require can tether. This is a superb spot for gazing out over the river.

The villa is has a wide river frontage where the vista changes by the hour, according to the tides. If you wish to spend time on the beach you call for a boat and for a very small charge you are transported across the river where a narrow spit of land joins the river to the beach. There are several hotels on the beach and we enjoyed cocktails on the beach as the sun set; amazing!

I cannot fault Apsara and recommend it without reservation. We have now enjoyed two amazing stays there and would change nothing. The quality of this accommodation is outstanding. If you are looking for a relaxing but luxurious holiday where your every desire is taken care of, by competent staff, then the experience should not be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That everyting was taken care of; we could truly relax.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro51314
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Just gorgeous!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed at Apsara in the middle of our Sri Lanka adventure in Oct 2011 - with a young family of two children and a freshly born baby.

We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing time in the villa. All the food was beautifully prepared for us - and the children's love for pancakes indulged daily.
All the staff were fantastically friendly and very helpful with organising activities for us to do when we wanted to leave the villa.

Each room was beautifully decorated and the living and dining spaces in particular were fab. The pool is a great size and the view over the water is wonderful - especially for crocodile spotting - which the children loved doing.

It took a bit of time to get used to the fact that the bedrooms were open to the courtyard and would have loved for there to connecting doors between the bedrooms for peace of mind at night. That being said it was very safe and secure with a night porter and I have a tendency to be a bit neurotic!

I would love to return. It was just gorgeous!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming staff along with the clean and calm environment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presiley...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sri Lankan Paradise”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in January 2012

We first stayed in Villa Apsara in 2011 and loved it so much we returned in 2012.It is in a perfect position as if you want to be peaceful, it is on a river mouth so you sit in the garden,swim in the pool and watch boats,birds,and an occasional crocodile go by. Each time we hired a boat to take us up the river where we saw, among many other birds, 4 different types of Kingfisher, bee eaters ,Brahmini Eagles and huge monitors . The birds ignore you as no one disturbs them.If you want to see people,you can walk out of the front door onto the street and watch village life,and it is a short walk to a town with a weekly market ,where we were the only tourists amongst a sea of colour and noise.Then,when we wanted to swim in the sea or to surf,we took a tuktuk to the beach at Bentota.Sometimes,the more athletic of us walked there .The villa itself is beautifully laid out . Perhaps the best bit ,though, was the unbelievably delicious food we had made for us throughout the day. We choose to eat Sri Lankan curries each night and Chandana ,the chef, made more and more delicious ones,allowing for us not liking very hot curries. During the day he constantly produced whatever we wanted -a homemade cake for tea and wonderful soup for lunch. We never went out for a meal because it seemed a pity to waste his cooking. This also meant that the whole holiday was terrific value as we only paid the actual cost of the food as the cost of the chef and Pryiantha ,the very helpful manager ,and the other 3 staff was all included in the price of the villa. I have recommended it to lots of friends as it was so beautiful and such good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position,the villa itself and the cooking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredais...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I have been lucky enough to rent Apsara a number of times. It is without doubt the best villa I have stayed in during over 40 trips to Sri Lanka. The staff are absolutely lovely, the food is amazing and the location is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the villa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Apsara is a magical place that will exceed your expectations”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed at Apsara for a month and it still wasn't long enough! The villa is clean, stylishly decorated and has a magical feel about it. The staff were amazing and made sure we were always happy and the pool and view make this the perfect place to unwind. We had our two young children and my in-laws with us and the staff managed to keep everyone from our 5 year old to my 70 year old father-in-law happy. The food the chef cooked was just amazing (a must try is his pumpkin curry) and the staff organisied all of our day trips/spas/boat rides/windsurfing/water skiing lessons etc etc etc with ease so I really did not have to lift a finger from the moment we arrived until the second we left. Apsara exceeded all of our expectations and I would recommend without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything - the villa and the location plus the private chef was amazing.
Liked least: Nothing except I had to hit the gym when I return home after eating too much
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thrippo
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Aspara was idyllic!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed here as a couple, with a teenager, for about a week and felt totally spoilt and relaxed. The villa itself is beautiful and with its nod to nature and openness, has echoes of the Bawa architecture, which we became interested in whilst in Sri Lanka.The staff were delightful- friendly yet professional, accommodating and extremely helpful- and were a key factor in making the stay so comfortable and memorable. Our meals were discussed, sourced and cooked daily to a high standard (local dishes were our favourites- we were even offered to accompany staff to the market, which we enjoyed). Our stay was the perfect balance of chilling out...by the pool/ playing board games/ reading/ listening to music ( all provided) and exploring... river safari/ beach outings/ turtle sanctuary/ visits to both Bawa houses and gardens etc. We would certainly return and have recommended since to friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high level of service
Liked least: Leaving :)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$318
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing