We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place on the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awanhala Beach Restaurant

Awanhala Beach Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 71 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best place on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place is a hidden gem, as someone said. We didn't expected fo find a place like this in Bentota (thanks Wasantha that took usthere) where we have spent our four last days in Sri Lanka. Absolutely reccomended for independent travellers; there you will find free sunbeds and a very good restaurant with great choice of sri lankan and international dishes. The place was never crowded and we spent four days relaxing on the sunbeds, reading and playing with the waves.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mauro_Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    54
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shhhh! Dont tell anyone!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Quiet and peaceful. Just the place to relax and unwind with a bottle of Lion and a good book! Food is good too, and if you need a little excitement just go for a quick dip!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank irnbruev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing food, gorgeous beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

i've just returned from 2 weeks at Bentota Beach and spent most of my days chilling and relaxing at the Awanhala Beach Restaurant. They have half a dozen sunbeds in a shady area, and if you fail to get one of these, the guys will rustle up a sunbed matress for you to put wherever you like. This beach is stunning - no rows and rows of sunbeds, touts etc - just a chilled laid back atmosphere, stunning views, and facilities of the restaurant whenever you need. I would say on average I spent £10 per day here, on drinks, some lunch/beers, and maybe a cocktail before I left after sundown, and this included a healthy tip - this place is amazing value, the street food is fantastic, and I also had lobster here one day, gorgeous, grilled on the bbq with lemon butter - delicious and so cheap!
The owner Nelson greets you everyday with a smile and a hello - some on here say the service here is slow, but seriously who is in a hurry??? I easily whiled away everyday here, soaking up the sun, cooling off in the sea, and chilling in the shade when it got too hot with a nice cold beer.
The owner had rescued a couple of puppies and these provided great entertainment and cuddles - a delight for all the children around (and adults too :-)!!!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to watch the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

laid back atmosphere with music to match. Definitely the place to sit and have a drink and bite to eat when the sun goes down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeskipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
293 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“best food in 15 days in sry lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Lovely position just in front of the sea. Fantastic fish roti, big portion and nice presentation. Good price (550 rupies) Romantic atmosphere. My best dinner in 2 weeks. Recommended

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank superzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Awanhala Beach Restaurant also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
 

Been to Awanhala Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing