We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME....!!”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AWESOME....!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

After two nights of average hotels in Colombo and Kandy, we really wanted our Bentota hotel to be nice, after all we had heard nice reviews of the place and trust me 'Club Bentota' did not let us down at all...
Club Bentota is a fantastic place, aptly away from the city hustle, the 2 minute boat ride from the road to the resort just sets the tone for what is about to come; rooms are nice; staff is excellent; access to the beach is great, swimming pool is nice, the bar staff is great and the buffet is elaborate with choices to suit all palates....(just a bit spicy though)..they have good facilities, like TT, Beach volleyball, Pool / snooker, Spa etc making you not wanting to leave the resort and just relaxing there..the kitchen staff is very nice, more than helpful and the entire team is good....they are not greedy and are always welcoming to their customers...

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the first floor, I had aground floor room but would have preferred one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharmavikas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    61
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
156
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
210 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

It really is a bit like staying in a private 'villa'. There's only 7 rooms total, but the grounds and layout make you feel like you're almost alone in a quiet and very relaxing environment. We stayed 4 nights in a 'club suite' which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND booking over one of the 'standard' rooms which weren't nearly as nice for the price diff. The suite was superb in terms of furnishings, space, bed, bathroom - all were wonderful. Pool is excellent and the beach is less than 200 meters away and not crowded, kept up well, nice for walk, swimming (although sea is strong) etc.. We did a 1/2 board so had break and dinner included which is fine if you're there 3 or 4 nights but might get 'old' if you're there longer. The food is good, but not outstanding. Like many places in Sri Lanka they try and do 'western' cuisine but will do Sri Lankan if you ask - I recommend going w Sri Lankan as it's done much better and more interesting. Overall service is very good and the chef will make pretty much what you want. I researched other places in the area extensively prior to this trip and am VERY happy we ended up choosing Club Villa. The train is a 'non-issue' - passes thru several x/day but not at night.

Room Tip: Go for the 'club suite' for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you want to feel like Royalty, then stay at Club Villa in Bentota. The staff are so good at making you feel 'at home' you will not want to leave. The food menu is excellent, but if you wish to go the extra mile - like lobster thermador - just say the word and your wish will come true. It will be freshly caught that day (as long as it is in season of course) and cooked to perfection. We visited Club Villa last week-end with another couple and had such a great time, that we stayed an extra day - like I said, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are my favorite - good for people watching too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Buff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

From the get go to the very end of my trip the staff at Club Vill has been fantastic. They accommodated all my requests and went out of the way to arrange a location dinner for me. The room I got was lovely, it was facing the ocean and had a lot of space. The hotel has a lovelt swimming pooo and a spacious garden stretch and the sunsets from the beach side are amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel to any family or couple who are looking at having a beach escape centered between Galle and Colombo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdiWickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We loved everything about this hotel when we stayed for three nights, after two weeks of exploring beautiful Sri Lanka.

When you turn off the main road onto a potholed track you do begin to wonder what awaits you! You will not be disappointed - the entrance foyer is a beautifully peaceful space partly open to the elements, and after a refreshing drink of fresh juice you are shown to a really nice room with a/c and ceiling fan which might well appreciate. The shower room had a decidedly Victorian air to it with a most unusual toilet flush

The open sided dining area is very comfortable, the food is excellent, and the staff equally so.

When you first hear a train approaching you're quite surprised to see it pass through the garden - well that's how it appears but it is beyond, and you cross the track to get to the beach. The trains are infrequent and do nothing to spoil your stay so please don't be put off by my mentioning it!

You'll also find a very amiable and willing Tuktuk owner/driver living just outside the main gate who will take you into town and back for 300 rupees - it's well worth it.

You might be wondering at this point why I have titled this review "eventful stay"?

Well there was a thunderstorm at about 3am you see, and we were woken by a tremendous explosion - we later discovered that had lightening struck an external cable near our room.

The hotel electrics failed and we had no lights, fans, or anything!

Worried? of course we weren't - we could immediately hear the staff busily checking everything.

By morning everything had been sorted

Do try this hotel you'll most likely love it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here recently for 2 nights towards the end of our trip in Sri Lanka. The property was the perfect place to end our stay in this magnificent country. It is a boutique style property, which is ideal as you really get to know the staff and other guests. The staff are absolutely lovely, the food was SENSATIONAL and the location perfect! Great access to the beach, which is nice & calm. We had a superb room, had the pleasure of staying in the Club Suite which was magnificent, with it's garden bathroom, very large deep sunken spa, separate large lounge area, with great views of the garden, and pool area. The photos on their website do not do this property justice! Loved the decor of this property, understated but very stylish. Pool was perfect size, not overly large, however suits the property, with plenty of sunbeds for all guests, great place to enjoy a drink or 3. Lounge area is very funky, with great soft background music. We were very pleasantly surprised with this property, would definately recommend this property in Bentota!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor up are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

spent 10 days here very good food and location fantastic ,miss it already.lovely beach safe for family ,recomend do your own thing hotel reps expensive will scare you into something ,local transport and people fine and helpful ,safari good fun in yala park saw two lepards this is hit or miss luck on day, park gets very busy with jeeps.

Room Tip: stayed in room 342 lower numbers nearer food and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjamin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
3.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Property: Club Villa
Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing