We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grate , wow, rubbish , excellent , trash , bad and lost”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grate , wow, rubbish , excellent , trash , bad and lost”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I don't know how to rate this hotel but trying to do as much as possible way . our 3 night stay here was like in a movie 1st when we arrived we felt wow with the pleasingly done house that has being having a glorious past the welcome was grate and then when we went to the room we felt rubbish for what we paid but still ok with the landscaping and the nice looking small room...and the pool evening served tea king coconuts make you feel so refreshing and the food is so deliciouses i must give my 5 stars to the chef , the best in bentota , then the restaurant staff will make you feel bad and lost since the don't understand anything and will bring the rite opposite what you requests but still they will smile at you . this villa needs it rooms to be upgrade managers to present other than to be hiding , since there skills of communicating is so poor . we dint make any complains at our stay since we were two couples and dint want this swinging experience to ruin our holiday . times it is 1staR Then it gose 2stars then come up to 4 then sometimes it gos flat without stars but dining under the stars make it 5stars (with chef) by the way beach and the rail track running in front of the villa garden is simply amazing.. so with all this mix bag i have to call it Grate , wow, rubbish , excellent , trash , bad and lost since we never knew what was next ... may be my bad luck

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefferson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    61
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
156
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We've been fortunate enough to stay in some wonderful places in Sri Lanka, but none compare to Club Villa. The place is beautiful, our room was amazing on the first night and we upgraded to the club suite on the second as a birthday treat, which is just incredible. The staff are so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The food is sensational, the pool at night is just gorgeous and the romantic setting outside under the stars for dinner with the occasional firefly dancing past made for the most special evenings we spent on our holiday. I couldnt recommend Club Villa enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaUKLdn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Tom and Emma

We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa on your birthday vacation.
Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The property is beautifully designed with great attention to detail in the public spaces plus comfortable rooms with AC, fans and nets to keep the mosquitoes at bay.
All the rooms look out on to the garden area which has a reasonable sized pool and access to the beach (yes, across the famous train line which seems to be a hot topic on Trip Advisor. It can be noisy but you hardly notice it after a couple of days). The beach is tranquil, swimming in the morning seems the best option as the waves seem to get stronger during the day progresses.
Our room was comfortable. There were a couple of little things missing: you had to ask for a hairdryer and a fridge; and safes should be provided in the rooms (the hotel feels very secure and we left our patio door unlocked whilst we were at the pool, but security can't always be guaranteed).
We stayed in room 5, rooms 4-6 face out on to the garden and are in a lovely location with a roofed terrace, useful for the 6pm downpours. You do lack a certain amount of privacy though especially as the staff are often crossing from the bar to the restaurant. We took a look at the deluxe rooms and suite which were very well-appointed. The rooms above us on the first floor were spacious but did not have any outside space and the rooms in the original house (in the same building as reception and the bar) seemed ideal as they were 1st floor so you got privacy plus there was an outside balcony.
We stayed half board. Breakfast was good (especially the Sri Lankan breakfast, you need to ask for it the night before). Afternoon tea was always welcome with a good selection of teas and a tasty cake or two. The set dinners were well-prepared and very tasty with a choice of main course - usually Rice & Curry, a fish dish or meat - and the drinks list was well-priced.
The staff are lovely, really happy to do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Luise and Philip

We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa.
Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel. We were in a deluxe room overlooking the grounds and pool with a small view of the ocean. Although there is a train which passes several times a day and usually sounds it horn, it did not detract from our enjoying our stay. We enjoyed half board and were delighted with the quality and choices the menu offered. The staff was responsive to our requests and made us feel welcomed. The beach is lovely with fine white sand. Early a.m. walks are great, but midday sun makes it uncomfortable.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the deluxe rooms and the half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busygardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa.
Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Come up a dusty track off the road and you enter something you recognise immediately as a haven of peace, of calm and of immaculate standards. It then just keeps getting better. Delightful rooms which, in our case, lead out onto a verandah and then to the lush green gardens and swimming pool. Beyond that and the screen of palm trees stretches a perfect beach with never more than a handful of people as far as the eye can see. You have to cross a railway line to get there but that just adds to the unique charm of the place (and you might get lucky and see the magnificent "Viceroy Express" steam train). The service you receive from the staff at Club Villa is always given with a genuine smile. The food is also first class.What more can I say other other than repeat the word with which I started, "perfect". Thank you, Danni, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rugmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa.
Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremgarten, Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It was my third stay in Club Villa after 5 trips to Sri Lanka. As mentionned it turned out to be my favorite place to stay some days in calm, peace and relaxation. Every room is different, very nice designed and furnitured. Meanwhile I have my favorite rooms there. I haven't planned to stay at Club Villa this time. But after a trip to Trinco I felt that I have to go back to the south coast. I felt like coming home! The management and the staff is very kind and helpful. The food is delicious. But what I appreciate most is the possibilty to have breakfast until noon. Nowhere I found a concept like this. And the new swimming pool with the lights on the ground is great. There is the possibility to have massages and Yoga lessons. I certainly will say hello again.

Daniel, Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielBSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for five nights end of Feb. The best thing about this hotel is the food and the size. There are so few guests you can often have the pool to yourself. The menus were amazing and a different combo every night. The staff are brilliant and the ambience very relaxing. The trains were noisy and did wake me up early in the morning but I really found this part of the fun. It was like being in a real life train set. The only things that they could have improved on where an orientation of the grounds on arrival (eg. to let you know that the beach is reachable by walking over the train track) and that there is a gift shop next door. The bathrooms also need upgrading. You can get a tuk tuk to wherever you want to go. There are a couple of excellent temples and the Bawa brothers houses are worth having a look at. Croc hunting on the river also makes a fun trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucysmith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
3.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Property: Club Villa
Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing