We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Villa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mihin Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
212
69
22
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
69
22
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway linegeoffrey bawasri lankaboutique hotelshort walkhaven of peacedeserted beachtrains passingyears evefour poster bedlight sleepersmall hotelfirst floorswimming poolhalf boarda lovely place to staygreat pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Before we even left for our holiday, Club Villa's extraordinary manager Heshan's prompt emails reassured me that we had chosen well. And on arrival we were not disappointed. This Geoffrey Bawa designed boutique hotel is one of the most beautiful places in all of Sri Lanka. The rooms (we had one overlooking the pool and the beach), the pool, the food, the privacy and even the train to Galle that ran by the property were all part of the unique experience offered at Club Villa. The morning coconut milk, served in a coconut by the pool, was very special. And above all this, the smiling staff who seemed to think of our every need, led by the inimitable Heshan, offered the most memorable part of our holiday at Bentota Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 or 18 on the top floor overlooking the pool and the beach are private and enormous.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A carefully preserved ,old building.... Beautifully upgraded but with every bit of that old colonial charm.sprawling gardens, inviting hammocks, beautiful clean pool, but above all, service with a smile and a truly genuine smile at that!! Headed by the multi tasking Heshan, this place is a well organised operation, where everyone Is treated with the utmost care and concern.even the gardener spared a moment under our window early morning to stop and say 'good morning' to our twins.our room was a lovely long space with an 'attic' like feel to it... Sorrounded by old windows and a lovely modern painting of Noah's ark.The food here was lovely.... I highly recommend their home baked goodies like their banana bread and sugar Danish...awesome!!! They were even kind enough to give us some to take home. The 'train' that is mentioned in so many reviews hardly bothered us at all, maybe our from was far enough to allow that.the beach is just over the railway track, games in the lobby, croquet set out in the garden just for the 4 of us.... What a perfectly lovely family holiday we enjoyed! The only downside for me personally was the absence of a tv in the room, as I do consider it a source of relaxation!!! Would've made a world of difference.thanks Heshan for a lovely weekend and do keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 7 which was lovely but I think the rooms with the large balcony areas must be very nice too so try that option first.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed in before leaving Sri Lanka and it was so so so so the right choice . Stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the pool . Hardly any people in the hotel while we were there . It felt magical . Great afternoon tea . Amasing food . Amasing beach . Lovely staff .
We would go out for excursions and then such a pleasure to come back . Stayed 3 or 4 nights and would have gladly stayed a few more . We loved the train that runs through the garden . Some poeple might hate it...... Can not say enough good things about the place . Memorable . I was traveling with my 82 year old mother .

Room Tip: loved the rooms overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathryna17_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Lovely welcome, gorgeous place, friendly staff who can't do enough for you. Owners great too- who often sat chatted and had a drink with you.Also I asked how something was cooked and I it was arranged for me ,the owner to be taken to the kitchen showed how to cook a few dishes under the head chef!!!
Then on our 25th wedding anniversary they made the table beautiful and v special.on leaving they gave me a cook book.
It was very special even the steam train going through the bottom of the gardens was so sweet. Room very Bawwa only the poor shower let it down but other than that can not fault this place.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the balcony or if a honey Monet get the Club room- beautiful
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I don't know how to rate this hotel but trying to do as much as possible way . our 3 night stay here was like in a movie 1st when we arrived we felt wow with the pleasingly done house that has being having a glorious past the welcome was grate and then when we went to the room we felt rubbish for what we paid but still ok with the landscaping and the nice looking small room...and the pool evening served tea king coconuts make you feel so refreshing and the food is so deliciouses i must give my 5 stars to the chef , the best in bentota , then the restaurant staff will make you feel bad and lost since the don't understand anything and will bring the rite opposite what you requests but still they will smile at you . this villa needs it rooms to be upgrade managers to present other than to be hiding , since there skills of communicating is so poor . we dint make any complains at our stay since we were two couples and dint want this swinging experience to ruin our holiday . times it is 1staR Then it gose 2stars then come up to 4 then sometimes it gos flat without stars but dining under the stars make it 5stars (with chef) by the way beach and the rail track running in front of the villa garden is simply amazing.. so with all this mix bag i have to call it Grate , wow, rubbish , excellent , trash , bad and lost since we never knew what was next ... may be my bad luck

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jefferson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews