We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool and comfortable room”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely pool and comfortable room”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August. We had a first floor room which was comfortable (be warned you have to ask for a hairdryer) and whilst the room and bathroom were quite dated, they were clean. We had dinner in the evening on the lawn and it was very nice. The pool was gorgeous and very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinibelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued customer
we are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We were providing hairdryers on request and your comment has encouraged us to have hair drays in every room now as a guest’s essential
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    61
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
156
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 6 nights at the start of of self organised tour of Sri Lanka. We were a little unsure of what to expect as there are several rather mixed reviews on here. However....

We had the most wonderful stay in stunning surroundings with the best service I have ever experienced at a hotel. Me and my partner travel a lot and have stayed in hotels all over the world and in the UK and this tops the list. The hotel was quiet as it was approaching the rainy season but the sun shone every day and some days we had the pool and gardens to ourselves - we felt as though we had won the lottery!!

The staff could not do enough to help. Afternoon tea, king coconuts, turn down service, absolutely spotlessly cleaned rooms, welcome cocktails and the most amazing fresh food.

The gardens and the pool were beautifully maintained - staff even removed the leaves from the lawn in the morning and once more in the evening!

The manager helped us organise trips out into the surrounding Bentota area - we loved the River Safari and the Turtle Hatchery - and even took a day trip to Galle in a Tuk Tuk with a superb driver called Dimuth who was honest, friendly and knowledgable.

The train track runs right through the end of the garden of the hotel - and yes the horn is sometimes loud - but we loved it. It reminded us every time we heard it that we were away from home and somewhere different - and amazing.

The beach was lovely to walk along and is just a very short hop over the tracks. The sea was a little rough and there were one or two men hanging around in the 'bushes' so my advice would be not to walk along the beach alone - most of them are just trying to get you to come into their restaurants but still.....

All in all this is a wonderful wonderful place and if you are staying here - you are in for a real taste of heaven.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 and it has a lovely balcony looking out towards the palm trees and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Reading through the mixed reports on Tripadvisor we were in two minds whether to book Club Villa. We are pleased that we did as it rounded off our Sri Lankan adventure prefectly.

The deciding factor to stay was that we stayed here 11 years ago and loved the place then - as we do now. Nothing has really changed and it has been well maintained.

The staff from the Manager (Heeshan) to F&B (Priya, Dominic et al) to housekeeping were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay one to remember.

Transportation was arranged via the hotel. The drivers (Nuwan) and his brother (Ruwan) were knowledgable about the surrounding areas and took a genuine interest in showing the best of the Bentota region and not the dollar as so often happens nowadays.

In summary, if you want a place to unwind and relax and which oozes old world charm, this is the place. There are not many places left like this in the world - and it is a gem.

My family and I (two kids - 10 and 7) will certainly be back, and our thanks to the Club Villa family for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Club Suite which comfortably housed a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are glad you choose us even with the mixed comments as you have mentioned. This comment will be a great encouragement and an inspiration for our team. And we are happy that you have had a wonderful stay as well
We hope you will continue to stay with us in your future visits to Sri Lanka and look forward to welcoming you
Kind Regards
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my first visit to Club Villa and it will be my last. I accompanied an Australian friend who had stayed here more than 10 times when he was residing in Sri Lanka from 2004-2007. He was overjoyed to be back and fondly greeted a waiter he remembered from his previous visits, nostalgically pointing out all the rooms in which he had stayed and recalling memorable events such as his baby son learning to swim in the pool etc. We ordered tea and cakes and then thought about jumping into the pool to cool off. Then came the shocker, the Manager sent word to us that we would have to pay Rs 1000 each just to have a quick dip. I thought it was in very poor taste given that my friend was an enthusiastic repeat visitor and the hotel had only 2 guests who were not even using the pool. It marred my enjoyment of our serene surroundings, the fine lines of the buildings and the elegant interiors. Most painful of all was to see the hurt on my friend's face. The Manager didn't even bother to come over to speak to him during the several hours we spent at the hotel drinking their over-priced tea and gin and tonics.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Manatee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had a deluxe room with private balcony facing the sea. The beach looks even more beautiful when viewed with the sun approaching the horizon. Outstanding quality of dining and customisable options were a plus too.
Just one dampener, they charge a hefty price for the pristine views and unmatched service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vaibhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife & I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Club Villa in Bentota. The surrounding area was very beautiful and the gardens well maintained. He food was great ( we were on half board) and the staff very accommodating. The rooms were a bit of a disappointment however. Poorly kept and equipped and generally run down. We asked to me moved, which the management was happy to do. The rather noisy train line is literally at the end of the garden and are very noisy, spoiling the tranquility that one is looking for in such places. We wer expecting a lot more for the money

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronwasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on a half board basis to relax and unwind after our daughter’s wedding in Koggola. It was the perfect choice, offering seclusion and serenity within a beautifully landscaped setting, staying in a lovely deluxe room with a mezzanine upper level and a huge balcony overlooking both garden and sea, although the ocean is partially obscured by coconut palms. The house staff are incredibly friendly, and the manager, Heshin, really knows how to ensure guests are made to feel both welcome and at home. The complex has a mixed feel of Arabic/Kenyan influences, with a throwback to British colonialism, along with the architect’s personal interpretation of design. We felt we were transported back to an era where comfort and service were essential ingredients in guest hospitality, and afternoon tea and cake taken on the lawn, under gnarled Bodhi and Frangipani trees seemed charmingly decadent. Candlelit dinners beneath the stars was a delight, as was the outstanding food, beautifully cooked to order, with just the crashing waves of the Indian Ocean for company. Access to the beach is simple, just a short walk across the coastal rail track, where long stretches of golden sand beckon. Trains using the track are infrequent, although a few do run in the early hours, and yes, there is some noise, but we also got used to them very quickly, and only heard the odd whistle toot after the first night. We even experienced a short train ride from Bentota up to Beruwala for the princely sum of 20 rupees each – a refreshing change from the multitudinous Tuk-Tuks. Club Villa really is a lovely place to stay, and certainly different from some of the other high-end hotels, where service and individuality fail to match the unique experience provided by Club Villa. In a word - delightful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Annex have balconies with views over the garden and towards the ocean, but a bit cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
3.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Property: Club Villa
Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing