We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bawa Architecture and lovely pool”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bawa Architecture and lovely pool”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is visually very beautiful and makes you feel that you have arrived somewhere special. Great care and attention is paid to every detail to ensure guests comfort, happiness and enjoyment. The food is delicious and tastefully presented, afternoon tea served in the garden was a lovely treat. The swimming pool is a lovely tranquil retreat. My room was large but the king size bed was two beds pushed together. Lovely balcony facing the pool and frangipani trees. The staff were accommodating and any feedback I gave them or requests I had were dealt with without any hassle at all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Complements of the season from club villa team
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and for all the lovely comments. Hope this will be a great help for all of our viewers.
All our main beds are in built and unmovable since it’s a special design by the famous architect Mr. Geoffrey Bawa. It’s not two beds attached together but it’s two mattresses attached together since it was a single occupation. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
We hope you will continue to stay with us in your future visits to Sri Lanka and look forward to welcoming you
Best Regard.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    62
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
157
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hi, this is a true review of a truly remarkable property. My friend and I ended up here cause she'd heard good things about the Paradise Road crew, and she was right...this was WAY and beyond the best hotel we found in Sri Lanka. Great rooms, lovely ocean swimming right across the rail tracks, fabulous grounds, and really superb staff/service. Excellent value, quiet, perfectly run. I'll never stay anywhere else in the Bentota area, that's for sure. If you end up there, don't miss the included breakfast (order the rice and curry the day before), or the Paradise Road store inhouse-I got all my Xmas shopping done in half an hour! Can't wait to try their twin property in Colombo...next time....I just love vacations in Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: Try to get the suites facing the beach, they're big and have a fab view. One caution-a few train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 2 nights at Club Villa in one of their deluxe rooms. The level of service was fantastic with a real personal feel. The food was amazing, the best duck and the best prawns we've ever had. The room itself was fine, although we were only ever in the room to sleep as the surroundings and pool are beautiful and very well kept. Thank you Hasham and team!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued customer
we are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August. We had a first floor room which was comfortable (be warned you have to ask for a hairdryer) and whilst the room and bathroom were quite dated, they were clean. We had dinner in the evening on the lawn and it was very nice. The pool was gorgeous and very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinibelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued customer
we are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We were providing hairdryers on request and your comment has encouraged us to have hair drays in every room now as a guest’s essential
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 6 nights at the start of of self organised tour of Sri Lanka. We were a little unsure of what to expect as there are several rather mixed reviews on here. However....

We had the most wonderful stay in stunning surroundings with the best service I have ever experienced at a hotel. Me and my partner travel a lot and have stayed in hotels all over the world and in the UK and this tops the list. The hotel was quiet as it was approaching the rainy season but the sun shone every day and some days we had the pool and gardens to ourselves - we felt as though we had won the lottery!!

The staff could not do enough to help. Afternoon tea, king coconuts, turn down service, absolutely spotlessly cleaned rooms, welcome cocktails and the most amazing fresh food.

The gardens and the pool were beautifully maintained - staff even removed the leaves from the lawn in the morning and once more in the evening!

The manager helped us organise trips out into the surrounding Bentota area - we loved the River Safari and the Turtle Hatchery - and even took a day trip to Galle in a Tuk Tuk with a superb driver called Dimuth who was honest, friendly and knowledgable.

The train track runs right through the end of the garden of the hotel - and yes the horn is sometimes loud - but we loved it. It reminded us every time we heard it that we were away from home and somewhere different - and amazing.

The beach was lovely to walk along and is just a very short hop over the tracks. The sea was a little rough and there were one or two men hanging around in the 'bushes' so my advice would be not to walk along the beach alone - most of them are just trying to get you to come into their restaurants but still.....

All in all this is a wonderful wonderful place and if you are staying here - you are in for a real taste of heaven.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 and it has a lovely balcony looking out towards the palm trees and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Reading through the mixed reports on Tripadvisor we were in two minds whether to book Club Villa. We are pleased that we did as it rounded off our Sri Lankan adventure prefectly.

The deciding factor to stay was that we stayed here 11 years ago and loved the place then - as we do now. Nothing has really changed and it has been well maintained.

The staff from the Manager (Heeshan) to F&B (Priya, Dominic et al) to housekeeping were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay one to remember.

Transportation was arranged via the hotel. The drivers (Nuwan) and his brother (Ruwan) were knowledgable about the surrounding areas and took a genuine interest in showing the best of the Bentota region and not the dollar as so often happens nowadays.

In summary, if you want a place to unwind and relax and which oozes old world charm, this is the place. There are not many places left like this in the world - and it is a gem.

My family and I (two kids - 10 and 7) will certainly be back, and our thanks to the Club Villa family for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Club Suite which comfortably housed a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are glad you choose us even with the mixed comments as you have mentioned. This comment will be a great encouragement and an inspiration for our team. And we are happy that you have had a wonderful stay as well
We hope you will continue to stay with us in your future visits to Sri Lanka and look forward to welcoming you
Kind Regards
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my first visit to Club Villa and it will be my last. I accompanied an Australian friend who had stayed here more than 10 times when he was residing in Sri Lanka from 2004-2007. He was overjoyed to be back and fondly greeted a waiter he remembered from his previous visits, nostalgically pointing out all the rooms in which he had stayed and recalling memorable events such as his baby son learning to swim in the pool etc. We ordered tea and cakes and then thought about jumping into the pool to cool off. Then came the shocker, the Manager sent word to us that we would have to pay Rs 1000 each just to have a quick dip. I thought it was in very poor taste given that my friend was an enthusiastic repeat visitor and the hotel had only 2 guests who were not even using the pool. It marred my enjoyment of our serene surroundings, the fine lines of the buildings and the elegant interiors. Most painful of all was to see the hurt on my friend's face. The Manager didn't even bother to come over to speak to him during the several hours we spent at the hotel drinking their over-priced tea and gin and tonics.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Manatee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Property: Club Villa
Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing