We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place like no other”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a wonderful time here recently with our children and close friends. It's an amazing, tranquil, classy establishment and you really feel like time stands still when you stay here. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the owner, we were lucky enough to catch him, is a charming individual who is clearly passionate about the place- it used to be his family home and it still has that feeling. It saddens me to read less favorable reviews about this hotel on trip advisor, one placed by a arrogant group of people who were staying at the same time as us who behaved quite appallingly and were very rude to the manager and the staff. They were managed very well, again showing what a classy establishment this is, writing bad reviews to just get your own back is really low grade in my opinion. Just read all the other 5 star ratings and you will get the full picture of this place BTW, the train is one of the charming features of this property, really nothing to criticize.... We will certainly be back and I encourage you to do the same !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NKottegoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed as a family of 5 at this beautiful hotel. The staff were lovely and catered to all our needs and more. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, a must is hoppers for breakfast. Whilst there, it was my son's 8th birthday and the hotel supplied a beautiful chocolate cake to my son's surprise.
Days were spent relaxing by the pool, playing on the deserted beach, eating afternoon tea and watching the trains go by, totally relaxing
We are definitely coming back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Courtyard room which had its own private peaceful courtyard, it had a mezzanine fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place is lovely and the staff are absolutely the best thing about the villa. They are attentive, helpful and always thinking ahead of what you might need during your stay. The food is the best I ate in Sri Lanka - no question. I was travelling solo and was given an upgrade to Room 1 above the lounge upon arrival. This was a great room although the bathroom would be a little small if there were two people staying there. I really liked the pool and general grounds and an amazing beach is a short walk from the end of the garden. I would definitely give this place 5 stars except that I agree, for some people, the railway could be intrusive and a bit unsettling. But it wasn't for me!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glampergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A lovely looking hotel - very stylish design. A lovely garden with lots of shade a great swimming pool.
A few issues - the bathroom was very dated, looking very tired and quite small rooms, although a lovely big balcony.
Like Paradise Road it would have been good to have some sun beds and umbrellas out on the beach which is beautiful.
The breakfasts were good, however dinner wasn't quite as good as we had got used to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Dirty room, bad service, railroad on the lawn that will wake you every night several times.
Too expensive for what is offered.
There are nicer places in sri lanka to stay like sri villas.
Just a total rip off

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaeld1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

our decision to stay at the club was based on a recommendation and we were absolutely delighted with everything about our stay.
From the welcome to the farewell the staff were prepared to go the extra step to ensure our stay was worth every penny.
The train at the bottom of the gardens was a lovely addition to the ambiance and not intrusive at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a find! Superb friendly hospitality in a wonderful and significant Bawa designed building and grounds. The pool is divine and so beautiful especially in the evening. Excellent cuisine is served on the covered terrace or on the lawn in the evening. Staff are very attentive and look after every detail without intrusion. The almost deserted beach is a 3 minute stroll away. Everyone; the guests, the delightful owner and the staff seem in harmony! We think that the two rooms over the bar area are the most attractive (no noise from below..) and would be our choice net visit. Will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room above the bar area. Original ground floor rooms have private terrace. Room 4 has n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £72 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing