We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Villa
Nearby Hotels
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
213
69
22
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
69
22
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway linegeoffrey bawasri lankaboutique hotelshort walkhaven of peacedeserted beachtrains passingyears evefour poster bedlight sleepersmall hotelfirst floorswimming poolhalf boarda lovely place to staygreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

There's so much written about this place - its lovely Geoffrey Bawa-designed villas, the intimate sense of scale, and natural environment with close proximity to the unspoiled beach. (How can you not love the unexpected and occasional passing of the train?) They are all true.

What made our trip extra special was how well we were take care of, not as visitors, but as house guests. Perhaps because we stayed during the low period, we were practically almost the only guests in this property, and became really fortunate to make the acquaintance of the owner Mr Hameed, with the warm hospitality of manager Heshan and his team. Knowing that we are architecture (notably Bawa) enthusiasts, Mr Hameed spoke to us candidly about the architect himself, the trials and tribulations of working on this project and even gave us a special tour of the Club Suite itself.

It didn't end there, we were invited for a drink with Mr Hameed and Heshan, and it became an evening of much inspiration and laughter, learning about the tourism and hospitality industry, and many other interesting facts about Sri Lankan life. All this amid the cosy and candlelit lounge as lightning flashed and monsoon winds howled around us.

We were really sad to leave this place, but we held on to this memorable evening as our own special connection to the legend of Geoffrey Bawa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VotreX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A lovely boutique hotel with gorgeous decor, relaxing gardens and uniquely designed individual rooms. Our room and bathroom were large with a beautiful terrace overlooking the gardens and mangroves out to the ocean. The manager, Heshan, was very welcoming and his team of staff were excellent. Croquet on the lawn, relaxing by the pool and sunset walks on the beach, this place is a gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for several days. Sublime. The gardens, the beach, the rooms, the lobby, all of it. Heshan, the manager, is a consummate professional and runs this place like a well-oiled machine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued customer
Thank you for your lovely review about the memorable experience at Club Villa. We are thrilled to note that your stay with us has been a wonderful one.
Our entire team put lots of tender, love and care for all the tangible and intangible details in order to make your stay more comfortable
We loved having you at club villa and hope to see you in your future visits to Sri Lanka
Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A boutique hotel that more than met our expectations, right from the location, the decor, the service, food, friendly staff to the fact that the beach is no more than a 7 minute leisurely walk across a beautiful lawn, a railway track, and a mangrove plantation! Oh, and there's a swimming pool as well for those times when even 7 minutes feel too long to get into the water!
The beach is almost like a private beach - just enough people to make you feel that you are not alone and you can still enjoy your solitude. We hired beach beds beneath a beach umbrella for the day (comes with clean beach towels) and the man providing these services is also happy to take orders for food and drinks that he gets from another hotel nearby.
Each of the rooms in Club Villa is beautifully appointed and there are treasures hidden in corridors and niches in the walls - old statues, beautiful photographs, a lotus pond across a corridor - as well as lovely furniture in a building originally made by the famous architect Geoffrey Bawa. Most rooms have a charming sit-out space. To ensure that you enjoy the outdoor spaces and outdoor dining, do take insect repellent along.
The food is superb - we stayed 7 nights and there was not a single meal that was not completely delicious and satisfying. In fact, there were some dishes so good, that we ordered them again! For those paying half-board (breakfast plus one meal included), here's a tip: fill up on breakfast, skip lunch, and enjoy dinner. If you don't want to go with the set menu (4 courses, that change everyday, you can still order a starter, main course and dessert, a la carte. Lip smacking good!
All the staff are helpful and friendly, but we need to make a special mention of the ever-smiling Hesham, the manager who was wonderful. The owner, a Swiss lady, pops in and out - make it a point to chat with her for tips on what to do or even better, with no specific purpose in mind. Would we go there again? Most definitely!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rchandiramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Valued Customer
Thank you very much for taking you valuable time to write such a wonderful and positive review regarding your one week stay at our property.
Our team is truly happy that you have enjoyed the location, service and choice of our different cuisine and We have shared your compliments with the entire team
We are looking forward to your next visit with us and assure you of another unique experience.

Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a delightful hotel with very friendly and helpful staff right from the gardener to the charming lady who I think was the owner. It is far enough away towards the beach from the busy coastal road to avoid traffic noise. Our accommodation had its own courtyard garden with bougainvillea and shaded seating area. There is also a lovely large open garden and pool which is a great place to relax and enjoy the complementary tea and cakes which are served at 4pm everyday. The beach is two minutes walk away over the railway line and through the palms at the foot of the garden. Rail traffic is not heavy and does not run through the night. In fact the occasional train added to the rather individual atmosphere of the hotel instead of posing any nuisance. I would certainly return there. Many thanks Club Villa.

Room Tip: Our courtyard garden room was No 3
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Valued customer
Thank you so much for writing a wonderful review on tripadvisor. We are thrilled that you have been happy and delighted during your stay at club villa.
We loved having you with us and more that anything we loved giving you a home away from home experience.
Please do visit us again
Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews