We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangrove Escape”
Review of Mangrove Escapes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mangrove Escapes
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have been there with my Husband for 2 Weeks. The stay was great. We were fully satisfied with the staff and all the facilities. The building was part of the nature. We liked to sit and watch all the wild life. There have been heaps of Monkeys and birds.
The ayurveda Doktor was awesome. He treaded us in a realy Individual Way. He was very interested in our Health. The whole staff (Chefs included) was very nice.
All in all it was a Great experiance and we are looking forward to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gabriele0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhea B, Director of Sales at Mangrove Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Gabriele,

Thank you for your review of Mangrove Escapes on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to serve you at the property. We will convey your compliments to the Ayurveda Team at Mangrove Escapes. We look forward to your next visit to Mangrove Escapes, Bentota, Sri Lanka.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I loved this place! After one week on the crowded coast, it was like coming home into this peaceful oasis. It's a place for those who want to step out of the daily hectic and noises to see, breath and listen to pure nature, but do not want to miss style, design and space! 3 pools, all with breathtaking views, pampering and always smiling staff, delicious Sri Lankan food. I stayed there for 14 days, enjoyed professional and personal Ayurveda treatments and felt like new born when I came home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diane6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The drive to Mangrove escape is a bit worrying as you go down the small lanes into no where !! Better way is to take the boat from Aida Bentota to the resort.
This getaway is true to its name - Mangrove Escape !!
The accommodation is very well planned and each room is different. There are 9 rooms and 3 more being opened. The 3 pools have the river water and vegetables are grown on the property. You can go for walks on the nature trails, kayaking down the river, ayurveda treatment and massage with special ayurveda food !! They have yoga classes in the morning ..It is a complete mind and body relaxation. No TV nor wifi !! Recommend it for minimum 5 nights stay !!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We went on a family holiday there - including a toddler and teens - and we all loved it. So different from being on the beach (which was very easy to get to); so utterly lush; such beautifully kept grounds; amazing local cuisine and such dedidcated staff. We loved the swimming pools, enjoyed ayurvedic massages and took trip by tuk tuk to the beach and to see the turtle hatcheries and boat trips to see the mangrove swamps properly. It is a small and bautiful place but with something for everyone. We can't waitto go back.

Room Tip: We had a fabulous room with a double bed plus a separate room leading off ti for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Set amongst lush, verdant greenery, Mangrove Escapes allows you to cut off from the hurly-burly outside world & rediscover your soul.

Discreet & efficient staff, generously appointed rooms & delicious Sri Lankan cuisine ~ what more could one ask for?

Room Tip: Each room is private & very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Parveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here for three nights, would ha loved to stay longer. Mangrove Escapes is more like a Villa. Situated at the Bentota River it is overlooking undisturbed greenery up to the horizon. With clear visibility I was able to see Adams Peak at a distance. Reaching the place from Airport Colombo in a bit more than two hours it was a real escape to tranquility and relaxation. Rooms are big with very nice decoration, A/C or fan , very nice mattresses are available. Three pools, a Yoga hall, an Ayurveda Centre, a Restaurant, a very nice done garden made it a real relaxing stay. I liked the hanging beds spread over the Place. Especially the one near the Rooftop - infinity Pool was my favourite. Staff was overwhelming friendly and helpful, Food was excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ralf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a short break but felt we had been away for a long time. The place is small enough to feel like you are staying in someone's home but everyone is respectful of your privacy so able to fully relax and enjoy the experience - the perfect combination. The staff were genuine and happy to help - and the chocolate pudding was too good. When we first arrived the quiet was unnerving (we have a 3year old so quiet is something we've forgotten)but by day two we were converted and the only interruptions were bird song, a gentle tinkle of the bell of a small cow who wandered around the grounds and the laughter of our daughter. With 3 pools almost all to herself, she was spoilt for choice, but the firm favourite was the roof top infinity pool. Sri Lanka has amazing beaches but it is definitely worth turning inland to experience the calm oasis of Mangrove Escapes.

Room Tip: all amazing - some with rocks protruding into the room - all ensuite, with a balcony and with beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Escapes

Address: Yakhahagodawatta - Horrawala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mangrove Escapes 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangrove Escapes is for the discerning traveller. Horrawala, where we are located, is part of a reserved bio-sphere (Mangroves) on the Bentota River. An oasis bustling with life, a region that takes you back a few generations, a pace that makes life more meaningful and action that promises to take your breath away. Be prepared to convert to a Twitcher, a Crocodile Dundee, a Lepidopterist, a Tropical Forest Conservator, an Angler, an Astronomer or a Srilankan Masterchef! Mangrove promises to change you, a little bit atleast, forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mangrove Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing