We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort, for a weekend !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Battaramulla
1 review
“Excellent Resort, for a weekend !”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The peninsula, Ceysands Resort is located in almost like a Island, the interesting thing for us to arrive at this property in a boat across the river. The boat ride was a new experience for the little ones. The reception extending almost up to the water front is a star attraction.

It was a pleasure to meet Mr. Sisira Senaratne, the Hotel Manager who was the Manager, Eden Resort & Riverina Hotel (1996 – 2012) with overseas assignments in between at Hilton and Intercontinental as F & B Manager, who headed the Pre-opening of the property, also !

It is amazing to see this location is situated, beach on one side and a river on the other.

The beach is very beautiful, almost private to enjoy with family and friends, not accessed by the public because of the isolated location and boat ride. The beach is very clean and stretches for a couple of miles, or as far as we can see ! Waking along the beach which is very refreshing.

The infinity pool or vanishing edge pool the hotel, which produces a visual effect of water extending to the horizon as vanishing is a star attraction where the infinity edge appears to merge with the ocean, with a sunken bar on the middle.

Part of the pool, a section which reflects mini waterfalls where we can simply bathe under. Everybody loved this a lot !

The pool's constant depth of 4 feet is for family fun and leisure, sufficiently deep to splash around and swim the occasional lap in, also shallow enough to provide safety for the whole family. It's ideal to spend time ,with the large pool level deck for pool-side sunbathing, too !

Great place for the kids too, with large kids pool to enjoy a true family holiday.

Dining at the Cafe Bem was far from being just simple meals.The restaurant offering an eclectic mix of Sri Lankan, Asian and International cuisines reflected in buffets.
The food, Buffett lunch was excellent.The restaurant staff were very attentive and friendly.

Another remarkable attraction that we found Dilmah tea is available in the room, which is a Ceylon tea, beautifully balanced in its strength and bitter taste. The Dilmah T bar is beautifully done, too !

A special thanks, also congratulations to Mr. Sisira Senaratne, the Hotel Manager, with more than three decades experience in hospitality & wellness trade doing everything possible, and imaginable on the continuing improvements, fitting into this beautiful resort & Spa.

Nice place and great hospitality,and the location is wonderful place to spend the weekend, which we did.

We were leaving the resort with so much of good memories !

Room Tip: All the rooms facing either the river or the beach, I would prefer the rooms on the beach side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vedamanikkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisira S, Hotel Manger at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Mr. Vedamanikam

Thank you for the excellent recap of your recent stay with us and detail enlightenments.

We are glad you enjoyed the Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa experience, location and facilities offered with friendly and helpful staff!

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Thank you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    525
    196
    54
    49
See reviews for
612
724
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottm, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

With a little improvement this hotel could be amazing but as it stands it is far from it...

We arrived in the early hours of the morning, rushed through check in, no welcome drink and shown to a damp, smelly room (block 3). As it was so late all we wanted to do was sleep so we put up with it for one night and complained in the morning. We were eventually given a new room facing the sea but despite me requesting a cot for my son when making the booking, followed by 4 more requests and my son's bedtime quickly approaching I had to go to reception and make a formal complaint to have a cot for my son to sleep in, it still took them 30 mins to provide something so very basic.....really not the start to the holiday we wanted.

The location of this hotel is fantastic and the pool is probably one of the best I've ever seen for children. It is huge with lots of different parts to it with plenty of sun loungers but a distinct lack of umbrellas to escape the hot Sri Lankan sun. The quality of food for dinner and breakfast for a buffet was impressive especially the desserts section but the service of the staff was painfully slow at times. On a morning it would take at least 3 requests for a cup of coffee and trying to get a drink on an evening was a nightmare, we ended up buying one in the Club Ceylon bar and taking it with us to the restaurant. The staff are friendly but it is plain to see there are just not enough of them to cope with a hotel of this size when it is fully booked.

Water sports center is fantastic with lots of activities to choose from, all reasonably priced. There are a few people selling things on the beach and by the pool but you don't feel hassled and they won't bother you. The beach is public but it's reasonably clean and you can always pick up a tuk tuk to take you into town if you fancy a change of scenary.

We still had a lovely holiday despite the issues and maybe it is just teething problems they need to sort out but I've got to say based on this experience I won't be in a hurry to stay at another Centara hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gembo_notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisira S, Hotel Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending us your feedback. We are disappointed to note about your experiences at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience cause.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and valued and I can assure you that will be taken as consideration, in order for us to improve our customer satisfaction. As a newly open hotel, our guests are our number one and if someone is dissatisfied with their experience, we work very hard to correct this immediately and in a timely fashion in order to turn their experience around.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future to provide you with a true Centara experience.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel complex when we first arrived was amazing though still under development, when you first arrive you need to take a courtesy boat to get to the hotel. The reception desk and staff disappointed us on several occasions. Be careful about being over charged as well as we were even after disputing that the itemised charges showed we consumed beverages and the hotel check out staff member argued saying it would not be charged in the total amount yet we were charged.
Communication seemed to be the main fault at this hotel where staff just don't understand you, from asking for a glass of water and handed empty glasses to asking reception for someone to look at some plug sockets that were not working and assuming someone had turned up when they didn't.
On a positive note the swimming pool is really family friendly and very modern large enough for most guests to use with beach towels being replenished regularly.
With better trained staff and completed rooms I believe this hotel could be quite popular but right now it will only get 3 stars from me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFF2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisira S, Hotel Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a Tripadvisor review of your recent stay in Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa .
Your invaluable feedback is vital, in order for us to be able to identify service and product deficiencies that may otherwise not be brought to our attention.

While I realize that we cannot undo the experiences that you had throughout your stay, I do hope that you will in due course provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back to Centara Ceysands.

We assure you that your next visit will be a memorable one and thank you so much once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from 3 nights stay here with my husband.

Arrival is lovely by boat, very different and pretty impressive. The check in however can take some time and feels a little disorganized. I am not going to list the things that went wrong, they didn't ruin the stay for us but it is obvious that this is a hotel which is newly opened and the staff are still learning the ropes.

If you are expecting perfection in terms of service and execution, you may want to give this hotel a little longer to get to that level. You won't be disappointed with the location though.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more private and ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eater82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisira S, Hotel Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for staying at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa, and for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate the feedback about your visit, and understanding the staff are yet in the learning process. Your feedback is very important to us to make your experience are met and exceeded for a memorable holiday.

We look forward to your next visit with us in the not too distant future for a perfect holiday.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Centara Ceysands is a great holiday hotel. The location between the river and beach is beautiful and peaceful. The room we had was a Deluxe sea view and it was amazing, the beds are awesome! The best aspect of the hotel for myself and family was the staff, they could never do enough for us. Cafe Bem offered amazing food every day, Roshini and her team were fantastic and went out of their way for us every day. The Executive head chef and Executive Pastry chef were great and spoke to guests every day and always made us welcome and took requests (the biscuit cake was the best!)
The reception staff always helped when needed and offered advice and the life guards were brilliant.
I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and will hopefully get a chance to return!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaM22200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisira S, Hotel Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear AngelaM

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read through your review and to learn that it was the team members which really made your holiday. It was lovely to know how they had made you feel important with their attentiveness and courtesy.

Please rest assured that your remarks have been shared with everyone at the hotel as they really are testament to the hard work and focus that each and every staff member gives to our guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion soon and thank you again for sharing and recommending to your friends and guests at Tripadvisor.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is by far the worst hotel we have stayed.
1.Buffet staff had no qualms in reusing cutlery that has dropped on floor. I saw the waiter pick up the fork from floor and putting it on a new table.
2. My daughter vomited upon arrival and the staff LAUGHED.
3.No staff seen at pool area to take food orders
4. Daily request for extra bottled water in rooms NEVER went through.
5. Credit card facility took an hour to get working at check out.
6. Wifi fails by evening.
7. Ceiling fans very noisy.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank npih_zel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisira S, Hotel Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was very disappointed to read your review and to note that you experienced many unacceptable levels of service during your stay.
I am sorry that we failed to meet, let alone exceed your expectations during your stay with us.

Without addressing all the issues you have raised individually I would like you to be rest assured that we have shared all of the comments you have highlighted with our team and that they will be followed up, handled and never to experienced.

I again would like to apologise for the inconveniences you experienced and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future so that we can provide you with a true Centara experience.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

It is an amazing resort, set on an island between a river and the sandy beach on the other side. You teach to the hotel by a boat.

The resort was opened in June 2014, therefore there are some technical issues going on ( internet, TV network) however our room was changed to a different section and these stuff were sorted out .

Overall it a lovely place to spend your time at we stayed for 4 days and didn't want to leave.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed-Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisira S, Hotel Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ahmed

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit, the location, and didn't want to leave.

Sorry to hear that had technical difficulties during your stay with us and glad our staff found an alternative way to make you comfortable.

Thank you for your comments, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 25 in Bentota
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.5 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka

Property: Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Address: Aluthgama | Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Bentota peninsula, the Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka enjoys a superb location with the Bentota River on one side and the Indian Ocean on the other, and is accessed by a short boat ride across the lagoon. Designed to reflect the setting of the resort, the spacious rooms and suites (between 38 and 139 square metres of total living space) feature a balcony or terrace looking out across the peaceful river with its palm trees and mangroves or over the blue ocean. Truly a family destination in concept, the resort also offers a choice of family-friend accommodation options including Family Residences with bunk beds in a separate children’s area. The resort offers an abundance of natural attractions along with a huge, palm-fringed swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a wealth of water sports including g canoeing, sailing, wakeboarding, knee-boarding, and jet skiing, two kids clubs, and a wonderful spa inspired by Thai and Ayurvedic wellbeing heritage. Riverside dining is one of the highlights of the resort which is also home to an authentic Thai restaurant and three bars. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing