We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real chill out resort .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A real chill out resort .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Thanks once again to Trip adviser,what would we do without you !!
6 days of sheer bliss,a get away from it all holiday,a small resort virtually
on the beach, and what a beautiful beach,sun beds , mattress,and brolly all included ,
our room spotless ,cleaned every day,great restaurant,with a choice if fresh sea food
,all the staff ,happy and helpful, SI-SI the hotels tuk -tuk driver,gave us a wonderful day out,giant Buddha,boat trip,where we saw and held water monitors,,local restaurant for lunch,ride through the villages,beautiful scenery, and what a happy, well knowledged guy.
and on our last evening we took baby turtles which had been rescued,and nurtured from eggs,and sent them on their way down to the beach,and into the sea,what a wonderful experience.
If your looking for a chill out place ,without the crowds,this is for you !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, right by the swimming pool,on the first floor, large balcony,mini bar,A/C, fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi12396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    107
    45
    27
    22
See reviews for
93
177
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

from the moment you arrive, this really is a lovely sri lankan experience. Huge clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly, helpfull and happy staff that can't do enough for you. The tuk-tuk drivers (hi, Dilip and Krishantha) were also patient and fun helping you. Great freshly cooked food, served with a smile (and a chat if not too busy).Excellent hotel - I will go back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Between myself and my family, we have been coming to Wunderbar for over 10 years and it never fails to not only meet but exceed expectations. From the minute you're collected at the airport, Chan and his staff are nothing but attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are simply traditionally furnished with ample space and generous balconies, air conditioned and cleaned daily. The pool is conveniently located for all rooms and the exclusive beach is only a 2 minute walk through natural gardens. The hotel has an excellent restaurant with a varied menu including fresh fish through to a variety of authentic Sri Lankan curries as well as a great mix of world cuisine. Children are more than welcome and the staff go out of their way to accommodate any specific needs. As well as the facilities mentioned in this review, there is a small, but friendly, jewellers as well as the inspired turtle project which is part of a wider government conservation project. All in all, it's bloody marvellous and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLePecheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Wunderbar:
We stayed at this gem of a place on Jan11th - Jan 12th. There was major confusion with booking dates (I put incorrect travel dates while booking online) but Chandana was very generous - "I dont want to mess up your holiday, Let me see what I can do!". He let us (a tired group of 3 girls) stay in the private bungalow right next to(but a part of) Wunderbar hotel. This place is very clean, safe & the staff were very helpful.
Panchivilla:
For the night of Jan 12th, Chandana arranged a stay at one of his other (cheaper & less known) hotels called "PanchiVilla" as Wunderbar was sold out. PanchiVilla is about 150 meters from the beach (& 10 mins tuk-tuk ride from wunderbar) whereas Wunderbar is literally at the beach. The room rate at Wunder bar for a triple board is 100 Euros & at PanchiVilla is 65 Euros. The service & the ambience is the same! I would highly recommend any place owned/managed by Chandana & his family. They do an outstanding job & have set a high bar for beach-side hotels in SL. The noise from the trains is minimal & did not disturb us at all during our stay.

Wunderbar & Panchivilla Pros & Cons:
Pros: Great staff, private beach, owner lives on site, the Tutle Hatchery!!, good (albiet slightly expensive) drinks, Hearty breakfast!! Great setting to have a cold Lion Beer & watch the sunset from the [raised] dining platform. The restaurant or bar doesnt close until the last patron leaves!
Minor Cons: A gazillion mosquitoes (but they have coils to fix that). Our room at Panchivilla had a stinky bathroom - we only found out when we got back to crash[sleep] after a long day spent doing touristy things around Bentota. We did not bother bringing it up to the staff because we were going to check out the next morning & the stink did not reach the actual hotel room. Just wanted mention it here so the next group of people that stays at Panchvilla can make sure to inspect the bathroom before accepting the room.

Room Tip: For Panchvilla: Make sure *not to get a room on the ground floor. This one is right next to hotel of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevShob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Am I mistaken, but is this beach an undiscovered gem? Palm trees line a pristine stretch of sand as far as the eye can see. Never crowded, this lovely locale is the perfect spot for an understated, simple hotel such as Wunderbar.

Basic airconditioned rooms, a decent pool and an open-air dining hall all make up what is a good value, mid-range hotel, right on a lovely beach. Staff are friendly and seem to enjoy hanging out. And if you're tired of eating in-house, there's a great place right next door - quite gourmet!

Overall, a nice place to hang out for a few days but no five-star resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (23-24 dec) . Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was good but monotonous, may be they can add some more options on breakfast menu. As we were tired and hungry it was annoying to wait for a long time for dinner to be served and food was extremely salty. We had ordered for some soup and noodles.
Beach is very close to the hotel and is clean and not at all crowded. I actually enjoyed watching trains pass by while eating breakfast. Railway tracks literally pass through the hotel.
(I had a disturbed sleep may be because I wasn't well or because of some kind of loud celebrations in the night.) I couldn't access Wi-Fi from the room . Signals are good close to the area near reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I loved this place. I stayed there for 2 nights with my wife and two teenage kids in December. We were looking for a place in Bentota near the big plush hotels and I met a guy called 'Lucky' Sanjaya who took me off on his motorbike to Wunderbar. I was looking for something with quality but not a supersize sterile hotel and I was glad I took a chance with Lucky as Wunderbar was perfect for our needs. We wanted a family room as it was just a stop over for two nights and they were happy to put a second single bed into the room. They lit mozzie repellant burners each night which personally I really appreciated. I associate the smell which is not unpleasant with being in the tropics and I like it. (in case you were put off by earlier review negative comment re this!)
The restaurant was really very nice. I would say the best I went to in Sri Lanka. The food was very good and the setting which is a very substantial timbered open sided first floor area with high timbered roof beams above that meant it was never stuffy or too hot.
I wasn't sleeping too well, (no fault of the hotel), and I had a great evening sitting drinking and smoking til after 3am with some of the staff who were top blokes.

Special thanks Sandul and Injin - good luck with your wedding. ;) - and we're all still here ha ha!

We had surfing lessons arranged by an older guy called Sunil who was another very funny pleasant guy and we also went on a jetski from the hotel with Poda. None of these activities was pressured on us and compared to prices for watersports in Europe it was very cheap.
Wi-Fi was available sitting in the gardens and the pool was lovely and clean so all in all I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
1.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel

Property: Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Address: Robolgoda, Bentota 168/10, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wunderbar Beach Club serves you with 24 rooms and 1 bungalow. Our rooms are furnished in accordance to the European standards with a Sri Lankan touch of elegance. All rooms are fitted with king sized beds, en suite bathrooms, air conditioner and ceiling fans. The hotel has a swimming pool and direct access to the sea. We take great pleasure when requested in organising birthday parties, moonlight parties and weddings. There are also have regular special BBQ beach parties with live music where everybody is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wunderbar Beach Hotel
Wunderbar Beach Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing