We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cockroaches' poo and the runs - no good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am generally very cautious to write bad reviews but this time I feel I have to. Wunderbar looks nice from the outside but is not, or at least too expensive for what is eventually inside: 1. The room was expensive but big and very nice. So far, so good. But there were cockroaches living under the roof in our room. Which is not only a non-standard place for them to live but means their poo is all over the place. They cleaned the room when we asked for it but the cocks were still there. 2. The dinner was the most expensive dinner on our trip but tasted delicious and the service was great. So far, so good. The day after we spent in the bathroom - for the first and only time on our trip. Not good. 3. The owner generally didn’t seem to have much of an interest in us being happy there. On the day we left some staff came and took a spare bed and just threw our luggage, which was lying on it, somewhere else. They knew we were just about to leave, so why not wait for 20 more min?! 4. The beach is great. Hardly anyone there and Wunderbar offers sun beds for free. We were told Wunderbar is the only beach front guest house in Bentota. Well that’s a striking argument. But overall, next time we would just go somewhere else. From all what we saw, Bentota is not worth a visit anyway compared to much better places like Gyambokka or UnaWatuna.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rucksack2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here, sadly enough, just for two days at the end of our holiday. We were welcomed by friendly staff. The room was the most gorgeous one we had seen till that point in a three week holiday in sri lanka. Very nice soft bed, big balcony with comfortable chairs. The room is clean, and the shower piping hot ( very rare in sri lanka). Location is just beatiful with a lovely beach. Pool is big and clean. I disagree with some of the other reviewers about the comment on the staff. We found them very well trained and provided quick service. At last but not least.... The restaurant serves the best FRESH!!!! Seafood!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We spent a full two weeks here and it just got better and better.
I chose this hotel thanks to trip advisor and agree with most of the
Previous reviews.the staff were outstanding in ensuring that we had all that we needed
For a relaxing holiday.we look forward to our return one day soon!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Family stayed for 1 night and loved it great value for money and excellent food. Released turtles on the beach one evening which the kids enjoyed. Family room was really big and clean

Highly recommended this hotel for a few nights nice pool as well

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Overall it's a good spot for a couple of days of beach and pool time. Not much in the local surrounding so would personally get a bit bored after a few days.

We had a luxury room which was 100 euros and while very nice, clean and comfortable I think it's probably a bit overpriced. Food was pretty good especially sea food but service quite slow taking about 2 hours for evening meal.

Expensive taxis from hotel but if you walk to the main road a local driver will do the job for half the price. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Hotel Wunderbar was not what we had hoped for, on arrival no one greeted us and we just stood around waiting for reception staff. It did not look quite like photos as the there was No sea view, although this was promised on booking confirmation as we requested. The palm trees are beautiful but have grown a lot taller!
When we got to room it was brilliant, large, clean and well designed with huge balcony. However then sadly the owners TV below us went on and was very noisey so we asked to change rooms, next day we moved up to top floor, slightly quieter but the owner joined the guset nextdor and started shouting orders to staff and throwing things off the balcony to his children(his family lived below the guest rooms). It was not the quiet and restful experience we had hoped for at the end of our travels.
The staff were polite and the place was clean. The railway track had to be crossed by foot to the beach was not a problem and quite novel. We searched other places to eat and drink but other hotels were gated. There were nice places to eat cheaper, nextdoor hotel, curry bowl down the road and a few near the lake (SERENA VILLA - nice).
Would not recommend this hotel for peace and quiet, but the owner kindly did move us and arranged pick up on departure. Shame about the expectation of a sea view and the noisey boss, otherwise could have been much better.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor of new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We visited hotel Wunderbar two times on our trip to Sri Lanka. The hotel and the service was so nice that we had to come back again. First time we stayed for 4 nights and second time for 5 nights and the staff really makes you fell like home. Service at the hotel and especially the restaurant is wonderful and makes you never want to leave... The food is excellent and they have a big selection of FRESS seafood.
The pool is nice, clean and BIG. The ocean is only 2 min walk and they with out a doubt have the best beach in Sri Lanka. You only arrive at the beach and a sun bed is ready for you. This is defiantly the hotel you want to stay if you have kids. They have many turtles you can release baby turtles to the sea at night. This was a big experience for us all. Rooms are big and clean. Massage is very good at the hotel.
All in all, we can defiantly recommend this hotel!
All the best to all staff at hotel Wunderbar.
Anne and Nis - Denmark

Room Tip: All room are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rockside Beach Resort
Rockside Beach Resort
#11 of 26 in Bentota
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel

Address: Robolgoda, Bentota 168/10, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wunderbar Beach Club serves you with 24 rooms and 1 bungalow. Our rooms are furnished in accordance to the European standards with a Sri Lankan touch of elegance. All rooms are fitted with king sized beds, en suite bathrooms, air conditioner and ceiling fans. The hotel has a swimming pool and direct access to the sea. We take great pleasure when requested in organising birthday parties, moonlight parties and weddings. There are also have regular special BBQ beach parties with live music where everybody is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wunderbar Beach Hotel
Wunderbar Beach Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing