We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mihin Villa(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$26
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
241
118
54
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
118
54
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuksri lankaluxury roomprivate beachbig balconyseafoodrooms are big and cleannice beachrailway linehotel ownersea foodstayed daysfresh towelsclean poolturtle hatcheryfood is excellentbentota beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very bad food for a unbelievable high price. The same food BUT MUCH BETTER you can eat same food really more then 10 times cheaper every where in the same area. For example Wunderbar chop suey 2400 rupee. Even in Machan very good 230 rupee small. The problem is the very bad taste. Must be very old ingredients. Be care before you died. And the manager or owner?? Your are warning. Again your are warning. Passing with high speed this horror place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Expecting a wonderful holiday, and a pleasant stay we booked in at Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel. The Reviews and pictures convinced us it would be lovely by the beach. But when we arrived we found the arrival and welcome rather disheartening. It was not the three star hotel that it was cut out to be. Finding the place, and then going through a winding path, with speed-bumps, passing mini houses did not speak of any star, more like a guest house. As a guest house it will be definitely a class, but not as a rated hotel. Only the pool on site right at the entrance makes ones mind calm, assuring of not having booked on misconception. The Manager who is also the owner of the hotel is a most disagreeable gent, whose primary aim is money and not the comfort of the guests. Once the booking is accepted, it's a done deal.
1. The toilets were musty and had the stench of the drain below.
2. The room was spacious had the bare minimum and old furniture. The AC stopped working latter part of the night, and after complaining to the Staff they switched on the electricity by mid morning. Until then the room didn't have electricity as well. Apparently the power had gone off due to a fuse. The staff didn't even know of it until complained.
3. The balcony was a treat as it was spacious, alas as promised no view of the sea, but the pool below.
4. The owner has his family living right under the rooms, and the TV would be on all the time and the the Manager could be heard yelling at the family or staff.
5. The staff is helpful and friendly and very pleasant. They try their utmost to please.
6. The welcome drink was long past the time of welcome. And afterword they take a long while to clear the glasses, resulting in a lizard settling in, which was most unpleasant to the eye.When complained to the Manager, was the excuse that in Sri Lanka it is a common site.Not so for the kids, and besides in a star rated hotel haven't they heard of pest control? I shudder to think of the kitchen, where food is prepared.
7. The breakfast was pleasant though not much variety.
8. The path to the beach was a treat, but the noise of the trains kept disturbing the peace.
9. Some of the Tuk Tuk guys were a rip off, and when questioned as to the rates were rude and unpleasant.
10. Though water sports are advertised, it is in another area, and the folks managing it, give the manager a commission for sending guests to them. It is NOT available at the Hotel.
Not worth the price and certainly a far cry from a three star. I would rate it a one star or a lovely guest house but certainly not a hotel. Do not be fooled by the propaganda photos! There's not much activity and certainly not much to do. I would not go there again.

Room Tip: If you must go choose the top floor of the new building.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 731Safio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have spend four night at Wunderbar and had a wonderful time! The familyroom was spacious and clean! The bathroom could use maybe a little more cleansing but it was huge. The pool was clean and nice because it was hot. The restaurant was wonderful! It's at the first floor with a wonderful view, nice wind which makes it comfortable because the flies and musquitos stay away. The staff was friendly and serviceminded. The owner helped us out by tracking our lost luggage at the airport. We felt very welcome and our kids still talk about the icecream which they loved!! Also the turtleproject is great. The children were impressed by the turtles and had the greatest time releasing them at night at the beach. The beach itself is beautiful and quiet!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am generally very cautious to write bad reviews but this time I feel I have to. Wunderbar looks nice from the outside but is not, or at least too expensive for what is eventually inside: 1. The room was expensive but big and very nice. So far, so good. But there were cockroaches living under the roof in our room. Which is not only a non-standard place for them to live but means their poo is all over the place. They cleaned the room when we asked for it but the cocks were still there. 2. The dinner was the most expensive dinner on our trip but tasted delicious and the service was great. So far, so good. The day after we spent in the bathroom - for the first and only time on our trip. Not good. 3. The owner generally didn’t seem to have much of an interest in us being happy there. On the day we left some staff came and took a spare bed and just threw our luggage, which was lying on it, somewhere else. They knew we were just about to leave, so why not wait for 20 more min?! 4. The beach is great. Hardly anyone there and Wunderbar offers sun beds for free. We were told Wunderbar is the only beach front guest house in Bentota. Well that’s a striking argument. But overall, next time we would just go somewhere else. From all what we saw, Bentota is not worth a visit anyway compared to much better places like Gyambokka or UnaWatuna.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rucksack2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here, sadly enough, just for two days at the end of our holiday. We were welcomed by friendly staff. The room was the most gorgeous one we had seen till that point in a three week holiday in sri lanka. Very nice soft bed, big balcony with comfortable chairs. The room is clean, and the shower piping hot ( very rare in sri lanka). Location is just beatiful with a lovely beach. Pool is big and clean. I disagree with some of the other reviewers about the comment on the staff. We found them very well trained and provided quick service. At last but not least.... The restaurant serves the best FRESH!!!! Seafood!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews