We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Susanthas(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Janus Paradise Rest(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mihin Villa(Bentota)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
241
118
54
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
118
54
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuksri lankaluxury roomprivate beachbig balconyseafoodrooms are big and cleannice beachrailway linehotel ownersea foodstayed daysfresh towelsclean poolturtle hatcheryfood is excellentbentota beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A very friendly, clean and welcoming place. A hotel with a guesthouse atmosphere. Good restaurant. Lovely breakfast!
The only real regret we had is that they host a very dubious turtle 'protection' facility. They keep seaturtles in small tanks - more for the entertainment of tourists than the wellfare of the turtles, I fear.

Room Tip: It is our impression that there is very little difference between the standard and luxury rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Location is pathetic. Hotel was a mess, lots of construction work. rooms were not really clean. not at all worth the money. They say beach view rooms and you cant see any beach from the room as restaurant is there right in front. Also this is not safe. May be ok with backpackers but not at all for family or couples. Also looking at the tariff this is not at all worth even for backpackers. I would recommend that one should avoid this place. Only positive about this place is their Breakfast, which is refreshing.

Room Tip: View from all the rooms are Bad. If you are forced to select something on gun point then you can ask for new rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajay1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This family-orientated hotel quickly grew on us. Pleasant & spacious, well-equipped room, surrounded by greenery, lovely helpful staff (see pic of the "Four Reception Ladies"!) They are building a new wing, but we weren't really disturbed by the noise and the main hotel and the swimming pool were in operation. Two features mark it out - couple of mins' walk straight down to lovely palm-fringed beach crosses railway line, so you can watch trains pass from the balcony restaurant. This is also a turtle sanctuary site: controversial in some quarters, but the hotel apparently prides itself on working with the community to buy turtle eggs laid on local beaches, stopping them ending up in a soup pot/curry dish. The eggs are then re-buried by Wunderbar on the beach in a specially-protected netted area, ready for releasing when they hatch. You can visit the rescued turtles on-site, and meet and chat to the turtle man and if you're lucky, help him dig holes/release hatchlings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Threeberthcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent four days here (two families of four with two boys each 4-7 years old) and we really enjoyed this hotel. Keeping in mind that it is a three star (not a five star) we found it to be a very good value. If you can, get the third floor rooms, for they have high vaulted ceilings and clean, attractive rooms, with great decks. The pool was wonderful for the boys when they tired of the beach. The staff was great (with one quick caveat - see below).

The beach is about 400 unimpeded meters from the hotel, but is a nice walk in the morning. Once you arrive, it is nearly empty and just rough enough for our boys to boogie board and frolic safely (with supervision). They had a great time there every day. You can get food and drink service out there and we felt that we had an ideal beach experience.

The next really wonderful thing was that the hotel owner has taken a personal interest in sea turtles, so has set up one of the ten Sri Lankan facilities (and is free!). Our boys got to visit the turtles every day, and with supervision and a bit of luck, bury some turtle eggs in the hotel's protected cages on the beach, and actually release a newborn one night. For our kids, it was incredible. The men running it were knowledgable and incredibly helpful. Great.

The only negative is that there was a senior tuk-tuk driver, who may or may not be officially associated with the hotel, who seemed to run the excursions. We wanted to do the Kosgoda river tour, but were apparently not clear enough so we got the Bentota version, which really was terrible and a blatant tourist trap.

Breakfast was good, the rest of the food was ok. There is a nice restaurant next door and a great restaurant in Kosgoda, which is worth checking out.

All in all, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms facing the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TnTnCnZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked 5 nights here in December through Agoda for our short stay in Sri Lanka. We arrived to a building site that had absolutely no privacy from the ten or so builders that were working there. The swimming pool was effectively out of action and the sound of power tools made it anything but the serene holiday we had saved up for. Even my three year old daughter commented on how noisy it was.

When I mentioned it to the staff, they were fully understanding and sincerely apologetic saying that work was to complete shortly- though obviously that didn't really help us much. They offered an alternative room, but it didn't change the fact that the hotel was still a building site, and large parts of it were unusable.

We decided to move to a neighbouring hotel and the staff said that I needed to arrange the refund through Agoda.

When I contacted Agoda, they had been informed by the hotel manager not to proceed with the refund, and claimed that the renovations were minor and for only short parts of the day. Both were blatant lies, they were constructing an entirely new building, the work was from 10-5 (ie the whole of the day), and they had led us to believe that we would be able to proceed with a refund. Agoda have provided a partial refund as a goodwill gesture, when really the hotel should have. We were prepared to pay for one night as we arrived late due to unforeseen circumstances, but to then have to pay for the remaining 4 nights when we weren't made prior aware of the condition of the accommodation is simply taking advantage of the fact that we booked in advance. And it wasn't if we were denying other guests from staying there, the hotel was practically empty.

There's a lesson I've learnt here- never book in advance unless you absolutely have to, or you are confident about the place you are booking into. We ended up having a look around and staying in the neighbouring Villa Bentota which was absolute luxury- immeasurably nicer. I'm so glad I decided on somewhere other than Wunderbar, even though it actually cost me money not to stay there.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank AudreyandLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews