We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back family run business needing more attention?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Laid back family run business needing more attention?”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

On one hand we were treated very nicely by the staff, on the other hand we were billed unfairly, the food and drinks were way too expensive, there was no water one night, etc. The management lacks professional hotel management expertise and it shows.

The location is good, as the beach is only a short walk away and the water can be seen from the open-concept restaurant.

They have a good turtle reserve project. Management organized a lovely beach party for us, which we really enjoyed. I am not sure if we paid anything, but it was probably insignificant.

For backpackers the accommodations may be okay, however it does not meet my standards for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneWorldCitizen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    107
    45
    27
    22
See reviews for
93
177
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Wunderbar is a nice place to stay. Is not a luxury hotel. You get a large clean room, bathroom with hot water, swimming pool and free internet for a reasonable price. Staff members are friendly and the boss always available in case of need. A large send beach is at 1 minute walk from the Wunderbar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This is a really great beach hotel with a lovely, relaxed atmosphere!

Our deluxe room was spacious, bright and spotlessly clean with a huge balcony overlooking the pool and gardens, and views through the palms to the sea. Large bathroom/wetroom with an excellent shower and plenty of hot water. Fresh towels daily. Really quiet air conditioning and ceiling fan make for a good night's sleep, too - we paid a lot more for a lot less at other hotels in Sri Lanka .

The open air, beach bar restaurant serves fantastic shellfish and seafood, as well as rice and curry.
Breakfast is gorgeous and plentiful. Freshly squeezed fruit juice and coffee/tea. Delicious slices of fruit - papaya, mango, pineapple, lychees and banana followed by eggs, however you like them, and bacon and sausage, then toast and marmalade.

Chan and his staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem, even when we turned up two day's early!
Wunderbar isn't faceless 5-star international luxury - it's much more individual and personal. It's about great food in a friendly, comfortable and clean hotel right on the beach and within easy walking distance of Bentota Village.

We loved our stay here and were so sad to leave. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceandMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I chose this hotel, simply because of the good high level reviews on Trip Advisor, without going too much into the details. I just needed a decent place to stay for a much needed weekend break, and my first time in Sri Lanka. This hotel gave me more than I expected, in very subtle and unexpected ways. Its friendly, basic, quiet and laid back, in a very scenic little stretch of this wonderful little country. All this made my stay an absolute pleasure.

It is a bit basic, but as a business traveller who spends 200 nights a year away from home in 5-star hotels, basic was perfect. My 'delux' room was large, with high wooden ceilings. Nice local furniture, and tasteful erotic art on the walls. Minaimalism. Cleanliness could have been slightly better, but then again, this hotel is 'basic' and priced in the mid-range to expectations need to be adjusted.

The restaurant, bar and beach area are extremely quiet and laid back. The area is quite scenic, almost heavenly. The staff is friendly and always willing to have a chat. There was a nice little crowd of other guests, mostly from Germany, Austria and Benelux, and a good mixture of solo travellers, couples and families. Food was better than 'basic' in the restaurant, and quite decently priced. Beer and cocktails were flowing.

The location is a bit of a drawback. I am told that this is one of the nicest stretches of beach in the country, but at just 100 km from the airport (and 60 km from Colombo), I would have expected the rides to take less than the 3 hours they took. The roads are tiny, and the transport (hotel arranged) is rickety and over priced (50 EUR for a one-way transfer to the airport is more than I would have to pay in another emerging tourist destination).

I made the mistake of taking a trip to Colombo in a tuk tuk, to try my luck at some of the casinos out there. The bumpy ride took 2 hours each way. We were stopped by police thrice, and my lungs were destroyed by fumes (still reeling from a bad alleric cough). I also lost a bit of money playing Blackjack, but my theory is that I will win it back another day in another casino.

All in all, an interesting adventure and a great weekend trip. Planning a longer trip for March.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghmckdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Though i have travelled over many outstanding sites before it was the first time , that my wife and I visited the beautiful island of Sri Lanka. We have booked Hotel Wunderbar in Bentota for 10 days, and it was an excellent choice. If one expects a big hotel, owned and managed by an International Hotel Group, with marble washing stands, golden fittings and Jaccuzzi in the bathrooms, if you expect a personal butler service, red carpets , dancing floor and casino club you may call the Hotel Wunderbar maybe " Basic " . But if you would prefer a small, very well run accomodation, located in a beautiful, scenic surrounding on a wide stretch of a sandy beach with palms and lush green in the hinterland, if you like excellent food, served in an open air restaurant, very clean rooms with outstandig big terraces and, last but not least a very friendly and helpful staff including our excellent Tuc Tuc driver Sisira ( " Sisi " ), Hotel Wunderbar would be the right choice for you. We enjoyed it in any case.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnold42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

What a great first trip to Sri lanka! Wunderbar is a small friendly hotel right on the beach (just step over the train line!) which was perfect for our beach holiday. We booked into a standard room as the delux were all full, however we were very happy with ours. A standard does what it says on the tin but is very clean, comfy bed and extra pillows etc. The bed gets made everyday and new towels each day too. Some one below has mentioned the bathroom is a death trap...it is not, it is a wet room tiled like any other bathroom and was very clean. Chan is a great owner, always checking we were ok and would help in anyway he could. The food is also great, we were Half Board so had breakfast and dinner included in the price, such good value! for dinner definatley stick to sea food and the prawn and fish currys are lovely! try the fried bannanas/pinapple and ice cream and the milk shakes! Delicious!The guys in the resturant are just brillaint to, all good fun! Make sure you speak to Jack when you are there, he will sort out all the tours and speaks great english plus other languages and goes with you so will explain everywhere you are going, he was great fun and kept us entertained the whole two weeks, a good friend! Also we did a great tuk tuk safari with SiSi (pa pa!) he took us through bentota village and up to a waterfall we could swim in and we brought pens and pencils for the local children and gave them out, was a great experience, he really looked after us, even stopped to get me medicine for my cold, a lovely man! Sisi is always around to take you into town as well in his tuk tuk, but if you like walking it only takes about 15mins max and you just follow the train line or you can walk along the beach and cut into the road at the Taj hotel. There is also a turtle project they run at the hotel and 'the turtle man' as we called him was brilliant, he explained how it all works and on the second to last night we released a whole batch. He also looks after you on the beach too and will get you drinks and sorts all the towels/beds out!
We really cant complain about anything, we had four days of cloud and i think if the Wunderbar staff could have sorted that out they would have! Such great people! Such a great time! Would definatley go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyandrob8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Cosy hotel with friendly staff and if you have a deluxe room you get a big private balcony.
The breakfast was sufficent and the halv board was great if you skipped the soup. For main course you could choose whatever you wanted from their menu (except lobser or big prawns)
The railroad is between the hotel and the beach so it might not be very good if you have small children.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
1.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel

Property: Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Address: Robolgoda, Bentota 168/10, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wunderbar Beach Club serves you with 24 rooms and 1 bungalow. Our rooms are furnished in accordance to the European standards with a Sri Lankan touch of elegance. All rooms are fitted with king sized beds, en suite bathrooms, air conditioner and ceiling fans. The hotel has a swimming pool and direct access to the sea. We take great pleasure when requested in organising birthday parties, moonlight parties and weddings. There are also have regular special BBQ beach parties with live music where everybody is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wunderbar Beach Hotel
Wunderbar Beach Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing