We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great villa, amazing staff, brilliant trip away!”
Review of Namo Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Namo Villa
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Namo Villa for my girlfriend's 30th birthday in December (I've only just seen the villa listed here) and I have to say the weekend was perfect.

The villa itself is large in a colonial style with large spacious bedrooms. We stayed in one of the master rooms with a 4-poster bed and access to the massive balcony which stretches the majority of the villas circumference.

One point to be aware of is this is not the place to come to take an off-the-shelf, commercial beach holiday. In this villa you really live in amongst the locals - which we thought was excellent.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, always being on hand to take us to the beautiful Bentota beach (which is only 5 mins away in the tuc-tuc), or into the town to grab some wine or to collect us from a restaurant if we were a little worse for wear.....

Upon speaking to the manager of the property, he tells me the villa is owned by his brother-in-law who works overseas for the Hilton hotel chain. This seems obvious when you know as its the little touches you get that you really don't expect from a standalone property.

On my girlfriends actually birthday, we were surprised by the manager and his family with a birthday cake and a rousing rendition of Happy Birthday!! Added to that we were cooked a particularly extravagant breakfast, all in a traditional Sri Lankan style. One thing you MUST try is the coconut milk rice - I can't remember its name but its served in diamond shaped portions and is to die for!!

As long as you take on board the charming, rural location of the villa and appreciate you will have to travel a couple of minutes to reach the beach etc, you will have an amazing time.

Room Tip: I much preferred the wood themed room with a 4-poster bed over the minimalist style room with clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stu_Magoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

I & my wife stayed at this lovely place for 3 weeks, beginning I thought we will not have much to do, but the manager Jayampath kept us busy by taking us & showing us around in his tuk-tuk, sight seen of Bentota, craft work shops, batik factory, tea estate & of course to the lovely beach on daly basis, enjoyed the relaxing outdoor Ayurvedic treatments, food was always done up to our liking & Chef was a great guy, Sandu the charming girl made us feel at home & every little request was not too much for her, we will never forget our welcoming ceremony with dancers, rooms are are very comfortable & lovely, little pool with fiber optics light from our balcony in the evening was really romantic, we will come back & recommend this place for our friends, we must thank Jayampath & his daughter Saundu & the entire team for the fantastic hospitality, we will miss Namo Villa

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eickhoff121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Namo Villa has only recently opened and the manager goes out of his way (literally, in his three-wheeler) to help guests. Other staff are also really charming. The room was vast though a bit short on chairs (we think this is being attended to) and the bed was very comfortable. The small pool was the best we have encountered. It's not in town or on the beach so if you need that, best stay somewhere else. If you want a gorgeous slightly out of the way, peaceful place yet still only a short distance from Bentota look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The vibe at Namo was excellent and the villa itself is excellent. Top notch building with stylish and well appointed rooms. The food was great. The service was great. I spent 12 days there feeling comfortable and well looked after . Thank you Namo!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: rooms in the higher floors are larger and have a good view, with balcony rooms in the lower level h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank racy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildsnowcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Christoph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 25 in Bentota
831 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
895 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namo Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namo Villa

Address: Dope, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Bentota
Price Range: £28 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Namo Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing