We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outstanding - a must stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding - a must stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This has been by far the main highlight of many hotels that we've visited in Sri Lanka over the last few weeks. The bungalows are huge, amazingly furnished and each have their own private garden with satelite (that actually works!) and free wifi everywhere! There are 22 staff for 12 guest rooms and you really get world class service - the staff truly love this place and it makes such a huge difference. There is even a full time Ayurvedic doctor who you can see and get treatments and massages from $15. We were worried that this place might be too far from the beach, but it's only 5 mins away and they're very happy to transfer you about for little or no money. But best of all is the setting of this hotel. It is in the most picturesque place imaginable - right on the banks of a beautiful river that slowly difts along and where you can sit and have dinner enjoying what is by far the best food we ate in Sri Lanka. The food and drinks are very well priced- we had the selection of Sri Lankan curries most nights for $10 which were prepared by a great chef, Athula, who changes the menu daily and gives you enough for twice the number of people! The pool area is beatiful with a nice jucuzzi and the whole place is surrounded by stunning gardens, ponds, winding paths and a herb garden (a real herb garden rather than the commercial ones that tour guides take you when you're on a tour here) and so much wildlife (eagles, brightly coloured birds, monkeys, water lizards etc etc) that come and go as you sit by the pool or river. The staff go the extra mile - there are always flowers in your room and on the table. In the room we found some writing by the owner about why he set up this place - with Dalmanuta being the place that the disciples took Jesus to rest - and we had such a peaceful, uplifting and special time here that we will be telling everyone about it when we're back home. This is my first tripadviser review because i thought it was so good. I really do recommend it very highly - for us it is now top of the list. Well worth the slightly higher room rates compared to the other places, which we can fairly say are very average in comparison. It's the perfect place for couples, little kids and families, or people wanting treatments in a relaxed, peaceful and uplifting environment.

Room Tip: One of the bungalows in particular has a huge private garden- number 12 - we stayed there and althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    47
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
155
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at Dalmanuta Garden and loved the place. It was the best place in our Sri-lanka visit this time.
A very well-maintained and beautifully designed resort. Service standards were ace - exceptional. Food were made to order. All staff were very courteous and friendly

I would gop back to Dalmanuta Garden and recommend anyone visiting Bentota to give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Dalmanuta not only met but exceeded my expectations in every way. I was a little wary at first...a resort with only 9 bungalows?...but that is one of the key elements to the personalized attention and quality of service offered.

The rooms / bungalows are first class, discreetly separated from neigbouring bungalows and footpath by well tended hedges. The glorious perfume of flowers from the tree in my front yard would welcome me every evening as I entered my private grounds. each bungalow has a charming terrace with tasteful furniture, thoughtfully equippped with mosquito coils every night.

The bungalows are spacious, beautifully designed and decorated offering a pleasant, luxurious but homey ambiance. The beds are quite comfortable with practical and beautifully designed mosquito netting. The turn down service transforms your sleeping spot into a picture perfect setting with artfully arranged flowers. Both AC and ceiling fans are provided for your convenience. The bathrooms are modern, spacious and exceptionally well-appointed: double sinks, double shower heads, plenty of towels and a second half-bath for convenience.

The serenity of the surroundings is unsurpassable. The loudest (and often only) noises are the chirping of birds and crickets, only outdone by the croaking of the frogs at night. A nature lover's paradise. The grounds are immaculately tended by a team of friendly, smiling and helpful staff.

And the food....oooooh the food!! Each and every meal was a delight in itself. Fresh, delicious, home-made meals to please any palette. Not only was the quality impeccable but the staff were friendly, polite and patient. Chef answered my many, many, many questions every meal, every day, explaining each dish and even made time to allow me and the two other guests at the time inside his kitchen for a full-on cooking demonstration / lesson. I couldn't have been more thrilled!!

The Ayurvedic treatments were also purely indulgent. Although communication in English with the therapists was sometimes a challenge , essential messages were conveyed and blissful treatments followed. I highly recommend them for complete and total de-stressing.

Finally the manager, Chamal was efficient, helpful and accommodating every step of the way. He graciously obtained the services of his wife and sister-in-law to show me how to wrap my sari that I had bought to wear at a friend's wedding after leaving Dalmanuta and engaged his brother to take me to town to find appropriate shoes to complete the outfit.

Overall, I can only sing the praises of Dalmanuta. It delivered everything it promised and did so with class and personalized attention. I can't imagine finding better on the island. This is definitely a place for a return visit!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeahLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertLondon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our daughter and boyfriend for the last 6 days of our tour of Sri Lanka. Its a river resort away from tourist spots. Our accommodation was first class and the restaurant food fantastic comparable in quality with good restaurants in London. I recommend the lobster and the chefs curry. Portions are huge. The quality of service from everyone was exceptional throughout our stay which ended with the chef making a very special BBQ on our last night, decorating the garden with flower displays and coconut torches.

They only have 9 bungalow suites, we took two of them. Just now its the end of their season and we were the only guests there so had full use of the pool etc.

I would also recommend you take a stroll out of the resort, take a left and walk into the local town to experience Sri Lankan people. An amazing experience. Being photographers it is a haven for great light and great shots.

Found this resort on Trip Advisor and have recommended to our travel operator they include them on their list.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Best place you can ever imagine for your relaxation.
Best sea food restaurant in the area and real good services,
Kind and powerfull manager, that makes his best for you to have a sweet holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrilankaWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We recentrly returned from 3 weeks touring Sri Lanka, and spent 3 nights at Dalmanuta, when (lucky for us) it was very quiet, adding to the prevailing sense of tranquility and calm.

You can only comment on your own experience, and for us the visit was a delight - mainly due to the superb attitude of the team - they are clearly strongly led from the manager down, but the room boys, the restaurant team, the doctors, the ayurvedic team, and the reception were all unfailingly smiling, keen and helpful. You can judge a place by how it handles a problem, and whilst ours was an incidental thing (satellite tv signal issues) it was dealt with swiftly, apologetically, and thoroughly.

The whole place is kept really tidy, the pool is spotless (watch out for the monitors!) , and the food in the evening is excellent - Sri Lankan curry among the best we had in the country. The riverside location is as good as the photos suggest - what a place to have breakfast - but the only reason for giving 4 points for location is that Dalmanuta is a few miles inland from the coast which might not suit everyone. We got a car to a posh beachside hotel for the day with no trouble though. The riverside location also brings more insect life than you'd get at the coast but nets are provided in the rooms, and it's a very good trade off for the tranquility and seclusion - the bird life alone is worth it.

Last point, although Dalmanuta specialises in Ayurvedic treatment, this was not our reason for staying - and unlike a resort in Kerala we once stayed at, you are not made to feel at all inferior by not being a devotee.

A great place to stay, which deserved to be more popular, although I am glad it wasn't - we had a private pool as a result. Thanks to all for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edale
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I have never written a travel review before so Dalmanuta must have made an impact! My husband and I spent a month in Sri Lanka with our tandem and cycled around 1,100km starting and ending in Bentota (to avoid likely death on the roads out of Colombo!). We arranaged an airport pick up from Dalmanuta and all went smoothly. The welcome was genuine and staff were extremely kind. Our bungalow was immaculate and by far the cleanest place we stayed in during our trip. We were treated like royalty by the lovely chef who served up wonderful candlelit curries by ther river, We left some luggage behind during our cycle tour, for no charge, and were welcomed back for our last night like long lost friends (despite being filthy!). Nothing was too much trouble for Chamal and his team. It is wonderfully quiet at the resort, which after the horrendously disturbed nights we had experienced during the trip, seemed like an oasis of calm. Your enjoyment of Dalmanuta will depend what you are after (it is quiet), but for us it was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen-edale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
2.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
4.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Property: Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Address: No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmanuta is situated in a large lovely park along the Bentota River. Dalmanuta offers full Ayurvedic Treatment or just a relaxing holiday. The Hotel has two pools, one diving deep and one Jacuzzi pool. The restaurant is open also for guests not living at the hotel. Minimum stay 2 nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant Hotel Bentota
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing