We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalmanuta Gardens - Bentota, Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in Dalmanuta Gardens for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. It was like being in a little family that couldn't do enough for you; including Suresh our attentive waiter and Artulla the excellent chef. The accommodation was 5 star, clean and spacious with a little garden and terrace outside. I didn't do the whole Ayurvedic package but I did have massages and relaxed by the pool. I also had a wonderful trip to Galle (on the wettest day of the year) with visits to a temple, a moonstone mine and a very colonial hotel with our charming manager Chamal.
All in all I felt restored and on a high from the benefits. Strongly recommended to anyone who wants to be off the beaten tourist track and find a balance between total relaxation and interesting visits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Dalmanuta Gardens for one relaxing week. For the time of year we had great weather and found the bungalow very comfortable and clean. The staff were amazing from Suresh our attentive waiter (even his chinese language skills were good!!) to the chef (great food) the cleaners, in fact the whole team took care of us so well.
Set on he Bentota river with wonderful gardens and swimming pool - idyllic!
For anyone searching for a relaxing holiday this is the place! Great boat trip to the fabulous nearby beach.
We ventured out to Galle and Kandy with the hotel driver who was very informative and took great care of us. Great trips which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Home from home for us!!
Gary and Coco

Room Tip: All the bungalows are fine with their own individual gardens, table, outside furniture and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Feels like being home.. warm welcome, friendly staff (but not too much), super Aryuvedic food!! I I would not recommend the massage, might depend on the masseur.. But all in all its a lovely place to stay! Not a touristic place. There a pavillons to stay in, lots of private space.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinka999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A perfect place for restoring or recovering. It's a silent garden, peaceful place. Very good staffs, amazing riverside restaurant, wonderful service with fresh food! Great Aryuvedic doctor, excellent Yoga instructor. I would like to come back again if I have two weeks holiday. My daughter and I took half day for treatment and half day to study or to work. We enjoyed the relaxing and avoided the noisy sight seeing trip.
The traffic from airport is a little bit far, it takes around 3 hours. Hope the high way will open soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loucecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in the Dalmanuta Gardens for 5 nights. There are only 9 detached bungalows so its a very private, quiet and relaxing resort. The staff was waiting for us with a welcoming drink and showed us to our lovely home for the next 5 nights. The rooms are large, very clean and comfortable and very importantly bug free. Its lovely to have your dinner sitting in the cabana over the river listening to the sounds of nature. The service was excellent and very attentive. Our waiter Suresh really looked after us for the entire stay. I think our favourite thing about the hotel was the lovely gardens filled with birds and other wildlife. We had a few trips on the boat which was lovely and relaxing too. I'd really recommend a stay here if travelling to Bentota.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseEoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Resort is delightfully set at the bank of Bentota River. Full marks to the owners for selecting this top location. I stayed here for 6 nights during vacation in 3rd week of Aug, 13. Following are the salient features and some of our observations:

1) Rooms:
We stayed in Room-3, which was quite spacious. However, space can be utilized more efficiently. In the big common bathroom, space is available for putting a bath tub.Similarly, the additional wash basin can be taken out. The smaller bathroom adjacent to the common bath room can be converted into a store room, this will enable removing the wooden cabinet behind the TV, which is presently utilized for hanging clothes.
Additionally, putting up Qibla direction signs in the rooms will be a big help for Muslims at prayer times.

2) Staff:
Staff is friendly and attentive. They respond to the queries efficiently. Muhammad in the housekeeping team is very helpful in this regard. Restaurant staff is also very friendly and accomodating. Full marks to Chamal (Hotel Manager) for keeping such a wonderful crew of people.

3) River Restaurant:
Plenty of variety is available during Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. However, the prices are on the higher side, and cheaper alternatives with similar quality food are available in Bentota city, Aluthgama, or Beruwala. Kandoori is one option.

4) Wi Fi:
Wi Fi is free of charge, however, signals were a bit weak.

5) Swimming Pool:
One big pool, with an adjacent bar is available. Jacuzzi is also available nearby. The big pool has variable depths, and would be worthwhile to mention the depths of various sections of the pool on the adjacent wall, as a safety prompt.

6) Herbal Garden / Silent Garden:
Very nice, meditating and quiet environment. Was amazed to see such a variety of plants and herbs in the garden. One point of improvement could be putting up some additional lights on the pathways of silent garden for better illumination in the nights. The same pathway is also used for accessing River Restaurant.

7) Tours:
Tour rates (such as to Galle etc) sponsored from Hotel have the capacity for improvement, as similar tour packages are available in Bentota / Aluthgama at lower rates.
The daily free boat tour to Bentota Beach is a very good facility for Resort guests.

8) Gym / Spa:
Gym / Spa have up to date facilities. Resort Doctor was very friendly and cooperative.

Overall, staying at the Resort was a very good experience, and would like to come back again during next visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FahadAftab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Dalmanuta Gardens was the perfect place to end our 1-week trip in Sri Lanka. Staff is nice and rather discreet, food is tasty and the place is peaceful a very well maintained. Rooms are very spacious and clean, the location on the river is perfect. A free boat ride is offered once a day to the beach (noon) and back to the hotel (4pm). The boat even goes in the mangrove and narrow passages in the jungle, which can save you the full boat safari if you're not very keen on spending you're money for that activity. People in the Ayurvedic center seem very professional, you can be advised by a doctor upon arrival on what type of massage and oil you should get, and I guess this center is perfect for people willing to get a full Ayurvedic treatment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clement S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
2.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
882 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Address: No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmanuta is situated in a large lovely park along the Bentota River. Dalmanuta offers full Ayurvedic Treatment or just a relaxing holiday. The Hotel has two pools, one diving deep and one Jacuzzi pool. The restaurant is open also for guests not living at the hotel. Minimum stay 2 nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort And Restaurant
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing