We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable, only a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable, only a few glitches”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed four nights at Dalmanuta Gardens to finish our trip to Sri Lanka. We were in need of some relaxation after sitting in a car for most of the week prior and that is just what we were able to obtain. The property is beautifully maintained by Chamal, who is extremely helpful. As we were the only guests at the time of our stay we felt very personally looked after. We stayed in Room 3 which had everything we could possibly need. Ants and bugs were also in the room but as world travelers we understand that when in a natural setting that is a part of it. The bugs and ants were not on the level of a problem so it was no huge issue for us.
The setting is so lovely, dinners and lunches were served out in a structure on the river, which we found very peaceful and relaxing. The food on the property is very good. Our room was cleaned promptly and again, we felt as though if we needed anything all we had to do was ask. Sureth, our main server in the dining area, even paid attention to what type of fruit we liked and it would come out with breakfast.
It was incredibly difficult to sleep at night--not at all the fault of the property staff. Dogs howled most of the night which woke us up repeatedly. Ear plugs provided by the bed would be well utilized. If you sleep hard it probably wouldn't be a bother.
I personally wish the jacuzzi was heated as it wasn't easy to jump into a cold one necessarily. It would be a nice addition to have it warm.
The only real glitch was really a lack of communication. It didn't present any major problems but we frequently alerted staff to when we were leaving, when we would not stay on property for dinner, etc. yet we were told that staff had waited on us for dinner when we had clearly said we would be out. This type of thing happened a few times and was more of a minor irritation as we are good visitors and wouldn't want to inconvenience the personnel--hence the notice. I'm not sure if this was a language issue or something else but again, it wasn't a huge deal.
We did consult with the ayurvedic doctor on site, Dr. Prabbudhyi, who was friendly and helpful. Having had some familiarity with this type of medicine we did take part in some treatments which for the price were of good value. I would return to this property and would recommend it as a relaxing oasis in a busy city.

Room Tip: Room 3 is fantastic, we enjoyed it immensely and its right off the pool/jacuzzi area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    46
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
153
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Dalmanuta for one week in April. The staff were so friendly and the place was beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and the spa is definitely worth a visit. Breakfast and yoga in the mornings were a treat and the surrounding gardens were serene. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieSharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our family of 4 spent a week doing a tour around Sri Lanka. It was like a military expedition - everything scheduled to the minute. We spent the last 2 days of our tour in the Dalmanuta Gardens, which was the best decision I could have made. We arrived at the hotel late in the evening but it was not a problem as the manager had phoned us to ask about the arrival time. After we dropped off our luggage near the beautiful cottages, we were shown around the establishment and when we got to the amazing riverside restaurant we were offered a welcome beverage.
The restaurant deserves a special mention; everything is cooked to your personal preference, just ask the chef. When my husband went fishing in the morning, he was served breakfast at 6am - nothing was a problem for the personnel.
The service was good. We were pleasantly surprised every morning with towel masterpieces on our beds in the shape of animals.
The beds are big and comfortable with mosquito nets and mosquito coils provided outside.
My impression: it was very green and in the middle of nature. Birds were singing, squirrels squirreling, and water monitors walking around near the restaurant. The garden is well-maintained, and every cottage has a private garden with sun beds.
The pool and jacuzzi were beautiful, with the furnishings resembling nature.
It was very peaceful, far from noise and tourists. Very relaxing.
We didn't try the Ayurvedic treatments as we simply didn't have enough time.
There is a free boat taxi to the Bentota beach and the boat driver takes you through the mangroves on the way.
I would recommend this hotel as a place to recuperate after a busy holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ira_P4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed 8 days at Dalmanuta in April and I have to say that I loved every minute of it! The bungalows are all very luxurious and perfectly clean. The pool area is awesome with 1 pool large enough to do laps in and 1 smaller, more chilled pool with jacuzzi function to sit and relax in. The pool area staff made sure you had clean towels at all time, a cool drink in your hand and fresh fruits when ever needed.

The restaurant serves great food. the staff is very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere by the river is super relaxed and romantic.

A fun twist was that the room service boys made up new advanced towel decorations each day so we were always excited when we got back to the rooms after hitting the pool or beach to see what they had come up with this time!

The gardens with all animals (lizzards, monkeys etc) is really beautiful and the location of the resort is great if you want to escape the crowded town. If you want some more action you can always just take a short boat or tuk tuk trip to the beach, have some dinner and drinks before returning to your own paradise at Dalmanuta.

Thanks for a great stay/Cecilia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaMarkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sodertalje, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I came for yoga and ayurvedic treatment. But I must say that the first and best treatment ever was the staff - everyone was so kind, helpful - always with a beautiful smile. The resort rested in a peaceful and healing environment, calming for stressed souls. Only birds and crickets, fish jumping in the ponds - one or two monkeys jumping in the trees, making sounds. The food was excellent. Also The yogalessons and treatments with good benefit and high class. Thanks to everyone - noone named, noone forgotten. - Already hoping to return soon. Dalmanuta in My heart:)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lassenai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Like the Garden of Eden, so many flowers, so many birds, exotic fruits and just a few mosquitos)) and even though the hotel was fully booked, we felt like we were alone. The food was great and the view from the restaurant was even better! I liked the ayurvedic doctor very much, the whole treatment team gave me so much warmth and attention.
The staff was great and made our stay very relaxed and comfortable.
Be sure to take a boat ride to the beach and visit the mangroves on the way!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuba
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What makes Dalmanuta so enchanted is the warm and friendly service, the perfect location for relaxing with its selected number of bungalows and the love of the owner for the place. From the moment I arrived and was collected from the airport I was made extremely welcome. The manager Chamal and his family, the front office manager Imail, the chief butler Naleer, and the rest of the staff are always ready to help you as if you were extended family of Dalmanuta.

I had no previous experience with Ayurevedic treatment. Dr. Prabuddhi is so kind, gentle and sincere that the care started even before my arrival via e-mail. My sense of wellbeing improved so much in five short days. There is no question that a longer stay is necessary for full benefits. I want to say thank you to my therapist, Pushpa. It would be great if she or the doctor could offer perhaps a class, in collaboration with the gardeners, about the herbs that they use daily in the treatments or how to prepare the herbal balls and oils for the guests who wish to know more about Ayurveda. Their knowledge of plants is a real fortune, it would be wonderful if they could share it. Indeed the well attended botanical garden of Dalmanuta would certainly help.

Twice a day I took yoga classes which were delightful and the “yoga sala” where we practiced is highly recommended. If I could make a suggestion, it would be nice if the morning classes could start an hour earlier, so there is enough time between breakfast and the treatment.

The rooms were clean, simple, and comfortable. Thanks to the stable Wi-Fi, I was able to use my computer to check email everywhere in the hotel ground.

It comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saa_aas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Property: Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Address: No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bentota
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmanuta is situated in a large lovely park along the Bentota River. Dalmanuta offers full Ayurvedic Treatment or just a relaxing holiday. The Hotel has two pools, one diving deep and one Jacuzzi pool. The restaurant is open also for guests not living at the hotel. Minimum stay 2 nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant Hotel Bentota
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing