We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is a very nice and cosy place with a big nature.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Dalmanuta is a calm place, were you can chill out very good. Clean and comfortable rooms, at every time good service.
The garden is as nice you can`t imagine. I really love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionKlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed at the Dalmanuta Gardens with my boyfriend. The surrounding gardens are absolutely beautiful. The rooms are lovely, they are clean, spacious and private. You even get your own private garden! The staff are really helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is amazing (especially the tuna and the beef steak) and the chef was always checking that everything was okay and to our liking. We will DEFINATELY be going back here. Thank you Dalmantua Garden staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetie_15753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Located on the Bentota River river about 10 minute drive from the beach, Dalmanuta Gardens is an idyllic place to relax & recharge. The staff were most helpful and little touches such as adding an arrangement of beautiful petals on our bed were testament to the guest care. The highlight of the stay was the cuisine served on riverfront gazebo the chef prepared a wonderful Sri Lanka dinner with exquisite flavors. We stayed there for only one night but could have easily spent a couple of extra days there. We hope to be back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotters321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We spent 6 nights at Dalmauta Gardens and found it to be extremely well run, clean and very friendly as only a small hotel can be. The rooms are all individual chalet style with huge bedrooms & 2 bathrooms.The food was good and we were even given a cookery lesson by the chef (Atulla) on cooking authentic Sri Lankan curries! The staff could not have been more helpful and took us wherever we wanted to go as well as looking after us at the hotel. The hotel is on the river rather than the beach but you can take the hotel boat to the beach - not that they are much good for sunbathing on as there are no sunbeds etc. on the beaches. We stayed by the pool or went on some local trips. The hotel does arrange longer trips to Galle, Columbo and an overnight trip to Kandy for those that want to go further afield. They have their own transport - minibus & tuk tuk. We asked to be taken to some very local gardens, temple etc. and this was arranged with no fuss and was also very good value.
We also tried some of the 'treatments' and they were very good - anything from a massage to a full consultation and treatment plan with an ayurvedic doctor.
This hotel will appeal to those that want a small, peaceful and friendly retreat. The gardens are beautifully maintained and there is a very extensive spice garden and water garden.
We travelled in April - the weather was extremely hot (+30C) with rain at night. We were told that December was the best month to visit as it is a little cooler.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atasteofexcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

we stay at Dalmanuta for 3 nights, it was so peacefull, clean and beautiful that my husband wanted to stay more!
You feel like beeing at home and the service is perfect.
I loved the location on the bentota river... And what i like more? smotthness of decoration and food, splendid...
it's just a pity that the rooms miss some light of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

It was our first time in the Spice Island, and Dalmanuta made the last few days of our holiday very invigorating. The highlights in no particular order:
- Chamal for his welcome and tending to our needs during the stay
- The breakfast in the pier on the serene Bentota river..not forgetting the Jumping Jack fishes to keep us company
- Chef Athula and his fab cooking team
- The excellently maintained spice gardens and ponds
- Upul and the boat trip down the river, lagoons and the Buddha temple on the island at the mouth of the Sea meeting river

All in all, truly blissful stay. As always, ran out of time..while Dalmanuta still had plenty to offer us!!

Mr & Mrs Rao (Dubai)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CnRDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

While originally booking for just one night in our trip around Sri Lanka - just 30 minutes into the place and it was clear that we were extending one more night because that's the least the place demanded! Which in retrospect was still less. The great close knit team at Dalmanuta made sure our every small need was taken care of with genuine smiles and ensuring our stay was nothing short of a trip to remember! From the nature nestled setting to the restaurant by the beautiful riverside with Athula's chef mastery in dishing out great food as to our liking, which again demanded more sittings to experience it all. What I liked even more was, inspite of the whole natural setting, the rooms were really neat and clean with no unwanted elements bothering us. And were very glad to be helped out by Per in choosing a room in the quiet end of the resort which in all fairness was peaceful anyway.

The great Ayurveda treatment the place has on offer was just what we needed to kickback with massages, baths et al. A relaxing, liberating experience even for our penchant of trying out many spas all around.

We left with BIG smiles and promising ourselves that we would surely return to such choice setting, hospitality and happiness. Keep up the great job Dalmanuta!

Highly recommended if you're even remotely close to Bentota!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbafna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
2.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
941 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rockside Beach Resort
Rockside Beach Resort
#11 of 26 in Bentota
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Address: No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#9 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmanuta is situated in a large lovely park along the Bentota River. Dalmanuta offers full Ayurvedic Treatment or just a relaxing holiday. The Hotel has two pools, one diving deep and one Jacuzzi pool. The restaurant is open also for guests not living at the hotel. Minimum stay 2 nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant Hotel Bentota
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing