We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"What a Gem"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterside Bentota
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"What a Gem"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a two week trip and found this to be our favourite hotel. The food was some of the best we had in S.L. We took advantage of the boat and saw lots of birds and water monitors.The staff are all really friendly and will always have time for a chat and point out anything of interest.We loved the fly past every evening of the flying foxes and there return in the morning.We will definately stay here again on our next visit to S.L.
.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at The Waterside for 5 days during our vacation in Sri Lanka and every bit of our stay was awesome. The place is situated by the riverside and has a nice swimming pool and a garden. It has extremely hospitable staff and only 6 rooms that make it easier for the staff to cater to all its guests. We were traveling with our 10 month old baby and Waterside's staff made our stay extremely comfortable. It is situated in a quiet area but is very well connected to the rest of the city.

Room Tip: The three ground floor rooms are next to the swimming pool; so you can move in and out of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridhi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Definitely, a corner of paradise! Out of the touristic beaten track, but at the same time, not too far away (you can get to the beach of Bentota by a complementary 5 min boat ride). It is located on the riverside, with a large swimming pool and a beautiful garden on the premises. The hotel has only 6 spacious and well furnished rooms, which makes it very cosy! What you get as well is an exclusive personalised treatment by the staff, who are all very friendly local people that are really well trained. We stayed in the Waterside 3 nights, starting on New Year’s Eve and we have to say that every single detail was perfect from the start to the end!

We ate at the restaurant several times and the food was excellent (and very reasonably priced if you compare with other restaurants in the Bentota area). A special mention has to be made to the hearty breakfast (which is included in the nights’ price)!

The one hour free boat ride down the Bentota river with the very knowledgeable Chami, was one of the highlights of our stay.

Finally, we would like to thank Kamal, Amila, Lucky and all of the Waterside team for making our stay sooooo memorable!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you're looking for a tranquil setting away from the beaches, then the Waterside Bentota is certainly worth considering.
Located on the Bentota River, the Waterside offers just six rooms - providing plenty of privacy and peace & quiet - and great sunsets too!. There's a nice pool (although a little cold for my liking) and a free boat service to take you to the beaches and the Ayurvedic massage centre. They also give you a free one hour tour of the river - much recommended.
The rooms are lovely and the service is very attentive. We really enjoyed it here - although we paid much more for our stay here than in other places in Galle and Unawatuna so we were expecting it to be good.
The only downside was the food. Breakfast is good but avoid the Western dishes at dinner. We had steak and the steak & mushroom - both were very poor and required a lot of chewing! They did however replace the steak with prawns, which were good. The other complaint was the cost of food and drink - much more expensive than in other parts of Sri Lanka. And due to the remote location, it is difficult to go to other restarants or cafes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanMcAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I came to the Waterside on recommendation of a friend (who holidayed in Bentota from Dubai) after a flight from Australia well after midnight. In the morning I found that the place was simply wonderful and exactly what I like!
A six room villa on banks of Bentota river, a five minutes (free) boat ride from the river mouth and beaches, with a pool. Very peaceful, spotless, with most friendly staff making me feel almost an owner of the place.
I wish I could stay longer than two days and three nights and I hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have river, pool and garden views. Three rooms are on the ground floor and the other free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was our third visit to the Waterside and the first with a group of friends. Our previous visits have been with family. It always a risk recommending a hotel especially for New Years eve to a group of friends but our experiences of having stayed before along with the positive feedback of other people who have visited made us confident we would have a good time. Once again the Waterside delivered on all fronts. The location, staff and service is outstanding. Despite the somewhat luke warm review from 'coincidence" we found everything was just how we wanted it. Maybe we like staying in our "English grandmothers house" however this is like no other Gran's I have ever stayed in! Our friends loved the laid back style and really enjoyed the Sri Lankan food. Yes, the international menu could be described as safe but rather that than fussy nouveau cuisine that the chef isn't really up to cooking.
I can't see how rooms being too clean can be a drwaback to a hotel but hey ho whatever floats your boat. For us the Waterside provides the perfect getaway and we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a great view especially at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DohaRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

After a slightly harrowing cab ride from the airport, the Waterside Bentota was a welcome sight. The grounds are gorgeous and it is a nice, quite location. The hotel only has 6 rooms so it is unlikely that a visitor would encounter the type of mobs you get at the larger hotels. The staff is absolutely amazing and really go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. A great place to just wind-down and relax.

Room Tip: The second story balcony rooms afford a better sunset view in the evenings, but all of the room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.4 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.9 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.0 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bentota

Property: The Waterside Bentota
Address: Yathramulla Road | Yathramulla Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterside Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside is an elegant well maintained Villa with restaurant,which is situated in a unique riverside location,and has magnificent views over the wide Bentota Ganga. Waterside is popular with guests of all nationalities.We have 6 ensuite (with bathtub and shower) A/C rooms with bar fridge,fan and satellite TV.The large open restaurant serves delicious Sri Lankan and Western dishes as well as mouth watering seafood.During your stay you can relax by our pool which is only a few steps from all the rooms, whilst enjoying the surrounding mature tropical garden and river views.We offer complimentary boat transfer to nearby beach, water sports or town.If you require Ayuvedic massage we can recommend several treatment centres.Excursions and tours to all the magnificent sites in this beautiful island can be arranged.If you wish to explore the local area we provide bicycles or we can organise local scenic tuk tuk rides . Fishing trips ,bird watching and river trips are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterside Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Bentota Hotel Bentota
The Waterside Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing