We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterside Bentota
Nearby Hotels
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Janus Paradise Rest(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Villa(Bentota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
122
20
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
20
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree boat ridethe riverthe sri lankan currylocal pharmacyhotel boattuk tukfruit batsthree nightssmall roadboat servicesmall hotelfresh seafoodcooking lessonmotor boattrip to sri lankarooms are basiclocal wildlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed two nights in "The waterside". We just loved the place. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is great and the location is amazing.
We found very convenient the boat shutle to the beach and the complimentary boat trip was great.
We had a bad experience though with dinner. The meat we had was impossible to chew! We returned the food and the rest of the dinner was kind of akward... So, my recommendation is to take a tuk-tuk and head somewhere else for dinner.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank crammarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

everything about this small hotel adds to the growing sense of peace and relaxation that we experienced in our three days here. Plenty to do in the area but we just didn't want to....... especially when the owner lent me the sunday papers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

we had the pleasure of staying at this place for 2 nights with our 3 children age 2,3 and 7. The location is quite nice if it is not a must for you to stay right on the beach. beautiful view over the lake and a nice garden. very helpful and kind staff - and free 1-hour boat ride, which is definitely worthwile. would recommmend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zuzan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a two week trip and found this to be our favourite hotel. The food was some of the best we had in S.L. We took advantage of the boat and saw lots of birds and water monitors.The staff are all really friendly and will always have time for a chat and point out anything of interest.We loved the fly past every evening of the flying foxes and there return in the morning.We will definately stay here again on our next visit to S.L.
.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazzie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at The Waterside for 5 days during our vacation in Sri Lanka and every bit of our stay was awesome. The place is situated by the riverside and has a nice swimming pool and a garden. It has extremely hospitable staff and only 6 rooms that make it easier for the staff to cater to all its guests. We were traveling with our 10 month old baby and Waterside's staff made our stay extremely comfortable. It is situated in a quiet area but is very well connected to the rest of the city.

Room Tip: The three ground floor rooms are next to the swimming pool; so you can move in and out of your room to swim. This worked great for us because we could swim only when our 10 month old baby was asleep; so it was easier to keep checking on him :)
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ridhi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews