We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect start to our honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterside Bentota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterside Bentota
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We arrived here after a long flight and we were mostly the only occupants there for the 5 days.
The place is lovely, so quiet and the staff could not have been more friendly.
Perfect surroundings and equally fabulous food - especialy the curry, one of the best we tasted accross Sri Lanka.
The free boat trip was a highlight of our holiday - amazing! We saw so much and even held a crocodile!
Susan, Lucky and the other staff were brilliant and so we just wanted to write this review as we would definately recommend this place!
Thanks for making the start of our honeymoon so special x

Room Tip: all rooms have an amazing view, would recommend a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
589 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

After tearing around Northern India by train, plane, rickshaw and taxi five days here was a perfect rest up for us. Great weather, great location lovely food and the staff Lucky, Nuwan and especially Chammy and Suresh were brilliant. The hotel has six rooms for our stay there was only us it was like having a huge villa to ourselves. Try the Sri Lankan breakfast at least once 'string hoppers' or noodles with a fish curry and dhal just lovely and to let you into a secret toast tastes even better when dipped in the curry sauce. You can have eggs and bacon as well as a host of other things. We loved the boat trip to the beach and loved the walk back about a mile no more. A great place go and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I chose this property over the Taj and that's not something a regular Indian would do in Bentota. And, thank God for that. We just loved our stay here. The hotel is not a budget property, mind you, but it's true value for every $ spent. The approach to the property is through winding narrow roads and you start getting jitters, whether you made the right decision.

Once, you enter the property, it's like finding a nice sweet spot on a picnic trip. It's quiet, it's on the river and it is beautiful. The hotel is very very nice and the white rooms and the white furniture almost makes you feel you are in some nice place. Something like a bungalow right out of the tea gardens in Eastern India.

The staff is very friendly and they went out of their way to take care of our needs. It's a small property so don't expect 24X7 room service with a 20 page menu. They have a set menu from which you can choose your food.

We requested a lot of local food and the chef agreed to treat us to the SL fare, which was very good. Breakfast is a continental affair and you don't mind that after a heavy spicy dinner.

We met the owner, Ms Susan for breakfast and she was a nice person to interact with.

The motor boat the hotel owns acts as a shuttle between the beach and the hotel, which is a big relief. The ride across the mangroves is a short one but you almost feel like you are in Sunderbans as you are navigated across the low hanging branches of the mangroves.

We saw a lot of monitors lazing on the river banks and the kids were pretty excited to see some impromptu wildlife.

I think we spent too little time in the hotel. This is the place you should come and just chill for a week and forget about the world.

I would definitely be coming back next year and this time it would be a longer stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. but the ones next to the pool on the Ground Floor are interconnected an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Iceman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Waterside bentota has it all - great location, staff, food and facilities. Nothing is too much trouble for Madame Susan and her team.

Waterside is a great base to explore the best that Sri Lanka has to offer - turtles, elephants, beaches, watersports ...all in a fantastic small, homely place. Each room is clean and spacious and they have a balcony overlooking the pool and lake. Meals are prepared to order and served by the best staff we encountered on our trip.

You won't regret picking the waterside

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kraze18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed two nights in "The waterside". We just loved the place. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is great and the location is amazing.
We found very convenient the boat shutle to the beach and the complimentary boat trip was great.
We had a bad experience though with dinner. The meat we had was impossible to chew! We returned the food and the rest of the dinner was kind of akward... So, my recommendation is to take a tuk-tuk and head somewhere else for dinner.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank crammarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

everything about this small hotel adds to the growing sense of peace and relaxation that we experienced in our three days here. Plenty to do in the area but we just didn't want to....... especially when the owner lent me the sunday papers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

we had the pleasure of staying at this place for 2 nights with our 3 children age 2,3 and 7. The location is quite nice if it is not a must for you to stay right on the beach. beautiful view over the lake and a nice garden. very helpful and kind staff - and free 1-hour boat ride, which is definitely worthwile. would recommmend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuzan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bentota

Property: The Waterside Bentota
Address: Yathramulla Road | Yathramulla Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterside Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside is an elegant well maintained Villa with restaurant,which is situated in a unique riverside location,and has magnificent views over the wide Bentota Ganga. Waterside is popular with guests of all nationalities.We have 6 ensuite (with bathtub and shower) A/C rooms with bar fridge,fan and satellite TV.The large open restaurant serves delicious Sri Lankan and Western dishes as well as mouth watering seafood.During your stay you can relax by our pool which is only a few steps from all the rooms, whilst enjoying the surrounding mature tropical garden and river views.We offer complimentary boat transfer to nearby beach, water sports or town.If you require Ayuvedic massage we can recommend several treatment centres.Excursions and tours to all the magnificent sites in this beautiful island can be arranged.If you wish to explore the local area we provide bicycles or we can organise local scenic tuk tuk rides . Fishing trips ,bird watching and river trips are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterside Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Bentota Hotel Bentota
The Waterside Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing