We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but overpriced and no Sri Lankan hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterside Bentota
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely but overpriced and no Sri Lankan hospitality”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Hotel Bentota was lovely (the rooms light and airy) but of all of the places we stayed in Sri Lankan it was the only hotel that did not treat our driver with hospitality. For example, while we were offered juice upon arrival (a traditional way to welcome guests) he was not. I would suggest that there are probably other places in Bentota that would provide a better value and better hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debfromvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a nice place but not on the beach. It's 5-10 minutes by boat. The staff took us to the beach and picked us up when agreed. The place itself if nice with a pool and pretty riverside view. It was quiet when we stayed so had the place to ourselves. The staff were helpful, possibly a little too attentive. The food was nice but the seafood very overpriced. It's cheaper in the restaurants in Bentota. Overall a restful stay but we were not overwhelmed. I'm not sure it deserves its second best hotel placing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel did not live up to expectations, given it was in a nice quiet location, the staff were friendly enough but it struck us as a ship running without a rudder. There was little or no management presence and considering the number of guests totalled only 8 during our 3 night stay the service was poor. Luncheon remennants took over 3 hours to clear away and the presence of a local beach boy a former employee who appeared to be fornicating in the pool with an elderly Estonian women considerably impacted on our enjoyment . We only ate in the hotel the first evening and the food was acceptable but were made to feel uncomfortable by the antics of the beach boy and women at dinner and breakfast. I am sure the English owner , had she not been in the UK would have dealt with the problem concerned. This hotel was definitely the worst one we stayed at during our two week trip around Sri Lanka. The staff seemed bored at times and needed proper customer service training. I concurr with another review recently posted in this regard. This hotel could be superb but fell short of many expectations. Lucky was efficient and attentive and worth a mention above the other staff. Needless to say we would not recommend this hotel. A very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I spent a very enjoyable three nights at The Waterside last week following a tour of Sri Lanka and it was the perfect place to relax and unwind before heading home. Apologies that I don't recall the name of the gentleman co-owner we chatted to but he was very welcoming and took time to have a long chat with us on a couple of evenings, he told us that it's the intention of staff to create a home from home and they really excel at it! Lucky showed us to our room on our first evening and encouraged us to ask for anything we needed and we really felt that nothing would be too much trouble.

We visited the Bentota beach area two days during our stay and I have to say that the long strip of more expensive hotels along the beach seemed very unappealing and anonymous in comparison to the smaller, more homely retreat we were staying at. The setting of The Waterside is just beautiful, the garden and pool areas are very relaxing and maintained to a high standard and the outlook over the river is beautiful. We watched bats flying overhead in the evenings and could hear all kinds of wildlife round about, we even saw a possum crossing the lawn!

Our first floor room was very comfortable and large with an attractive outlook across the garden and pool (as all the rooms have). We had a very large balcony which was a real sun-trap. The bathroom is a little outdated but perfectly adequate, however perhaps a shower curtain or shower screen over the bath would be a good addition as we found it difficult not to wet the floor around the bath when showering - our bathmat was always replaced however and it wasn't an issue. Lucky is very speedy and efficient at cleaning rooms in the mornings, no sooner had we walked down to breakfast than he'd wave to us from our balcony while sweeping up!

What can I say about the staff? They were just wonderful and I wanted to book them flights to come and look after us at home in England! We got to know them well during our stay and the two cheeky chappies who serve meals in the restaurant area were an absolute pleasure to chat to and had a wicked sense of humour! Although the English lady owner was on holiday herself during our stay and we didn't meet her, I was incredibly touched by the stories I heard about her and how dedicated she is to providing work for young local people, not to mention supporting the redevelopment of a local school following the tragedy of the tsunami. She has trained her staff to the most minute detail so that you feel as though you're in a silver service restaurant and they tend to your every need but not in an overpowering or intrusive way.

The food at breakfast was very good (a choice of the usual hot breakfast dishes, cereal, a never ending supply of toast etc) and in the evenings the large food options from the a la carte menu was just outstanding. We ate there for the three nights and were never disappointed with the range of Sri Lankan curries and more western meals on offer; my husband had chicken and leek pie and mash one evening and we didn't expect to see that on the menu! One evening I had a fish curry with the largest serving of rice I've ever seen and maybe eight smaller accompaniments from lentil dahl to spicy vegetables, it was just delicious and such a generous amount of food for one serving (needless to say I was unable to eat everything!). The restaurant is open to non-guests and some local people ate there one evening which indicates how good it is.

One of the restaurant staff offered to take us on a walking tour of the surrounding village one morning and we started has his Buddhist temple which was nearby. The monks there were welcoming and showed us their herb and spice garden, as well as their collection of historic scriptures, it was very interesting and we enjoyed spending some time with our unofficial guide for the morning.

I'm so pleased we chose this hotel for our final few days, I would have been disappointed to have missed out on somewhere so peaceful and enjoyable - I highly recommend it to anyone. Don't let the distance from the beach deter you as Chami kindly took us across to the beach area by boat and collected us again each day at a time to suit us and it was only around a 10 minute crossing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLeeSoulsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A unique opportunity to experience a small but friendly set up with excellent food. It's a tranquil getaway and only a short boatride away from the big hotels and beaches.
We held a wedding reception at Waterside for about 75 guests. They met our every need.
The time and service given was very personal Anyone wishing a tranquil break or a function location that is not ostentatious should consider it.

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the Lagoon. If you would prefer the upper level then that might be an option. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nazneen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We chose the Waterside for the end of our Sri Lankan Holiday as it looked like the ideal place for some rest and relaxation after a hectic two weeks touring around Sri Lanka. We stayed for four nights and we weren't disappointed it was just lovely, a quiet riverside location just a few minutes across the river by a free boat ride from the hustle and bustle of Bentota, we had a spacious room with a balcony looking over the pretty gardens and the river, it was spotlessly clean. The friendly and helpful staff looked after our every need and the food in the restaurant was very good, make sure you try the fresh seafood and the Sri Lankan curry. the birding trip at dawn through the mangroves was excellent as were the tuk tuk trips we did. we also loved the swimming pool, just the place to cool off. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent the last two nights of our 14 night holiday at the Waterside and it was the perfect end to a fantastic holiday. The location is great, set on the side of a lake and the bedrooms are spacious and clean. We had three lovely meals every day in the restaurant and the staff were very accommodating and friendly, even surprising us with a cake and decorations for breakfast on my boyfriend's birthday.The Waterside is the perfect place to stay if you want to chill out in a beautiful setting with staff that go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bentota

Property: The Waterside Bentota
Address: Yathramulla Road | Yathramulla Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#5 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterside Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside is an elegant well maintained Villa with restaurant,which is situated in a unique riverside location,and has magnificent views over the wide Bentota Ganga. Waterside is popular with guests of all nationalities.We have 6 ensuite (with bathtub and shower) A/C rooms with bar fridge,fan and satellite TV.The large open restaurant serves delicious Sri Lankan and Western dishes as well as mouth watering seafood.During your stay you can relax by our pool which is only a few steps from all the rooms, whilst enjoying the surrounding mature tropical garden and river views.We offer complimentary boat transfer to nearby beach, water sports or town.If you require Ayuvedic massage we can recommend several treatment centres.Excursions and tours to all the magnificent sites in this beautiful island can be arranged.If you wish to explore the local area we provide bicycles or we can organise local scenic tuk tuk rides . Fishing trips ,bird watching and river trips are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Waterside Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Bentota Hotel Bentota
The Waterside Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing