We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The garden is amazing, the staff is like family, the interior is breathtaking and the food is delicious. Just go. We had a great time at the pool, going to the beach, visiting tempels, playing cards, relaxing in the garden, playing in the garden, doing yoga - relaxing ! Michelle Hviid, Denmark

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleHviid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had three nights at Nisala Arana last month for my sister's wedding. A beautiful venue - hard to capture in a photo! It's the kind of place we'd been hoping to stay at in Sri Lanka - a little piece of paradise.

The wedding itself was amazing.

Great food, and the staff were fantastic. Especially Jerome, who looked after us very well. Many thanks to all of the staff!

Would love to stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank J3308GLalexm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We rolled into Bentota during the final two or three days of our amazing trip to Sri Lanka. Nisala Arana was a wonderful and relaxing sanctuary for us. We found it to be just the right size in terms or rooms, and everything was wonderfully presented. The room was perfectly set up and had everything we needed, including an outdoor shower! The grounds are absolutely beautiful, which explains why so many people have weddings there. Dinner at the hotel was a treat. Every meal, while dominated by curry (as pretty much every meal in Sri Lanka is), was excellently prepared. Because my 8 year old daughter is a big fan of the spicier curry dishes, they were always happy to accommodate her. On our last night, they prepared an absolutely fish dish, using many local and exotic spices, and it ended up being one of our favorite meals on the trip.

I can't end my review without specially recognizing they staff that attended to our every need. They were friendly and particularly accommodating to my daughter, who leans to the shy side--even doing a series of card tricks, which she is now repeating to her friends.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. By the way, we intentionally stayed in Bentota for our last night because we wanted to be closer to the airport when we left the last day. There are great places further south and east, but Nisala Arana was the perfect hotel in the perfect location for our needs.

Room Tip: We loved our room. We understand that some of the other rooms have air conditioning. Ours did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We got married at Nisala Arana last month and we couldn't have asked for more. We left all of the planning up to the Manager Ben so most of the events of the night were a surprise to us as well as our guest. The day just kept getting better and better as it went on. We had a traditional Sri Lankan ceremony with the Kandian dancers and drummers in the beautiful grounds of the hotel. We were then taken to the beach in the Morris Miner were we enjoyed champagne while the sun set, we rode an actual elephant on the beach and enjoyed a traditional sitar band.

We were then taken back to Nisala where the garden had transformed into a magical paradise with amazing lights through the trees, a world class band and the night finished off with a firework show.

We had nibbles and a sea food feast and all 30 of our guests commented that it was the best wedding they had ever been to.

What we could have at the wedding because we were in Sri Lanka was incredible. We didn't have to lift a finger to organize anything. The whole thing was professional, heaps of fun and more importantly created memories that will last a lifetime.

Thank you so much for the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

An absolutely beautiful place.....felt like paradise! I was on a yoga trip and the surrounding beauty of Nasala Arana was magic.

Wonderful food, great people (Veb, Jerome, Tony, Senna et al) who really looked after us.....I didn't want to leave!

They should sort the ventilation/air conditioning of the small room in the doctors house but apart from that, I had a super time.


Sri Lanka is a gorgeous country and I'll definitely will be back x

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Franjelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nisala Arana is one of the most amazing luxury boutique hotels I've ever stayed at , have a look on their website ..the photo gallery will give you some idea what I'm talking about...food is exquisite with European and Asia tastes. The atmosphere that you experience and the relaxation will be so refreshing to body and soul ...I feel very privileged to have experience Nisala Arana also travelling into Colombo and staying at Mt Lavinia Lodge. It is an oasis to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life ...again look at the web-site...I will definitely book at the two boutique hotels again

Room Tip: I didnt score the fitness centre or spa as you can have a fantastic massage, there is a badminton c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue31122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We returned this time to show Nisala Arana to our parents / parents-in-law. They were as taken and bowled over by the beauty of the place and Bentota village as what we were on our first visit. We are well traveled and this is the place we will always return to for relaxation, reflection and an immersion of west coast Sri Lanka's beauty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
921 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
1.8 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 26 in Bentota
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel

Address: 326/1 Circular Road | Kommala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range: £100 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisala Arana, a luxury Boutique Hotel amidst lush greenery and spacious tropical gardens, minutes from the beach. The Doctor's House, Coconut & Mango Villas offer six beautifully appointed colonial style bedroom suites. The freshwater pool, yoga inspiring gardens and open pavilion where delicious cuisine is accompanied by fine wines, make this hotel one of the finest discoveries in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisala Arana Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing