We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Susanthas
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$163
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$76
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Janus Paradise Rest(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
21
28
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
28
8
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at the nearby Serendib Hotel on Bentota Beach but took every opportunity to escape that concrete jungle to enjoy freshly prepared food and reasonably priced drinks at Susantha'a restaurant/bar. It was an attractive garden setting, with a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and happy to welcome guests from the larger hotels. We had lunch there most days, taking advantage of a wide selection of dishes... both traditional and international. Spent some pleasant evenings there, having a few drinks. The local Lion beer was much cheaper than at the Serendib, where the bars were grim. Our friends Tom & Tracey were particularly pleased with the gin as it wasn't too strong!!

Graeme & Tricia, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank GraemePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I was in bentota during september, although i did not stay at Susanthas, I cannot praise the staff enough. Susanthas was my daily lunchtime venue and also in the evenings sometimes. The staff are so attentive, friendly and just fantastic. You cannot fault the service there at all. The food was great and reasonable price too. I plan to return to Bentota in November and will hopefully be staying at Susanthas.

Hi to all the staff and thank you for making my lunchtime afternoons so memorable

Ange (Saudi Arabia)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellermiddle_east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I stayed here for two nights; the staff were very kind and friendly, going out of their way to help me. The food was also great. The room was big enough and had a good sized bathroom. However, there were a lot of bugs. The mosquito nets need to be washed because there are all these dead bugs clinging to them (which makes it difficult to move them and not have bugs get on your bed!). Roaches were a bit of a problem too, though they might usually be in such a humid area? I have no idea. If you're really wanting to stay in Bentota and are on a budget, this is still a do-able option. Maybe ask to see a room first though.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chanerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2008

The Susanthas Hotel at Bentota, Sri Lanka is a wonderfull small hotel. The Hotel has 18 Rooms in different sizes and categories. i stayed there 3 weeks in a one of their standart rooms. They equiped with a comfortable bed room, bath room (only a cold water shower, Terrace ( with 2 Chairs and a table), ceiling fan, mosquito net. The rooms get cleaned every day and they are also very cleam

The Staff and the Manager are very helpful and nice. They have an open ear for everything you need. If you have an question or need a nything organized, they doing it fast and very good

The Restaurant is very good and cheap. You can get for example Vegetable fried rice with a curry for 320 Rupees. The Reataurant Staff is also excellent.

All the Staff speak english and some of them also german.

So thats all from me for now and i recommend this hotel for everyone who wants a nice, peaceful, quiet holiday in Bentota.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BjoernGrewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

5 years ago, me and my wife stayed in the susanthas. We have benn over 10 times in Sri Lanka and we realy enjoyed our stay in this lovely friendly small hotel. It was our hideaway for 10 days.

This year we decided again to stay at the susanthas and we did not regret ist. We recognized it immedeately and only few things had changed since the fife past years. The manager and all the staff where as friendly as ever and allways very helpful. They not only pretend friendliness, they really mean it.

If you for instance fancy something special to eat, they will organzize it in the right way. If you need help or if you have to organize something or check on something, they will do their best for you and up to now we allways could relie on their help.

The restaurant offers a wide variety on local and european food and many visitors come from outside just to enjoy the good food and the fast and friendly service.

The rooms havent chanched since 5 years. They are cleaned every day and the roomboys do their job well.

We enjoyed our 12days stay in susanthas once more very much and I am sure that we will visit this charming place as soon as possible again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chris030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews