We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scammers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bentota Village
Ranked #11 of 66 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had booked 4 rooms through Agoda. When we reached we were diverted to another hotel and asked to stay there because they had overbooked the original location. This other location was still under construction and had half the amenities as the Bentota village we had booked for. We denied it and retured to the main hotel where we were made to wait for 2 hours without even offered some water. After many calls to Agoda, we were able to get another hotel.

While waiting we were treated badly and intimidated by some of their staff. Stay away from here and especially booking online!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthick_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

We booked this hotel through booking.com and when we pulled up at its entrance our drivers were told in Sinhalese to wait as we wouldn't be staying there; while we were made to go through the charade of a lady pretending to look at our booking and saying there must be a mistake, their fault, as they had no room and we must go to their other hotel for the same price. Their other hotel had no pool and was even further from town and we wasted no time telling them that we were not interested. Obviously a scam to try and get people into their new, younger hotel.
Our driver recommended us another hotel and we stayed there. The story doesn't end happily yet though with the hotel telling booking.com we were a 'no show' and booking.com currently charging us a cancellation fee of $100- which we are contesting.
Not worth the trouble!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were during our Honeymoon trip, and we had no choice then this hotel because of very late decision for the trip to Sri Lanka. We booked the hotel directly at their website, without any prepayment.

Our first impression at the entry to the hotel was quite disappointing, as we were expecting much bigger hotel. But from the entrance their very kind attention to us added such positive emotions. That was continuing during all our stay.

The room was on the second floor, balcony looking to the swimming pool. Room was spacious, clean, no smelling. Each day our bed was covered with fresh flowers. Towels were changed each day.

If you are in Sri Lanka you should expect all kind of insects, and of course, mosquitoes. But we were lucky, that did not have them in the room, as were trying to keep light off during evening time, and the door closed. In the balcony there were this special smokes provided each day against mosquitoes, and it was helpful.

The garden was so marvelous. Seeing how they were taking care of every flower each morning was inspiring with more respect and love to this place.

What was one of the most positive things here too- the silence. That’s why we start to love this place as one can seat at balcony or near the pool and without lots of voices around, chaotic movements etc, what mostly can be seen at large hotels.

We were not at the ocean side directly, which can be thought as a negative point, but the tuktuk (small vehicles in all Sri Lanka), was taking us to the seaside and back each day we wonted (free of charge, unless you would like to give some tips). The beach they were taking us was belong to the owner of the hotel, and GREAT place to relax, as that was not crowded. Most of the days were we only visitors, which made us to feel in paradise.

Meals (we had HB) were not plenty of choice, but tasty, especially for the dinners. The breakfast can be improved a bit, but you will not stay hungry. The cook was asking every day if the dinner is good and delicious, even he was taking care of you, to try every meal he cooked.

The very friendly atmosphere, nice food, lovely views, clean and comfortable rooms, beautiful seaside- what else one needs to enjoy his vacation?

I only can not understand why booking.com rated this hotel as two starts. At the time of our booking they even did not have this hotel in their list, now I was surprised with that star rate. OK, I would rate it at list 3+, but if you appreciate the feeling of comfort and quietness, smile and helpfulness, then it can go for 4+.
Well, you should decide what you need for the best for your stay.

Room Tip: Just try to discuss about it with owners or administration before your trip. I did not enter the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RafaelloYerevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I spent there one night as a part of package trip, it's well decorated, spacious rooms but very filthy; bad smell nasty linen and when i asked the room service to change they brought the same nasty pillows with different pillowcases. i like the seats in front of my room watching the nice swimming pool. breakfast was limited, the staff were misleading so good idea not to ask them and the private beach is far from the hotel and the facility there was still under construction

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaniY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Hi all who may be thinking of booking this great hotel. Me and my wife stayed here for 8 days on our first trip to Sri Lanka. On arrival, there was a warm welcome from the staff and during our stay we got to know many of them quite well, like Kumar, Podi, the restaurant staff and the driver for the hotel Massie.
My wife is in a wheelchair which was no problem in this hotel- most amenities are on the ground floor, as was our room.
In addition, I would recommend this hotel and booking any tours from here as we later found out that Kumar can organise these for a good price. Podi (tuk tuk driver) is a very helpful and genuine guy who will take you on a day trip where ever you want to go. We went on a day trip to Galle, stopping off at many places of interest that he knew along the way, and he continued to look after us for the remainder of our stay of 3 weeks in Sri Lanka.
As well as this, the food was great at the hotel and the swimming pool and garden are well looked after. When it was our time to leave Bentota for Yala national park, Kumar (the owner of the hotel) drove us the 4 to 5 hour journey to our next hotel for a good price. He also picked us up in 4 days to take us back to Waskaduwa (to another hotel) which was about 35 mins from Bentota. Unfortunately, when I wanted to go out I found the other tuk tuk drivers outside were charging far too much for short journeys. Therefore, we decided to phone Podi from Hotel Bentota Village and he came the next day to take us out. We knew we would be looked after when we were with Podi.
We also arranged to visit Kandy through Kumar as he was more reasonable than other tour operators. Kumar is a very kind hearted man and a friend to all his staff and guests staying at his hotel.
As we began our trip to Kandy, Podi and Massie picked us up from our hotel in Waskaduwa and drove us there. On the way we stopped at Pinnawela elephant orphanage, and spent the next 2 days in Kandy. Podi and Massie were there to take us to see things as we pleased.
Overall, we could not recommend the staff at Hotel Bentota Village more highly, and cannot wait to go back there again. We truly feel that we have made friends we will stay in contact with upon returning from our holiday. We wish Kumar and his staff all the best in the future.

Scott and Emma
From London, United Kingdom

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had one night at this lovely hotel this month. It was lovely to sit by the pool amongst the beautiful trees and plants. We had lunch and breakfast here and the food was very good. The room was a great size too. I found the staff to be very friendly, albeit a little slow with service. I travelled with my two youngest and although the hotel was lovely, it is not really child friendly as everyone sitting by the pool were just quietly reading! We didn't see any other children there. It was fine though just for one night, but I wouldn't take the kids there for any longer as it was a much quieter hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertwanderer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

It's now my 8th trip to Sri Lanka and my 5th trip to Bentota Village Hotel and I still find it an uncomparably good place to stay. Not only the hotel rooms are very tasteful and clean compared to other hotels. Also the food is very good and for leisure time there is a wonderful extremly clean and big pool where you can really swim and not just only cool down for a minute.
Unlike Mrs. LeedsNomad (see review below) I experienced the management and the staff very competent and extremely friendly and caring. I don't know what happened to Mrs. LeedsNomad that she was so frustrated to state such an unfair and in my eyes completely unjustified review, but I never had any similar experience like her.
Me traveling as a single female person should be the first to be addressed by the beach boys, but there were NEVER beach boys at THIS hotel. Of course there are other sri lankan men (e.g. managers from other hotels, business men who want to organize events at this hotel etc.). Obviously for Mrs. LeedsNomad every sri lankan man is a beach boy!
Regarding the ayurvedic treatments I had extremely good experience. Not only the ayurvedic doctor is highly competent although she's rather young but also the whole therapist team does an excellent job.
Compared to other hotels the price-value at the Bentota Village Hotel is much more than good! You really get a lot for your money. Not to forget that it's a really beautiful and peaceful place with only 14 rooms and with usually very nice guests. But obviously sometimes there are exeptions ;-)
I definitely will come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveljakobine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.3 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
922 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bentota Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bentota Village

Address: Alwis Road, Warahena, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: £31 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bentota Village 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Bentota, Sri Lanka star rated luxury Village Hotel. Spacious and sophisticated, each guestroom is outfitted in stylish decor and exotic, native materials. King size bed, fan, TV, bathroom, telephone, air-condition, garden view balcony, hot / cold water, mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bentota Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing