We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bentota Village
Ranked #14 of 63 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Me and my wife spent the last New Year's Eve at this hotel. Be informed that they have two hotel locations: the main one close to the river (even though you have no access to the river through the hotel) and the beachfront one. We stayed in the second one which by the way had no pool and wi-fi. The room was considerably good with new furniture, clean bed sheet and spacious. The service needs to be improved, considering the price. The food was also good, but we got impressed with the bill in the end, it was too expensive. There is not much to do in Bentota and we strongly recommend Mirissa instead.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank dmasanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

calm & Serene place.
loved the pool which is in the centre of the resort.

Only thing which was missing was it wasn't beach side.

however Bentota is not the place you should be picking to stay, suggest one travels further south for better beaches and more options of scuba, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premasankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I loved this place, quiet and just 2 minutes away from the beach, Staff are the best that I have seen, Manager does his best to make you feel at home, Good size pool well looked after,
Two really good chiefs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richarddxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

In all fairness, I have to give this hotel null points. We booked it 6 months in advance and confirmed the booking no less than 3 times, including shortly before setting off for the flight to Sri Lanka. We'd arranged airport pick up, which was there waiting. We were taken to their brand new sister hotel - "superior room at same price" - which was not what we booked and was not one we'd have selected for ourselves.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank BobHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

They overbooked rooms and then tried to offer rooms at some other hotel which had not even started. They were least bothered about us and did not care. We were there for at least 2 hours but they did not not show any kind of courtesy to us. I would really feel that this hotel reservation is not dependable and it does not have professional management.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank a_chechani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We made our booking of 4 rooms through Agoda and paid for it months in advance. We even called before arriving at Bentota Village! On arrival, the manager saw us and went away in an auto, made us wait for an hour and 45 mins, came back and pretended like she just got there! Then we were told there had been some errors and the rooms we had booked had been given away to someone else but they could put us up at their other hotel! The management was very indifferent, didn't seem to care about their oversight, and not at all hospitable! If the management had been even a little bit sorry about it, or tried to make us comfortable while we were kept waiting outside the hotel i could still have passed it off as a simple oversight.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank rollingshoes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had booked 4 rooms through Agoda. When we reached we were diverted to another hotel and asked to stay there because they had overbooked the original location. This other location was still under construction and had half the amenities as the Bentota village we had booked for. We denied it and retured to the main hotel where we were made to wait for 2 hours without even offered some water. After many calls to Agoda, we were able to get another hotel.

While waiting we were treated badly and intimidated by some of their staff. Stay away from here and especially booking online!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthick_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.3 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.3 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bentota Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bentota Village

Address: Alwis Road, Warahena, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: £29 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bentota Village 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Bentota, Sri Lanka star rated luxury Village Hotel. Spacious and sophisticated, each guestroom is outfitted in stylish decor and exotic, native materials. King size bed, fan, TV, bathroom, telephone, air-condition, garden view balcony, hot / cold water, mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bentota Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing