We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than ever !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than ever !”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was our third visit to the villa - once again exceeded all expectations. We always take the top villa so that we can have breakfast with a wonderful view of the jungle [and the monkeys!]. The wildlife is amazing - particularly the short walk down the lane to the beach. The beach is spectacular and very quiet. The villa itself is pure heaven - you can relax by the beautiful pool - take a massage - chat to other guests [hello to eveyone we met - pleasure meeting you all]. Although we did venture out to a couple of restaturants in bentota - the best and freshest food you will ever eat will be the home cooking - you can request anything you want - Ishan the chef attempted his first coq-au-van - it was fantastic. We 100% recemmend the villa for the perfect 'get way from it all'. Lots love to all at the villa [not forgetting the dogs Bobby and Maisey]. Carol & Mark xxxx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReahManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed at Shangri-Lanka for 4 nights in March 2012. The accommodation was lovely, clean and spacious and the gardens and pool- gorgeous! It was a bit further from town and the beach than we expected but still only a short Tuk Tuk ride away. A lovely guest house.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarbooger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Trip Advisor to the rescue again! Unfortunately I wasn't fast enough to be able to book a room in Shangri Lanka for our entire visit, but Karen was kind enough to help us arrange a tour of the up country before heading south for a few days of doing absolutely nothing (and loving it!) in Bentota. Rohan, Karen's husband, was our guide to Kandy and Dambulla. He wasn't like your typical chatty tour guide, but after a couple days he warmed up to us and all of my silly little questions.
Our stay at the villas was absolutely wonderful. All of the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was fantastic! I highly recommend you ask to book room 1, the suite on the ground floor, just steps away from the pool. This allowed us the chance to chat with everyone else in the house and to just pop over to the kitchen to put in our orders for our meals. Have your dinners outside in the garden. We met some fantastic fellow travelers and had a great time getting to know everyone else that had stumbled up this little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambrosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Shangri Lanka Villa experience was exceptional starting even before we booked all the way through to our check-out. The two of us our quite picky about cleanliness and therefore have usually played it safe by staying in 5* hotels. That has now changed.

From the time we were deciding where to stay, Karen was extremely prompt in replying to all emails with questions, not just about the place but also about activities to do when we arrived there. Once we got to the Shangri Lanka, we loved the quaint charm of the place and the lovely large rooms, spotless bathrooms, free internet (with net-book thrown in) and of course the warmth of Karen, Rohan and the two lovely dogs, Bobby and Maisy.

What impressed us was the personal attention that we got throughout our stay, from restaurant recommendations to activity advice, whenever we asked for it. The food at the Shangri Lanka is excellent. Unfortunately, since we wanted to explore the local restaurants, we ate only one meal at the Shangri Lanka and it was excellent.

On two days, we took long trips, whale-watching and white-water rafting, that were arranged by Rohan. In fact, Rohan took us for the whale-watching trip to Mirissa which was absolutely spectacular (a MUST DO for anyone with even a passing interest in nature)! On the way back, he drove us through Hikkaduwa and took us to a terrific restaurant for lunch. The white-water rafting, on the other hand, was not great - not many rapids and plenty of dirty soap suds floating around in the water from people washing clothes and themselves in the river. Plus it is a seven hour round trip to the place. So if you have gone rafting before then you can safely avoid it.

All in all, Shangri Lanka is highly recommended to all people visiting Bentota. Thanks Karen and Rohan for being such wonderful hosts on a most memorable vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room above the main house and found it perfectly acceptable. The top floor room may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We just returned from 10 days in Sri Lanka - we had a wonderful time in a friendly, safe, diverse and beautiful country. We centred at Shangri-Lanka which is a beautiful boutique villa. It is intimate, of a high standard, well sited and has great amenities. The rooms are spacious, well fitted and authentic. They are kept immaculately clean and well servcied with air-con, fridge, internet, loads of sockets, bath/shower, etc. etc. - all of which is kept immaculate on a daily basis by the friendly and efficient staff.

The staff are always available and look after your every need - yet are also unobtrusive and leave you in peace and tranquility. You can have high quality food at every sitting or do your own thing, drinks of all types are always available and all at very reasonable prices.

Rohan and Karen are great hosts and are very attentive - they arranged trips for us, guides, money exchange, tuk-tuks and gave their time freely and their expertise and advice - but only when asked. They really are lovely people.

We enjoy being relatively independany travellers but welcomed their unassuming help - they arranged us a safari, a river safari, trips to temples, Tea plantations, different towns and sights, an elephant sactuary - as well as the transport, guides and hotels while travelling round - and as well as picking us up from the airport they knocked the price of the room for the last night we booked and a transfer when we booked a tour away to Kandy for the last 2 days.

The Villa has beautiful gardens and a lovely, clean pool - and is private and very quiet.

It is well located for the beautiful beach which hardly has a soul on it - we loved the beach - golden sands and no hassel or hawkers - and most of the time you were almost the only people there.

It is also close to a turtle sanctuary where we released 2 day old turtles into the sea. It is close to the town, hotels, restaurants, etc. Yet just far enough down a lovely lane to be private and exclusive.

A big thank you for a lovely holioday that I would recommend to anyone and everyone!!!

Paul & Alison

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is an amazing place to stay. I can only describe the experience as unique. Karen and Rohan are perfect hosts and we immediately felt at home and were made to feel most welcome. All the staff at Shangri Lanka villa are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The accomodation is absolutely spotless and of a very high standard. We were lucky to spend our two weeks with some lovely people and the pig roast, curry, fish, takeaway and the sri lankan breakfast were all very memorable. Whilst there we took a three night tour which was arranged by Karen and Rohan. Once again this was extremely professional and we experienced some wonderful sights of Sri Lanka. I would have no hestitation in recommending this villa and hope that we can return sometime in the future. However please don't take my word for it, book it I know you will not regret it. This trip will remain in my memory for a long long time. Thank you to everybody at Shangri Lanka Villa for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie807937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was our second visit to the Shangri Lanka Villa and as soon as we walked through the gates we were given a warm welcome by Karen, Rohan and the two dogs, Bobby & Mazy. Just like on our first visit, we were immediately made to feel at home. Every other guest that we spoke to during our stay said the same thing: as soon as you walk through the gates of the villa, you feel relaxed. We stayed in the ground floor room for ten nights, which was lovely, as it has the biggest and most tastefully decorated bathroom that we have ever seen! Inside the room Karen has added lots of personal touches with the décor, which is such a welcome relief to the cold clinical style of the majority of hotel rooms. When you sit on your private balcony on the ground floor, it feels as though you are truly part of a tropical garden. In addition, in only a few steps, you have the use of a pristinely clean pool. There are no fights for sun beds around the pool and by nine in the morning the boys had laid out clean towels and huge umbrellas for every guest.

The staff consists of a team of four: a massage lady, who we would definitely recommend, as you can have a lovely relaxing massage in the quaint little massage building by the pool. As you are being pampered, you can listen to the sound of the tropical birds, and if the wind is in the right direction you can sometimes also hear the sea. The other members of the team are three lads: Charminda, Dammit and Ishan who were all courteous, pleasant and helpful at all times. We would like to pay particular compliments to Ishan for his cooking skills, as he cooked us a feast of lobster and giant prawns that was awesome; and all for a very reasonable price. We also enjoyed talking to him about the local area and he always went out of his way to be helpful without being over imposing. If you want to eat at the Shangri Lanka, you will not be disappointed, as the food is excellent and the portions ample. The wine is also good and can be bought by the bottle or by the glass. It is all high quality wine, and you won’t be palmed off with cheap house wine, like some other establishments in Bentota. They also have a large modern style fridge which meant the beer, wine and soft drinks were always served ice cold!

The rooms, gardens and general areas were kept spotlessly clean. In some hotels dirty crockery can be left lying around for ages, but this is something that you won’t see at Shangri Lanka. Crockery and used glasses were discretely but efficiently cleaned away as soon as you finished your meal or drinks, but at no time did we ever feel rushed.

The two dogs were a delight, and even if you are not a dog person, we do not think it would be a problem, as like most dogs, Bobby and Mazy seem to know who wants them around and who doesn’t!! They both have lovely natures and personalities; and if you’re a cuddle person, then Mazy is your girl!! Bobby has a great character and is definitely the most handsome dog in town!

The villa is a two minute tuk-tuk drive to the beach, which Karen will always readily organise for you. If you fancy a walk, the journey will take ten or fifteen minutes, depending on how fast you are walking and it is definitely worth taking the walk at least once just to see the beautiful birds in the paddy fields. The nearest town Aluthgama is about a five minute ride away and again can be organised at a few minutes notice.

There are some nice restaurants in the area, which Karen and Rohan are always happy to advise on, some are more reasonably priced than others, all you need to do is give them a rough idea of what you want. They will give you a completely honest and impartial opinion.

One of the great things about Karen and Rohan is that they are not trying to constantly sell you things. Rohan always offers the trips, but only once and you will not be hassled with the hard sell. We visited Kandy and did a lot of the trips some years ago whilst in Sri Lanka, so we only did only the one trip to the Brief Garden which takes about two hours and is about half an hour away, it was absolutely beautiful. In our two visits, we have only heard very positive reports from other guests on the trips that Rohan organised for them. Rohan owns a luxury air-conditioned minibus, so if you are looking to do trips, you will certainly travel in comfort.

For our last five nights, we asked if we experience the top floor room as another couple vacated and the boys even moved our things for us, putting everything exactly as it was in the ground floor room. Cosmetics, clothes and other possessions were put just as we had left them only in a different room. If you’re a nature lover, the top floor balcony is a great place. We saw tropical birds that we did not even know existed, bright blue Kingfishers and large, beautiful green parrots. Sometimes you can even see Monkeys. This room is also very tastefully decorated with two beautiful four poster beds. There are no restricted meal times and the boys will bring your evening meal, breakfast or lunch to your balcony if you wish or you can eat down on the main patio.

All in all would not hesitate to recommend this resort, in fact we liked it so much on our second visit, that we have booked up for a third!

Many thanks Karen and Rohan for a great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GloriaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.2 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing