We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked 3 days, stayed 2 weeks.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Booked 3 days, stayed 2 weeks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I'm sort of reluctant to give this place the sparkling review that it deserves, because i want to come back when i need a little R&R in the sun, and i don't want it getting too booked up! With just a few rooms, there's no chance of it getting 'busy' as such, and that's just perfect.

Those long clumps of text get a bit boring, so i'll do some bullet points (forgive me if they don't format right)
-no set breakfast/meal times: they're easy-going and flexible
-trustworthy, felt little a bit of a sanctuary in SL - a home from home
-incredibly helpful: you get the good-natured, down to earth sense of Brit Karen and the contacts and savvy of local Rohan
-the massage & various treatments were really good, easily as good as - if not better than - other local places

It's really hard to find fault here.

Room Tip: ground floor is nice because the garden/pool feel like your yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Karen and Rohan who own the Shangri Lanka Villa has created a delightful gem of a place to stay.Tucked away in Horanduwa, Bentota on the South Peninsula the villa is beautifully decorated , spacious and clean. The rooms each have verandas were you can take your meals or you can eat by the main house. The food is a mix of Sri Lankan and European and excellent all round, If you wish to eat in in the evening you have to give the request in the afternoon for the meat and vegetables to be bought in fresh. The gardens are beautiful and you can see kingfishers, woodpeckers, butterflies, monkeys all from your room. There are orchids, bourganvilla and roses to enjoy whilst lazing in the pool. The villa is small and compact but it is truly a perfect place to stay either as a one stop for your whole vacation, plan your wedding here or as a stop off on your travels around this magnificent country. If you want to travel around then Karen and Rohan are able to arrange the tour to suit your needs. All the staff at the Villa are so friendly and helpful and we will definitely be returning to enjoy their beautiful villa again.

Room Tip: Checkout where the button for the fan is before you turn lights out! It is located by the table lamp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DubaiCarolP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just had our third visit to Shangri Lanka villa. As usual Karen made our holiday very enjoyable.
I can't really say much that has'nt already been said by previous reviewers, other than to encourage others who are considering a visit to this part of Sri Lanka to stay here for part of your visit to this lovely country. Karen and the boys look after their guests very well and anything you want is no trouble. If you want to eat in they will arrange whateever food you want, the garlis prawns are great!! If you want to eat in town Karen will advise on local restaurants and arrange transport etc.
The rooms are spacious and spotlessly cleaned every day.
We have visited three times now and spend most of our time relaxing by the lovely pool and enjoying Karens hospitality.
Rohan when he not out on tour, helps out at the house and is also a brilliant host. He is very knowledgeable of all things Sri Lankan, and if your considering a tour of Sri Lanka he is your man!!
We have already booked for next year and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrisnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

After travelling around Sri Lanka for 7 days, we booked into this hotel for our last 4 nights after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor.

On arrival we were greeted by 2 lovely dogs and the owners Karen and Rohan. Our room was very large, spotlessly clean and had great facilities. The chefs and helpers always went above and beyond to help us enjoy our stay! The pool was well maintained and was great to relax around each day. Also, food was great using fresh ingredients and cooked to order! Breakfast was especially nice each morning on our balcony.

If you want, the beach is an enjoyable 5 minute walk up a small road. Sun loungers and drinks are available at a few locations along the beach! Fantastic beach that is quiet and not crowded and away from the main tourist area.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and are already planning our return trip next year!

Thank you Karen for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Navale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Kudos to Rohan and Karen for their hospitality and wonderful accomodations at Bentoto Beach! Their villa is absolutely awesome with large, beautiful rooms and well maintained grounds. The included breakfast choices are super and they offer a delicious lunch and dinner menu, if you choose to eat in. The 6 night tour of Sri Lanka organized by Karen, and accommodations were excellent as were their local dinner recommendations.
Exceptional hosts who go the extra mile to make your stay truly memorable. Would highly recommend the Shangri Lanka to anyone heading to the Bentota Beach area. They aren't right on the beach but it's only a short walk and the service by Karen and Rohan as well as their staff and the beautiful villa more than make up for the short walk to the beach.
Hope we get to visit with Rohan and Karen again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue_and_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We particularly wanted somewhere to stay in our first few days in Sri Lanka that would provide us with quiet and relaxation. Karen and Rohan's place in Bentota did just that. We stayed there for five nights and then returned for another two nights on our way back up the coast. We were picked up from the airport and chilled out as soon as we arrived.

We loved it. The rooms are large with high ceilings, big bathrooms and an outdoor sitting area overlooking the pool. The breakfasts are served with timing flexible to suit each guest. Although there are restaurants in Bentota that we could have visited, we decided to dine in each evening and we were not disappointed. Well prepared and delicious food and good company generally with not only Karen and Rohan but with the other guests as well.

The beach is a walk away (15 minutes) and it is absolutely empty. Glorious white sands and surf.

We did not take advantage of any of the trips on offer but heard good words about them from other guests.

A big thank you to our hosts and to the boys, Ishan in particular who looked after us so well

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked our stay at Shangri Lanka Villa based on their web site and the excellent reviews here on Trip Advisor. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The villa is set in a lovely garden and the rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Karen and Rohan's staff are very helpful and their attentive but easy approach to ensuring guests needs are fulfilled is exemplary.
Karen organised two tours for us complete with hotels and driver on each occasion. Both tours were excellent and professionally done.

We didn't want to leave Shangri Lanka which we think is probably the best recommendation that we can give for this lovely accomodation.

Heike & Gary - Germany

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heikeandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.2 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing