We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 63 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed with Karen and Rohan after Shangri Lanka was recommended by a colleague. We were treated more like house guests than hotel visitors, the accommodation was clean and comfortable with large bathroom / wet room shower. Food was good, especially the local curries. Lovely pool for when you need to cool off. Location is good, 5 minutes walk to Bentota Beach which is glorious and unspoilt. Karen and Rohan arranged two one day tours and transfers to and from the airport,One tour was pre booked before we arrived and the second was arranged whilst we were there, we changed the plan, no fuss, no bother, just sorted! Drivers and vehicles were excellent, knowledgeable, courteous and safe. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend letting Karen and Rohan organise your Sri Lankan itinerary from start to finish

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_W5555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Well there is nothing negative that I could say.My husband and I booked this accommodation after reading the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed here over Xmas and new year. We had a tour which was arranged by Karen and Rohan which provided us with a good insight into Sri Lanka beauty. The villa is well maintained, clean and in a beautiful setting. Karen and Rohan and the team made the experience. They go out of their way to fulfil all your needs. Congratulations guys. We would have loved to have stayed longer and will certainly return. The food is of excellent quality and cooked to order.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazza57Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Shangri-Lanka was the best place, by far, we stayed during our four week holiday in Sri Lanka. The Villa's are off the main road in a local village and it was a delight to arrive to peace and quiet. We were shown to our triple room, which was actually two rooms, one very spacious and a decent sized second room for our son Reuben. He was so delighted that there was a TV in his room!! The pool was a great place to relax and Reuben played with the other children staying there. Asides from the beautiful and immaculate rooms, I must say the highlight of staying at Shangri-Lanka was the food. The beautiful man in the kitchen is amazing and produces the most divine food we tasted throughout our trip. The chilli squid pasta was outstanding!!!

Our sincere thanks to Karen and Rohan for running such an outstanding establishment, and for being so hospitable and friendly. If you don't stay here, you're missing out on one of the best chilled out boutique hotels in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Best guest house experience ever. The whole team were really lovely and could not do enough for us really! Felt thoroughly spoiled here including our three year old who asked for chocolate cereal and was served cornflakes with a bounty!!!! We ate at a lot of places in Bentota and have to say we had our best meals here. The red snapper was definatley worth a try! Karen really seemed to just want every one to enjoy themselves and made some suggestions regarding local restaurants, turtle sanctuary etc all of which we really enjoyed! Massages were good, we had the too room with our 2 young children which was just huge and I can not even begin to explain how clean this place was! If we were to go back with out a doubt we would stay here!

Room Tip: Third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our family of 4 (dad,mum & children age 9 & 4) went to Shangri Lanka with very high hopes & 11 months of expectation! we chose this accomadation based on all the fantastic reviews we had read & I can say we were not disappointed. Gorgeous rooms with high level of cleanliness & we were looked after by all the team in the most attentive way, nothing was too much trouble, trips were booked, transport organised & practical advice given. We also got married on the beach on new years day & would like to thank Karen & Rohan for organising everything, we had the best day ever! Excellent food too & traditional Sri Lankan curry breakfast should not be missed. Also not to be missed are; boat trip on bentota river - amazing wildlife including crocodiles, brief gardens & lunaganga, the Buddhist temple at Aluthgama, turtle hatcheries and the beach, the beach! We spent many happy times playing in the beautiful waves of the Indian ocean & day trip to the sinharaja rain forest was well worth a visit esp the journey there & back seeing the contrasting countryside & towns. It truly was the holiday of a lifetime & we will be back - maybe in 5 years to celebrate our wedding anniversary? ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellie-j-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at Shangri Lanka Vila over the New Year period, and got married during our stay.

The villa is located in a very peaceful location with beautiful gardens and pool area. The rooms are large and very comfortable.

The local beach is only a few minutes walk away and is free from touts, on the occasions we visited we were the only people on the beach!

The staff are excellent, friendly and very helpful. The food is fantastic! (especially the Sri Lankan Curry breakfast!).

We went on several day trips (whale watching and to the rain forest), which were very reasonably priced, locally trips were by tuk tuk (to temples, bentota river trip (excellent), Luna ganga and Bentota beach).

We traveled with young children, they were never bored, in fact they loved Sri Lanka and Shangri Lanka Villa!

Thank you Karen and Rohan (and excellent staff) for a wonderful relaxing holiday and for organising our wedding (it was so well organised, beautiful and stress free!).

We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottinghamNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here in November and although we had quite a lot of rain at the beginning of our holiday we had a very memorable time at Shangri-Lanka Villa again. This is our 4th time and this time we stayed in one of the new rooms
Wow we loved them. Very light and airy with huge bathrooms as the other rooms have but different design. We were fascinated by the amount of birds we saw and the variety of different species just from our veranda. We must confess to have done the tours which were fantastic in previous visits but this time we were quite content to just relax and enjoy the fantastic food and the bottle of wine or two!

Thank you Karen and Rohan and all the team for being such a good team.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StockportRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
7.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: £55 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing