We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top marks to Shangri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top marks to Shangri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We recently spent 16 nights at this excellent guest house. This was our fourth visit to Sri Lanka, but our first time staying at Shangri- Lanka Villa. The reports on Tripadvisor were so good that we felt that we had to try it, and we were certainly not disappointed. The villa and the gardens are beautiful and there is an excellent swimming pool. We stayed in suite 5 in the new block which was really lovely - very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The room, the bathroom and the veranda are huge and the views over the gardens and the paddy fields beyond are spectacular - a great place for bird lovers.

Karen and Rohan and their wonderful staff couldn't do enough for us - you won't find better service anywhere. Also, it was so easy to get around by tuk tuk to visit the town (great market on Mondays) and the many places of interest in the area. We enjoyed walking to the lovely beach and also going for a stroll through the local village.

For anyone visiting SriLanka for the first time we suggest that you visit the beautiful hill country and the cultural areas (Rohan can arrange tours), but be sure to leave some time at the end of your tour to relax at Shangri- Lanka - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our third visit to the guest house and yet again we had a fantastic time! In fact we liked it so much, we have already booked up our fourth visit!

There have been some structural changes since last year and two extra rooms have been added in a separate block. If you are a return guest you do not need to have any concerns about these changes as extra staff have been employed. The staff were highly attentive, but their presence was very discrete. Some trees have been cut back which has opened up the garden and extended the grounds, giving nice views of the paddy fields. There is also a vegetable patch being cultivated, with the produce being served at the guest house. We did not stay in the new rooms, but we had a look and they have been decorated as tastefully as the original rooms. If the wind is blowing in the right direction on a quiet day, you can hear the sea from the Shangri Lanka. The guest house is about a ten minute walk from the nearest beach, but we like this because it is so quiet up there. Most of the coastal hotels have the railway running either close by or through their grounds and trains do run very early in the morning.

Everything was immaculate with the rooms, with a high standard of hygiene throughout. Towels and bedding are changed regularly and nice personal touches like little flowers on your bed are left daily. The boys were even sweet and thoughtful enough to ask what colour flowers I preferred. Fresh flowers were also left daily in a vase on the balcony table. All staff were excellent and all provided a high level of professional service. The dogs, Bobby & Masey are great & really add to the unique feel of the place. There is a new chef, who is also called Rohan and his cooking and presentation of the food is amazing. There are no restrictions on meal times and you can have your food either bought to you on your balcony or you can eat on the main patio, which we thought was a nice opportunity to meet other guests.

Karen and Rohan organised our trip to the waterfalls for us with Ruwan, the tuk tuk driver and we would recommend using Ruwan if you want to do any local trips, as he was excellent. He also took us to a local temple, which was an amazing experience.

All in all we found our stay faultless and if you want five star services at a very reasonable price, then Shangri Lanka Villa is the place for you. Thanks once again Karen and Rohan and we will see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

just returned from a short visit back to the shangri-lanka villa. This time I took my mum & dad. we had a ground floor room and a top floor room, both were large, bright, clean and lovely. Karen & Rohan are great hosts & the food here is just amazing. looking in my calendar already to book another trip.
thanks Karen for all your help.

Room Tip: eat in the hotel, the chef is amazing x
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed in one of the new rooms..large white and airy, well furnished with comfy mattress, nice bed-linen and lovely brightly coloured cushions etc. The garden and pool are most attractive, lots of interesting birds and wild-life to be seen. No problem with mosquitos as doors were shut when lights on and service was excellent with nothing too much trouble at any time from a well-trained team.
Our trip round the island was very well organised. We saw everything we hoped to from historical sights, tropical gardens, Yala wildlife and Mirissa whale-watching plus much more and we stayed in good hotels. All this was arranged by Karen, Rohan and our driver Hema who couldn't have done more to show us what Sri Lanka has to offer.
Well placed for Bentota, Galle and Colombo, our week at Shangri-Lanka was a perfect follow-up to the journey round the island and much more relaxing than many grander places we've stayed in.
Steve and Liz 6 th March 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This place is more of a small hotel than B&B given the level of (almost 24hr) service available by friendly & helpful staff.

We were in 1 of the new rooms, which was massive (a London studio could fit in the bathroom alone), very clean & comfortably equipped. (We had no probs with mossies, but kept our doors closed when lights were on.) The garden, setting & pool are great. You are 15 mins walk from a largely deserted area of beach.
Drivers for transfers were both excellent.
Given all that why on earth wold anyone stay at the lux resorts down the road for 4 times the price.
Yes there were a couple of small niggles, but they were generally beyond the control of the owners - & I have never stayed in a place that is perfect.
Worth noting for anyone who is a light sleeper the local stray dogs can have a barking frenzy at any point in the night - but the beds were big & comfy enough for me to just roll over & sleep through most of it.

Room Tip: room 5 - is top floor of 2 in detached villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Situated in the marsh lands, behind Bentota beach, you find a secluded large villa with 5 large very nicely decorated and clean bedrooms. Service it top notch, all prices are reasonable.
Food is from higher quality than average. Is Shangri-Lanka Villa he lost Paradise? No, their major problem are mosquitos. Be careful in a denque infested region. Our bathroom without mosquito screens was invaded. The beds are without mosquito nets and tthe products they use doesn't kill those flying insects. We made those remarks but they were unable to solve the problem. A great pity.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain-Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilanka, Manager at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback.

We greatly appreciate your acknowledgment of our high standard and fair prices as that is one of our main goals.

We were sorry you were the only guests to be troubled by mosquitoes and understood you didn't want to close the bathroom windows unfortunately it is the best way to solve the problem and the only way a chemical can work because it kills whatever is the room once it is sealed.

The air-conditioning and ceiling fan in the bedroom is a big deterrent in the bedroom for people that don't like to use these we do have nets for the beds. It is just that we are hardly ever asked for them and as your stay was so short you were leaving before it was realised you didn't want to take the advice. We are very sorry to have failed to deliver your personal requirements which is another one of our goals

We didn't realise you had been wrongly informed about dengue or else we would have put your mind at rest. Dengue is contracted from a daytime mosquito and so not the night one that you were troubled by and Bentota is certainly not a dengue infested area..

As it is a tourist board resort very strict rules apply to all properties even local houses. Health inspectors check all properties and the beach area. Any guest that is staying with us now will have seen the health inspector here coincidentally. we were advised our property was excellent in all aspects of health.

If you ever return to Sri Lanka don't be put off staying here just inform us and we will have nets set up for when you arrive.

Thank you

Karen banister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissonerga, Cyprus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

This gem of a guest house lived up to every expectation and we can see why so many excellent ratings Karen and Rohan have been given. Spotlessly clean, nothing is too much trouble and the food and service by one and all is truly wonderful. We stayed 5 days and will remember our first visit with lovely memories. We made some good friends and will definately be returning sometime soon. If you are ever going to be in the Bentota area, do yourself a favour and spend a few nights here, you will not regret it and you will then see why everyone just loves this place.
Thank you everyone at Shangri Lanka for such a great time and Rohan, I will get you that hat on our return!!

Room Tip: we had the ground floor room opposite the pool and it was very convenient. lovely corner bath too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.2 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing