We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it were possible to give 6 stars I would!! Just perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stevechris06
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If it were possible to give 6 stars I would!! Just perfect...”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

So most of the reviews already say what a great place this is, and how its stuff dreams are made from and with such high expectations it is hard for this place to live up to such high standards - but it does....

We had the pleasure of staying here for three weeks in March, and it is hard to put into words just how special this place is.

We booked back in Oct, and Karen who deals with all the enquiries would always come back quickly, even though I am sure I probably drove her mad with all the questions it never showed! She was helpful in advising on every aspect of the stay and we were grateful for this!

Once we arrived we were picked up from the airport by Rohan,and had a pleasant journey in his spacious airconditioned people carrier to the guest house, once there we were met by a load of the staff who grabbed our bags and took them straight to our room and we then were shown the most beautiful room... the photos on the website look nice, but they dont capture how good the room really is. I am not sure what it is exactly but the feeling of peacefulness and tranqulity really comes across and with three doors which open out onto a gorgeous balcony overlooking the pool - what more could you need? Plus the bathroom is like a second room, its massive with a corner bath, perfect for relaxing and a rain shower.

The thing that really made our trip apart from being in paradise of choice, is the staff - they cant do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble and you basically dont lift a finger whilst you are there.. a harsh reality shock to the system on our return to the uk ;-)
We were lucky enough to get to know them a little as we were there for quite a while, and they all deserve a mention. Ramon ( probably spelling this wrong) has the most amazing welcoming smile and its a joy coming down to breakfast to see his beaming face asking you what you would like... he goes out of his way to help to the point that my partner mentioned he had heard the bread man sold these bread rolls filled with curry which he wanted to try and the next thing we know after a snooze in our room and us coming down for dinner he had gone out and got them for Steve to try. really nice touch to be so thoughtful.

Special mention also to Praymela, Rohan the chef, and Paraman. they are a real credit to this place and make what is aleady a relaxing holiday even better - Rohan the chef cooks the most amazing curries and the lobster was out of this world.... I could ramble on all day about the food but you need to try it to understand just how good it is :)

We organised a tour with Karen and Rohan to the elephant orphanage, Kandy dance and temple tour which we enjoyed however we preferred the accomodation at Shangri Lanka so were glad to get back, not to say they organise sub standard rooms when you are on tour but there is a big difference between a large hotel and this guest house and we were after a home away from home.. well to be fair a much nicer home than I have in the UK! We miss our dog terribly on holiday and it was a real treat to spend time with Bobi and Masie which are Karen and Rohan's dogs - they are the cutest and enjoyed many a cuddle.

Like the other reviews state it is less than a 10 min walk to the beach but they happily take you in their tuk tuk if the walk is too much. The beach is deserted, which was paradise - the water can be a little choppy but a walk down the beach and it is a little calmer.

Karen and Rohan have the most magical place, and they really care you have a good time - that attention to detail ensures they get these high reviews. Rohan kindly helped myself and my partner in securing the engagement ring we wanted when there was a little confusion - most places wouldnt have bothered to help, and it meant the world to us so for that we are thankful.

If you are looking for small personal guesthouse and a place to relax, meet like minded people if you wish (if not you can choose to dine alone) dine on some of the best food, and generally have a holiday of your dreams then I would be amazed if you didnt like this place!!

Room Tip: Room 2 we personally thought was perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevechris06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Everything from the pick up at airport to being dropped back was top class.Apartments were large and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. the chef cooked all meals freshly at your request and every meal we had in our stay was amazing.Rohan and karen are great hosts and help arranged trips and on hand for advise. would recommend a stay here

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We recently spent 16 nights at this excellent guest house. This was our fourth visit to Sri Lanka, but our first time staying at Shangri- Lanka Villa. The reports on Tripadvisor were so good that we felt that we had to try it, and we were certainly not disappointed. The villa and the gardens are beautiful and there is an excellent swimming pool. We stayed in suite 5 in the new block which was really lovely - very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The room, the bathroom and the veranda are huge and the views over the gardens and the paddy fields beyond are spectacular - a great place for bird lovers.

Karen and Rohan and their wonderful staff couldn't do enough for us - you won't find better service anywhere. Also, it was so easy to get around by tuk tuk to visit the town (great market on Mondays) and the many places of interest in the area. We enjoyed walking to the lovely beach and also going for a stroll through the local village.

For anyone visiting SriLanka for the first time we suggest that you visit the beautiful hill country and the cultural areas (Rohan can arrange tours), but be sure to leave some time at the end of your tour to relax at Shangri- Lanka - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our third visit to the guest house and yet again we had a fantastic time! In fact we liked it so much, we have already booked up our fourth visit!

There have been some structural changes since last year and two extra rooms have been added in a separate block. If you are a return guest you do not need to have any concerns about these changes as extra staff have been employed. The staff were highly attentive, but their presence was very discrete. Some trees have been cut back which has opened up the garden and extended the grounds, giving nice views of the paddy fields. There is also a vegetable patch being cultivated, with the produce being served at the guest house. We did not stay in the new rooms, but we had a look and they have been decorated as tastefully as the original rooms. If the wind is blowing in the right direction on a quiet day, you can hear the sea from the Shangri Lanka. The guest house is about a ten minute walk from the nearest beach, but we like this because it is so quiet up there. Most of the coastal hotels have the railway running either close by or through their grounds and trains do run very early in the morning.

Everything was immaculate with the rooms, with a high standard of hygiene throughout. Towels and bedding are changed regularly and nice personal touches like little flowers on your bed are left daily. The boys were even sweet and thoughtful enough to ask what colour flowers I preferred. Fresh flowers were also left daily in a vase on the balcony table. All staff were excellent and all provided a high level of professional service. The dogs, Bobby & Masey are great & really add to the unique feel of the place. There is a new chef, who is also called Rohan and his cooking and presentation of the food is amazing. There are no restrictions on meal times and you can have your food either bought to you on your balcony or you can eat on the main patio, which we thought was a nice opportunity to meet other guests.

Karen and Rohan organised our trip to the waterfalls for us with Ruwan, the tuk tuk driver and we would recommend using Ruwan if you want to do any local trips, as he was excellent. He also took us to a local temple, which was an amazing experience.

All in all we found our stay faultless and if you want five star services at a very reasonable price, then Shangri Lanka Villa is the place for you. Thanks once again Karen and Rohan and we will see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

just returned from a short visit back to the shangri-lanka villa. This time I took my mum & dad. we had a ground floor room and a top floor room, both were large, bright, clean and lovely. Karen & Rohan are great hosts & the food here is just amazing. looking in my calendar already to book another trip.
thanks Karen for all your help.

Room Tip: eat in the hotel, the chef is amazing x
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed in one of the new rooms..large white and airy, well furnished with comfy mattress, nice bed-linen and lovely brightly coloured cushions etc. The garden and pool are most attractive, lots of interesting birds and wild-life to be seen. No problem with mosquitos as doors were shut when lights on and service was excellent with nothing too much trouble at any time from a well-trained team.
Our trip round the island was very well organised. We saw everything we hoped to from historical sights, tropical gardens, Yala wildlife and Mirissa whale-watching plus much more and we stayed in good hotels. All this was arranged by Karen, Rohan and our driver Hema who couldn't have done more to show us what Sri Lanka has to offer.
Well placed for Bentota, Galle and Colombo, our week at Shangri-Lanka was a perfect follow-up to the journey round the island and much more relaxing than many grander places we've stayed in.
Steve and Liz 6 th March 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This place is more of a small hotel than B&B given the level of (almost 24hr) service available by friendly & helpful staff.

We were in 1 of the new rooms, which was massive (a London studio could fit in the bathroom alone), very clean & comfortably equipped. (We had no probs with mossies, but kept our doors closed when lights were on.) The garden, setting & pool are great. You are 15 mins walk from a largely deserted area of beach.
Drivers for transfers were both excellent.
Given all that why on earth wold anyone stay at the lux resorts down the road for 4 times the price.
Yes there were a couple of small niggles, but they were generally beyond the control of the owners - & I have never stayed in a place that is perfect.
Worth noting for anyone who is a light sleeper the local stray dogs can have a barking frenzy at any point in the night - but the beds were big & comfy enough for me to just roll over & sleep through most of it.

Room Tip: room 5 - is top floor of 2 in detached villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.2 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing