We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 61 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We loved this place. Small, peaceful and beautiful. Staff fantastic, helpful and always happy to do anything for you. Food fabulous - especially the curries. Rooms excellent - very spacious and huge bathroom. Garden and swimming pool are lovely. Would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GillyG151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
110
298
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

As everyone has said before this is a fantastic place to put yourself when you visit Bentota.
We had the new building for our family of 4 and there was definately more than enough room for all of us. The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated with the largest bathrooms i have experienced, there is plently of room for luggage etc and each room has its own balcony with table and chairs. The gardens are lovely and the pool is quite big for a small hotel. There is plenty of wild life to look at , we saw squirrels, monkeys a huge variety of birds and even fire flys at night.
Karen and Rohan have done an amazing job with Shangri Lanka and they also have the most delight staff working for them too, nothing was too much trouble for anyone.

They also organised our trip to Kandy then on to Colombo and we had Rohan drive us, thankyou to both of you it was all perfect ( except for my daughter getting car sick, so sorry Rohan)
We would not hesitate to recomend this little piece of paradise to anyone and hopefully we will be back there too one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brismumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in the top floor with our two young boys and have to mirror what every body else says, massive rooms and so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor! KAren was lovely and recommended some lovely restaurants and a fantastic boat tour for us! We had the best red snapper dish one evening and yes a bit more expensive then some of the local restaurants but we felt the quality was far superior and all portions were huge! We realised quickly that a main portion could easily feed all 4 of us! The staff were lovely and kept our boys entertained always! One morning our three year old requested chocolate cereal and it was returned with a bounty floating in it!!! Brilliant!!! We both had massages and again brilliant. My only negative comment would be the honesty policy in the rooms, Karen doesn't actually track it and neither did we so fear she may have been a little out of pocket when we left! Karen thank you so much for your hospitality and we think of you every time we lay our table as we copied your place mats from the shop in Colombo you told us about!!!

Room Tip: Top floor main building! Stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladiatorlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A relaxing friendly holiday, I went with my wife and 17 year old son and had a fabulous holiday. The accommodation was spotless and spacious and in a glorious location. We stayed in the top room (4 poster bed) and had wonderful views across the trees and yes we did see a monkey on our last day!
Karen, Rohan and the staff have got the balance of being attentive without bothering you to perfection and nothing is to much trouble, from arranging customised trips to meals. The meals ,what can I say but we only ate out once at night because nothing compared to the quality of the meals served at the villa's.
The beach which is a 10 -15mins work (courtesy tuktuk) is stunning there is no shade but there is the occasional bar set back for refreshments. Be aware of the strong currents in the sea but we did go into the sea several times safely.
A must trip is the elephants which was our high-light and Candy although you don't get to see much on the overnight trip is stunning.
A holiday that will stay with us forever.
Thank you to Karen,Rohan and the boys

Room Tip: The new block have good distant views as did our room (top floor of the original block)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieCowap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

The best room I stayed in during my time in Sri Lanka. Huge room, huge bed, palatial bathroom! They think of everything and the service is exceptional and the dogs are always there to keep you company.

Western food is lovely. I would have liked a wider selection of vegetarian Sri Lankan cuisine but this is a very minor point. Stay at this gem of a place and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londongirl149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Right from the start this was always going to be fab. No check in, just taken straight to our delightful, spacious bedroom, with everything there you needed. Free wifi and laptop, in case you needed to connect. A.C. and... a ceiling fan for those not liking A.C. enough space to slob. A quiet patio off our bedroom, where we hung out with the dogs just relaxing.
Food was a mix of western and Sri Lankan, breakfast anytime as all the other meals. A tranquil, beautiful setting with lovely gardens and a pool. The staff were super friendly and Karen was on site all the time.
None of that comes without a lot of hard work. Good on you Karen and Rohan for making Shangri-Lanka what it is.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were fab. If you want a view try 1st or 2nd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We chose to spend our last few days relaxing at Shangri-Lanka villas after our 10 days travelling and it was a truly lovely environment in which to just "chill out". The villas are large and airy with a decent sized balcony. The pool was a delight and all staff warm, welcoming and always willing to help out with any request.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 in the original building-first floor, great outlook but with a family upstairs on one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 25 in Bentota
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing