We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Nearby Hotels
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$539
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$481
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
488
33
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
33
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaren rohantuk tuksri lankawonderful hostshuge bathroomday tourpaddy fieldsother guestsguest housejumbo prawnslittle piece of paradisebird lifeyala national parksister hotelboutique hotellovely pooltea plantation
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed there with friends for 5 nights from 5th Jan 2014.
This place is impeccably run and is very clean and well cared for throughout.
3 Course Breakfast included in price - nice choice and something for everyone.
5/6 accommodations beautifully appointed with huge bathrooms/wet-rooms and a laptop (with WiFi) if you don't have your own device to hand
Ate here every night - Kitchen is open and you can see for yourself the attention to hygiene in preparation, cooking and cleaning afterwards.

Presentation of all meals was excellent, as was the quality and quantity. Tea and coffee served as part of price as requested in bone china to boot !!

Nice size Pool area with beds/towels provideded

Loved the staff and owners approach and plan to stay here again next winter

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view of some nature and all have a mini bar and have huge comfortable beds and pillows
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeskipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at shangri lanka villa for 3 days while visiting Sri Lanka and what a wonderfull place. It was a late booking but we were made so welcome by Rohan and Karen. Nothing was too much trouble. I’m quite fussy about eating curry and spicy foods, but wow the food was soo good. The chef (also called Rohan) was excellent, and while not cheap, you really get what you pay for. The king praws were delicious, as were the wonderfull Sri Lankan curries he prepared. We were looking for a relaxing few days and it was here in abundance, to lay by the pool then into the massage room ( highly recomended ) was fantastic. We had a fantastic holiday, and this villa was the icing on the cake. Thanks so much Karen and Rohan, and not forgetting the two lovely dogs Maisy and Bobby, we hope to see you again later this year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having travelled around Sri Lanka for 2 1/2 weeks we experienced some super guest houses and hosts/staff. We always hoped that we had made the right choice at Shangri Lanka for our final "chill out" week. Within minutes of arriving we had no worries. We were given a lovely welcome by Raymond and his team and although we were early the room was ready within 5 mins. When we were shown to our room (number 5) we could hardly believe it. Very spacious, spotlessly clean a massive bathroom (which we would have loved at home) a spacious balcony and a view to die for across the jungle. The gardens, pool and dining areas were were so relaxing. It very quickly became clear as we met Karen and Rohan and the rest of the team including the two gorgeous dogs that this was a special place with a lovely family feel.
The location is perfect for a 10 min walk to the beach and also half an hour through the back lanes past local housing to the river in Bentota.
The food Rohan the chef and his kitchen team produced was excellent and although initially it may have felt a little expensive compared with other parts of Sri Lanka it was certainly in line with other quality restaurants around Bentota. We received lots of information about the area and anything we wanted to do was arranged. We were openly encouraged to visit other restaurants but it soon became clear that Shangri Lanka took a lot of beating.
Fabulous bird life in the morning before breakfast and giant bats in the evening as wee took sundowners on the balcony before evening meal.
It would be possible to go on in more detail about so many things but it is clear by now that we absolutely loved it.
Although this may not be the place to comment, I do feel the two recent negative reviews to be totally unbelievable.
Thanks Karen, Rohan and all your team for a fantastic stay - I feel sure we will be seeing you again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stopped for two nights at Shangri-Lanka villa on 27 and 28 December 2013. Our driver had problems finding the place, but if you have Google maps, its on there! (Buy an Etisalat sim upon arrival at the airport just as you leave the terminal - 300Rupees or £1.50 for 1GB of data!!). We used it as a base to visit the Turtles, a trip down the coast to Galle and then back up north past Colombo, but obviously if we had more time would visit the UNESCO sites in the south too. The road to Bentota from the newly-completed expressway is under re-construction so allow around 45 minutes to an hour to get to the villa from the exit junction at the moment.
The villa is, as I mentioned, 5* quality for a 3* price. Definitely book direct if you can.
Karen was really helpful in her emails for booking and was able to change around the rooms so that we had room 5 (I think) above the kitchen, which has another room that our 3 elder children slept in (13,10 and 7), and the main room, which was huge in floorspace and ceiling height was magnificent and certainly enough space for my wife and I on the massive kingsize bed and our infant in our own travelcot. There was a large ensuite shower room with tinted windows, but I actually dont think anyone could see into anyone elses rooms such is the excellent way the villa is constructed. The view from the balcony was lovely - of the pool and festively decorated tree, as well as the jungle/ground out back where there were wild animals (which is to be expected - this IS the draw of Sri Lanka). Coils were lit outside the rooms each evening and the rooms greeted us with fresh flowers on the pillows - including our sons travelcot - upon arrival and each day. The kids room had mosquito nets which was a godsend as the little blighters seemed to love us! The full Dialog service TV with sport, movies, kids channels was also a huge boon.
The food was of excellent quality and quantity, from the included breakfast to the dinners. I thought about losing a star for the cost of the food, which was quite expensive for Sri Lankan standard - 1500-2000 Rupees (£7.50-£10) for a main course, wine 2300 (£12), beer 330 (£2.50) and all double the cost food-wise and 50% more for the drink than the similar boutique style villa we stayed in the admittedly cheaper resort of Negombo (with owners living there and being chefs etc but only 3 rooms). However, I decided not to as its still cheaper than the Bentota beach hotel.
Karen and Rohan were both helpful in getting tuk-tuks to us when needed (300 Rupees to the excellent Bentota beach right next door to the Bentota beach hotel). Note that you have to pay cash for your food (no credit or debit cards accepted) and at 22000 Rupees (£110) for two nights dinner for us, a tuk-tuk trip was needed to the ATM when we were departing.
The pool was wonderful, half of it shallow for those with young kids and then got deeper in the other half.
The service was impeccable, courteous and always with a smile. If we stop in Bentota again, we will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renegadesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Overpriced in all areas. Food was terrible and we were charged $45 for 10 burnt prawns supposed to weigh 500grams, oh and a tomato. We should have checked the menu before agreeing to their proposal on the first morning, if we wanted to try the jumbo prawns for dinner. They were far from jumbo. We argued the costs when presented with the bill but were told to just pay up….Our laundry that we had done smelt of fish, maybe re-use of the water they used to clean the prawns. We had to get it all redone in our next location. The room was large and clean but the noise from local dogs and horns kept us awake. We didn’t try the pool….I would not stay here again or recommend. The taxi airport pick up was the best part. Did not see Karen or her partner during our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Sorry my husband and I were on holiday during your 2 night stay. We do take holidays but it does not alter anything here either way

Raymond is sorry to have disappointed you with your bill but was at a loss as to what you were complaining bout apart fro you not wanting to pay it

We are very open and honest here and fair to all our guests so we don’t do different deals for different people

Our menu with prices is on our website for everyone to see before they come. We have a menu in every room and we have menus in the kitchen so not sure why you wanted Raymond to reduce the price.

We take bed and breakfast bookings mostly so guests can enjoy our villa and eat out every night if they wish no pressure at all we even say on our website it is totally flexible.

As you say you and the other guests were shown the fresh jumbo prawns during the day when the fisherman brought them portioned out for you to see exactly what you would get as an option for dinner. Bentota is famous for prawns and so of course we offer

Sea foodies want to see the prawns raw to check if they are fresh or not. You saw them and ordered 2 portions.

You were served the 500grams of jumbo prawns that you had chosen with home made roti bread garlic butter and tomato salad. Cost was 2800rs plus 10% £14 in total per portion.

Because the prawns are fresh they are not boiled from frozen but cooked on a high heat with garlic butter or olive oil for the best taste and it is the shell that is charred not the prawns.


You ate all of you meal with out complaint and didn’t ask for anything else. You enjoyed 2 beers at a good price.

Rohan chef prides himself on presentation and I can 100% guarantee nobody gets any meal served with a tomato everything is presented decoratively even a sandwich. Raymond takes photos of most meals and weekly we put on our face book page for anybody to look at. The staff here are very proud and don’t do anything carelessly

Of course if there is a complaint and someone doesn’t enjoy the meal we would not charge and the same for the laundry had you said you were not satisfied we would have not charged.

Sri Lanka is very humid and because it was rainy while you were here the damp atmosphere will cause a damp smell if folded straight away and put in a case. That is why we only charge 100rs about 47p per item with ironing to air it quickly when people are travelling.

Thank you for acknowledging yours was large and clean which is a must for me in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews