We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
486
33
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
33
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaren rohantuk tuksri lankawonderful hostsday tourhuge bathroomother guestspaddy fieldsguest housejumbo prawnslittle piece of paradisebird lifeyala national parkboutique hotellovely pooltea plantationrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our second visit to Shangri lanka and it was every bit as wonderful second time around. Karen and Rohan are superb hosts and any e-mails regarding bookings always receive a prompt reply.

The whole set up here is second to none and we love staying in this small guest house where we have been privileged to meet so many friendly and interesting people from many parts of the world. Meals, drinks and tea and coffee can be served at the restaurant, on your veranda, or by the pool whenever you wish.
The staff are absolutely fantastic.....nothing is too much trouble.......and service is always with a smile. We were delighted to find that the staff hadn't changed since last year and it was just like visiting family again.....a true testament to the superb running of this place.......happy staff means happy guests!
The accommodation is beautiful, spacious and exceptionally clean and the huge verandas with lovely furniture provide somewhere to sit in the shade and read a book or admire the tropical gardens so lovingly tended by the amazing Paraman. The pool is fantastic with lots of sun loungers around.......a great place to meet up with the other guests.
Breakfast at Shangri Lanka is fantastic and there is a large choice (already missing the fruit plate and the homemade jam)! There is also a large choice for the evening meal but, as we were there for sixteen nights, we did eat out occasionally just to try other places. If you do wish to eat out at any time, Karen or Raymond will happily book a table for you and arrange a Tuk Tuk.
I could go on and on about this fabulous place but why don't you just try it.......You won't be disappointed!
Many thanks To Karen and Rohan and their wonderful staff for yet another great holiday.......We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, spacious and have a view of the gardens and the pool
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

lovely lovely place with friendly beautiful people. So very clean and beautifully appointed. rooms were huge and cleaned daily. staff were so good we felt like we were leaving friends when the time came to come home. \loved the dogs Maisie and Bobby, will miss Maisie calling in for her morning McVities gingerbread bicuit. Many thanks to you all for making our holiday so special will definately be coming back.

Room Tip: all the roooms are very good and huge whichever you are offerrred will be fine
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hydrotherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here in February and the owners actually really helped us plan our holiday and travel plans beyond just Bentota.

The Accommodation was very nice and away from the main road/rail track, so it was very quiet and tranquil. It was a about a 5 minute walk down the country road to the main road. The owners arranged transport via tuk tuk, or mini van around the place and they would select drivers that were honest and safe.

While staying here, we eat here most the time and the food was always delicious. We even arranged a roast suckling pig spit one evening.... yummy! They set up the dining table on the lawn... wow... awesome evening.

The place is quiet, so if you are looking at a nice quiet relaxing time, to get away from it all, this is great place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We chose to stay at Shangri Lanka after reading glowing reports on the trip adviser site.
From our first contact with Karen to leaving to return home the standard of customer service provided was nothing short of exceptional. Prior to departing the UK Karen provided invaluable advice on a variety of subjects ranging from flight info to island tours.
On arrival we were made to feel so welcome as we were met by all the staff who were on duty at the time.
We stayed in room 2 which surpassed our expectations - it was huge with a fantastic balcony area overlooking the pool and gardens.
The gardens and pool area are immaculately maintained - in the main due to the hard working Paraman (I hope this is the correct spelling) - this man is an absolute joy who always has the broadest smile imaginable.
It is actually no exaggeration to say that all the staff are exceptional - nothing is too much bother for any of them- it was actually a pleasure to be in their company even though they were working.
We ate at the villa most nights as the food was wonderful and Rohan(chef) was always prepared to vary his menu to suit individuals.
We had not arranged any island tours prior to arriving but this was not a problem at all - after speaking to Raymond and Rohan(boss) everything was sorted with no fuss or mither and we set off on a 3 night tour with Rohan. All we can say is that the trip was unbelievable from start to finish with amazing attention to detail and what we had said we wanted to do.

All we can add is that Shangri Lanka Villa was a fantastic experience and one that we will recommend to anyone - thanks to everyone who made it so special.

PS -The 2 dogs Maisy and Bobby are so attentive and fun that it almost seems that they have been on the Shangri Lanka customer service training !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

So much has already been written about Shangri Lanka Villa that it's very difficult to find anything further to add.

The accommodation exceeded my already high expectations. The room was huge, spotlessly clean, air conditioned and with a very large bathroom. Food is wonderful, there only being 5 rooms means that you virtually gave a chef at your complete disposal, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast sitting under the covered canopy or on your balcony is lovely and prepared individually so everything is fresh. Lunch if you want it includes my personnel favourite - a marvellous fresh prawn sandwich washed down with a nice cold local beer! Evening meals were as good, if not better than any meals I sampled in local restaurants. The curries are beautiful the fresh lobster and prawns however are my recommendation along with the homemade roti bread with garlic butter - scrumptious!

The location of the Villa is also good, tucked away well off the main road down a quiet side road. The beach is a 10 minute walk away although a free tuk-tuk is available if your feeling a little lazy. The attractions of Bentota including it's many restaurants and shops are within easy reach should you want to venture out - although you may well not want too. Such is the comfort, relaxation, beautiful surroundings and attraction of the pool that you may find it difficult to venture out of the Villa.

Don't think of Shangri Lanka Villa as a guest house, think of it as a unique, very exclusive boutique hotel - the quality is that good.

What does set the Villa apart from almost every hotel and resort I have ever stayed at, including many 5 star establishments is the incredible attentiveness, friendliness and genuine caring attitude of both the staff and owners. Genuinely nothing is too much trouble. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure your complete satisfaction and comfort.

I would like to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to everyone at Shangri Lanka Villa for making my holiday this year as perfect as it could possibly be, above all else it is they that added that extra undefinable something that turns an annual holiday into one that will never be forgotten.

Don't go expecting all the facilities and fuss of a 5 star hotel go to relax in the simple luxury of a beautiful boutique guesthouse where you will be looked after like like nowhere else.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank SimonLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews