We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good size accommodation with minibar, very accommodating staff in peaceful setting with pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-Lanka Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 63 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good size accommodation with minibar, very accommodating staff in peaceful setting with pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in March. It's a very nice hotel with large rooms and nice decor. Very friendly staff and a just a 10 min walk to a quiet beach. Food was good and they take requests. It's very clean and there is a family atmosphere. The only problem was the many (100s) small black flies which probably come from the nearby fresh water irrigation. They don't seem to bite but it's not nice when you're enjoying the verandah or when having dinner outside. There is a nice pool and massage therapist available as well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMsadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review we are pleased everything in our control was a good experience for you. That is our signature and one we try hard to maintain

You are correct the tiny black insects don't bite and are not harmful in any way but have been a nuisance for quite a few days thankfully there was hardly any last night and so hopefully that is the end of them.

They go as quick as they come they are nothing to do with the water channels they are just a seasonal insect that only come in certain weather conditions so not even certain months. It is connected to the drier than normal weather we are having, actually the locals need more rain to fill their wells!

You would have experienced them almost anywhere in this area not just Bentota at this time except if you were staying on the beach.

The saving grace is we don't have sand flies which do bite and although there are mosquitoes we are not bothered with them too much. We burn the insect deterrents all around the property as you know.

However you would have to admit it is a small price to pay for the occasional irritation for staying and certainly living in the tropics. The nature and the beauty is what it is all about..

If you return to Sri Lanka please come again you will be very welcome of course
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
292
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our second visit to Shangri lanka and it was every bit as wonderful second time around. Karen and Rohan are superb hosts and any e-mails regarding bookings always receive a prompt reply.

The whole set up here is second to none and we love staying in this small guest house where we have been privileged to meet so many friendly and interesting people from many parts of the world. Meals, drinks and tea and coffee can be served at the restaurant, on your veranda, or by the pool whenever you wish.
The staff are absolutely fantastic.....nothing is too much trouble.......and service is always with a smile. We were delighted to find that the staff hadn't changed since last year and it was just like visiting family again.....a true testament to the superb running of this place.......happy staff means happy guests!
The accommodation is beautiful, spacious and exceptionally clean and the huge verandas with lovely furniture provide somewhere to sit in the shade and read a book or admire the tropical gardens so lovingly tended by the amazing Paraman. The pool is fantastic with lots of sun loungers around.......a great place to meet up with the other guests.
Breakfast at Shangri Lanka is fantastic and there is a large choice (already missing the fruit plate and the homemade jam)! There is also a large choice for the evening meal but, as we were there for sixteen nights, we did eat out occasionally just to try other places. If you do wish to eat out at any time, Karen or Raymond will happily book a table for you and arrange a Tuk Tuk.
I could go on and on about this fabulous place but why don't you just try it.......You won't be disappointed!
Many thanks To Karen and Rohan and their wonderful staff for yet another great holiday.......We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, spacious and have a view of the gardens and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

lovely lovely place with friendly beautiful people. So very clean and beautifully appointed. rooms were huge and cleaned daily. staff were so good we felt like we were leaving friends when the time came to come home. \loved the dogs Maisie and Bobby, will miss Maisie calling in for her morning McVities gingerbread bicuit. Many thanks to you all for making our holiday so special will definately be coming back.

Room Tip: all the roooms are very good and huge whichever you are offerrred will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hydrotherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here in February and the owners actually really helped us plan our holiday and travel plans beyond just Bentota.

The Accommodation was very nice and away from the main road/rail track, so it was very quiet and tranquil. It was a about a 5 minute walk down the country road to the main road. The owners arranged transport via tuk tuk, or mini van around the place and they would select drivers that were honest and safe.

While staying here, we eat here most the time and the food was always delicious. We even arranged a roast suckling pig spit one evening.... yummy! They set up the dining table on the lawn... wow... awesome evening.

The place is quiet, so if you are looking at a nice quiet relaxing time, to get away from it all, this is great place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We chose to stay at Shangri Lanka after reading glowing reports on the trip adviser site.
From our first contact with Karen to leaving to return home the standard of customer service provided was nothing short of exceptional. Prior to departing the UK Karen provided invaluable advice on a variety of subjects ranging from flight info to island tours.
On arrival we were made to feel so welcome as we were met by all the staff who were on duty at the time.
We stayed in room 2 which surpassed our expectations - it was huge with a fantastic balcony area overlooking the pool and gardens.
The gardens and pool area are immaculately maintained - in the main due to the hard working Paraman (I hope this is the correct spelling) - this man is an absolute joy who always has the broadest smile imaginable.
It is actually no exaggeration to say that all the staff are exceptional - nothing is too much bother for any of them- it was actually a pleasure to be in their company even though they were working.
We ate at the villa most nights as the food was wonderful and Rohan(chef) was always prepared to vary his menu to suit individuals.
We had not arranged any island tours prior to arriving but this was not a problem at all - after speaking to Raymond and Rohan(boss) everything was sorted with no fuss or mither and we set off on a 3 night tour with Rohan. All we can say is that the trip was unbelievable from start to finish with amazing attention to detail and what we had said we wanted to do.

All we can add is that Shangri Lanka Villa was a fantastic experience and one that we will recommend to anyone - thanks to everyone who made it so special.

PS -The 2 dogs Maisy and Bobby are so attentive and fun that it almost seems that they have been on the Shangri Lanka customer service training !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, England
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

So much has already been written about Shangri Lanka Villa that it's very difficult to find anything further to add.

The accommodation exceeded my already high expectations. The room was huge, spotlessly clean, air conditioned and with a very large bathroom. Food is wonderful, there only being 5 rooms means that you virtually gave a chef at your complete disposal, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast sitting under the covered canopy or on your balcony is lovely and prepared individually so everything is fresh. Lunch if you want it includes my personnel favourite - a marvellous fresh prawn sandwich washed down with a nice cold local beer! Evening meals were as good, if not better than any meals I sampled in local restaurants. The curries are beautiful the fresh lobster and prawns however are my recommendation along with the homemade roti bread with garlic butter - scrumptious!

The location of the Villa is also good, tucked away well off the main road down a quiet side road. The beach is a 10 minute walk away although a free tuk-tuk is available if your feeling a little lazy. The attractions of Bentota including it's many restaurants and shops are within easy reach should you want to venture out - although you may well not want too. Such is the comfort, relaxation, beautiful surroundings and attraction of the pool that you may find it difficult to venture out of the Villa.

Don't think of Shangri Lanka Villa as a guest house, think of it as a unique, very exclusive boutique hotel - the quality is that good.

What does set the Villa apart from almost every hotel and resort I have ever stayed at, including many 5 star establishments is the incredible attentiveness, friendliness and genuine caring attitude of both the staff and owners. Genuinely nothing is too much trouble. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure your complete satisfaction and comfort.

I would like to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to everyone at Shangri Lanka Villa for making my holiday this year as perfect as it could possibly be, above all else it is they that added that extra undefinable something that turns an annual holiday into one that will never be forgotten.

Don't go expecting all the facilities and fuss of a 5 star hotel go to relax in the simple luxury of a beautiful boutique guesthouse where you will be looked after like like nowhere else.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caverswall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Where do we start to say how amazing out recent trip to Sri Lanka in February was??
Well let's start at the very beginning, on recommendation from two good friends who rightly said it was such an amazing place.I messages Karen at Shangri Lanka hoping to stay from 10th Feb to 20th but unfortunately she couldn't fit us in until the 13th, my birthday :-)
Karen suggested she organise a 3 night/4day tour for us ending on the 13th arriving at Shangri Lanka for 6 days pure relaxation and sent through two suggestions, we felt this would be perfect and quickly booked up.
On arrival we were met by our guide Heman and his immaculate car. The 4days that followed were fantastic and so interesting as Heman was a wealth of knowledge and so passionate about his beautiful country and keen to share this with us a true gentleman - thanks Heman we will be back and hope you will be able to show us even more.
We arrived on my birthday at Shangri Lanka and we're greeted by the staff wishing me a Happy Birthday and even organised a beautiful cake at dinner.
I have titled this review Paradise found and this is exactly it, all the staff were so friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The relaxed atmosphere and amazing food meant that we didn't even bother venturing out for dinner at all, spent nearly the whole 6 days bare foot, relaxing and making new friends round the pool - oh and not forgetting the two most well behaved resident pets - maisy and
This was our first experience staying in a guest house and boy will we be challenged to better it, the rooms are amazing with attention to detail second to none, everywhere is spotless and perfect in every way.
I could go on and on but would just like to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who made our stay so perfect -
Karen & Roban boss
Rohan chef
Rayman
Rahmon
Paraman
Kumari
Heman
(So sorry about any miss spelling!!)

We will be back xx

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlw132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 30 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing