We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Total bliss”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Shangrilanka was so good we came back twice. as others have said the staff are amazing and make you feel comfortable and as if you are at home. Food was amazing and prepared in site of the guests and sometimes picked after you have ordered. Everything clean, pool big enough to swim in. Close to beach. Relaxing .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed on a dinner bed & breakfast basis. Food was excellent, plenty of choice, tasty and beautifully presented. Kitchen was relatively open plan so you could see it was kept very clean and tidy.
Bedroom was very large, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The air-conditioning worked well.
Swimming pool was very clean with some shade so it could be used at any time of the day.
All the staff were very efficient and extremely friendly.
Our travel arrangements to/from Colombo and a day trip to Galle were arranged by the staff at a very reasonable price. Drivers were very good, provided a running commentary on things to see. The trip to Galle included a brief stop at the Tsunami Museum, a must if you are in the area.
The only reason you might think twice about Shangri-Lanka is if you MUST be on the beachfront. It is about 1km inland but they will take you to the beach on request. Personally I was glad we were away from the noise of the main road and train line.
Overall a really great place to stay for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms as far as we could tell!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theplusminus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Shangrilanka Villa for a very relaxing 7 nights. It's hard to know what to say that hasn't already been said in previous reviews. The staff are amazing and make you feel so welcome. It's like being welcomed into a family home (the relatives you would choose to stay with!). Nothing is too much trouble. The food is varied and delicious and prepared freshly each day. Owners, Karen and Rohan, were overseas during our stay, however, the villa is so well run, you wouldn't know. They have clearly put a lot of effort into creating such a great place to stay, it would have been interesting to meet them. Teamwork is the key to its success. All the staff work hard and it was a privilege to be their guest.

Our room was very spacious with a huge bathroom. Very light and airy. We had a few resident geckos in our room who could be quite noisy, which, for a city girl was a bit unnerving at first. However, overlooking that, the room was very comfortable, had a table and chairs, small fridge, collection of books for loan, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Oh, and a very comfortable bed.

With only five rooms, we found it very sociable, meeting other guests in the outside dining area. So much more personal than a big hotel, where people just pass in and out of each others lives, but never meet. Part of my enjoyment of travelling is meeting other people and hearing their experiences.

The hotel is down a small lane, just a few minutes from the beach. The hotel tuk tuk is available if you want to be taken to the beach. It is within walking distance, but on a hot and humid day, it could be quite an exhausting stroll. Any trips, day or longer, can be booked for you and anything longer than a tuk tuk ride is in an air conditioned minivan/car.

All-in-all, a great holiday. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 8lackCardigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This truly is a gem of a place. The suites are spacious and comfortable and the grounds, pool and surrounding forest scape are beautiful. But it is the warm welcome and great hospitality which sets Shangri Lanka out as truly excellent. We felt immediately welcome and relaxed very quickly, which is a testament to the great staff. The food was consistently excellent, freshly cooked, and simple but tasty recipes. We were just there to relax and partake of some gem shopping (thanks Karen for the recommendations) but it was clear that tours could be organised if you wished. Nothing was too much bother, and this personal touch defines the great service. We have already booked our next visit :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I meant to write this review a long time ago but better late than never. We stayed at the villa in 2012 and it remains the best holiday as a family we have ever had. The owners could not do more to make us feel welcome. We are a family and at the time our children were 6,4 and 1 and like most families were worried about how they would cope with our gang, but they coped brilliantly. We had meals that were kid friendly cooked when we needed them and then my wife and I could enjoy a more romantic meal after the kids had gone to bed. The accommodation was great, very clean and some nice touches. The pool is a good size and the children loved it. The villa is located a little of the beaten track which adds to its charm. We went for a walk around the area and it was really interesting to see some of the real Sri Lanka. So a fantastic experience and we hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was our fourth visit to this beautiful guest house yet again we were not disappointed. This five bedroom establishment offers services that are second to none. The staff: Raymond, Prem, Paraman, Rohan (Chef) and the two lads whose names I can’t spell (sorry), are all a credit to Karen and Rohan! Their smiles and desire to please are genuine and you can see that the team really do take pride in their work and in their efforts to please.

All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated to a very high standard and the surrounding gardens are immaculate, lovingly tended by Paraman, the unbelievably energetic gardener. We loved eating our breakfast, listening to the sounds of nature in this heavenly setting. Paraman also grows a large selection of fruit and vegetables, which are used in the cooking of meals for guests.

Every dish is cooked from scratch, using fresh ingredients and the non-restricted meal times add to the relaxed ambience of this lovely little guest house. There is a good menu, but we would highly recommend the sea food, particularly the lobster, which is the best we have ever tasted anywhere in the world. The fish and meat is purchased daily from the local market, so every meal is served using fresh ingredients. The menu offers a variety of dishes to suit every pallet and the Sri Lankan Prawn curry is a must! If you fancy a change of scenery and you want to eat out, Karen or Rohan will happily give you candid advice on local restaurants, but eating at the villa is hard to beat.

Bobby and Mazy, the two resident dogs are lovely and they provide the villa with a homely feel. Bobby will sing you as song when he hears the bread van coming and Mazy is the most affectionate dog we have come across, but neither dog is intrusive.

A gorgeous beach is about a fifteen minute walk away along a road through the paddy fields, but if you’re feeling lazy Raymond will organise you a tuk-tuk.

If you fancy a couple of quiet weeks away in five star boutique style luxury at an affordable price, then we would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment. There is absolutely nothing to complain about and we feel it would be hard to beat, not just in Sri Lanka, but anywhere in the world! Thank you to Karen and Rohan for a great two weeks.

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Truly difficult to find the words to express the wonders of this place and the pictures really do not do it justice. The gardens, the villas, the rooms, the staff, the pool, the wildlife all make it what it is. The rooms are immense, tastefully decorated with style and simplicity and exceptionally clean. The food is divine, breakfast served on the small terrace or on our balcony was beautifully presented, and well cooked and kept us going until dinner. We ate out on alternate evenings but found the meals served were delicious and the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. Even the other guests were top notch, a lovely mix of folk enjoying the tranquillity of Shangrilanka Villas. Karen and Rohan run a great place here with a happy band of ever smiling 'boys' - a special mention to Prem who took such special care of us. We miss you!
While I would love to try out new places and don't believe in revisiting places, nothing will stop us returning one day. But until then we have lots of fantastic memories of that magical place to keep us going.
PS the dogs are great company.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms...they are all fab. Great A/c, huge bathrooms and balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.2 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing