We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic earthly paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 66 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Shangri Lanka Villa is definitely the pearl in the oyster. Everything was excellent and the setting just beautiful. The lovely pool was a bonus. Karen and Rohan are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble, they really look after you well. Near the end of our stay Rohan took us on a 4-day tour. Went on safari, stayed 3,000 ft up in an hotel in the mountains, and visited a tea plantation. Went to Kandy & saw the Kandy dancers and Temple of the Tooth. Best of all went to the Elephant Orphange and got to "mingle" with the elephants and Rohan arranged for a table in the restaurant right on the river so that we could see the elephants as they came down to bathe. Rohan arranged everything on that trip and we were never left wondering what we had to do or where to go, as everything was sorted. We were also picked up and taken to and from the airport.

All in all, definitely a trip of a lifetime, and we would absolutely recommend a stay at Shangri Lanka Villa - a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinkStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilanka, owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

Rohan was happy to organise your tour so you could enjoy the trip with no worries. Thankyou for your comments on our place and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2009

wonderful stay, amazing hosts, a lovely jungle sanctuary! Close enought to the beach, but far enough away from the big resorts and the busy-ness of the town. Karen and Rohan were great and accomodating. perfectly relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jess7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Shangri-Lanka villas for 2 days at the beginning of our honeymoon, before touring Sri Lanka with Rohan for a furthur 4 days. The guest house is luxurious, comfortable, spacious and nothing like anywhere else we have stayed before. The evening meals were amazing the king prawns were delicious and fresh fish cooked to order at whatever time suited us. The guest house is in a perfect setting and the staff will drive you to local attractions whenever you want to leave the comfort of the swimming pool sun lounger.

We went to Yalai, Kandy, and Ella with Rohan as our driver and tour guide. Rohan was an excellent guide and we enjoyed drinking arrack with him of an evening. The tour was all inclusive of entry to attarctions, so it was completely stress free for us. Rohan would stop off at places of interest along the way for photo opportunities, fishing on stilts, red bananas and temples.

I would reccomend the Shangri Lanka villa's 100% and the services offered from the guest house. We had a truely perfect stay in Sri Lanka Thanks to Karen and Rohan.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAKECOMO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilanka, owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

We are glad we helped to make your honeymoon so special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Waking up to spectacular views of paddy fields, an aray of wildlife, and home made mango jam could not have been more luxurious.

Shangri-lanka villa was everything we wanted out of our holiday!! It allowed us to have a beautiful relaxing holiday, at the same time being along side Sri lankan cultures. Walking through Bentota village to see the buffolo in the river, and taste local cuisine,

Every day was an adventure with somthing new to see, monkeys, turtles, and humming birds before you even leave the garden. Rohan is amazing at organising excellent excursions at the drop of a hat. We definately recommend Yala National Safari park!!

The Food was so good we did not once feel the need to leave the villa, Fresh Fruit was picked from the garden, and everything was home made by Karen. " Oh and Banana fritters by Rohan are a must try!!!"
General service was fabulous. The two boys were happy to do anything for you. It was like staying with friends.

Thank you for an amazing time!! We definately hope to return to see the rest of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkGraduate2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilanka, owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

So glad you liked the homemade jam and Rohan's banana fritters. he has quite a reputation for getting them perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at Shangri-Lanka Villa for five days after two weeks of travelling around Sri Lanka. After staying in one or two hotels/guest houses which were a little below the standard described on the internet, you start to wonder what you might be arriving to............................ but Shangri-Lanka villa is everything it says and much more ! Nothing is too much trouble and the food is excellent. We will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squeekysax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

What hasn't already been written about Shangri Lanka.

Karen and Rohan are perfect hosts. They make everything so comfortbale for you. Nothing is too much trouble.

Without repeating what previous reviewers have said which is all true!! Just imagine how you would set up your own guest house. Imagine picking your own home up and bringing it away with you.

We will definitely be going back and that has a lot to do with the country but also to the fact that we have found a little gem there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at Shangri Lanka for 6 nights for the first part of our honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect. Karen and Rohan are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome, even before we'd arrived.
The room was great - breakfast on balcony was a particular highlight - especially as it was available any time of the day! We ate most nights at the villa and the food & cocktails were fantastic.
The villa is surrounded by lovely gardens - complete with monkeys swinging in the trees, glow bugs and ghekkos. We enjoyed many an afternoon by the pool with Bobby the dog for company, Ceylon tea and Karen's lovely banana cake!
We went on a two day tour with Rohan up to Kandy which we would recommend.
Our only regret was not spending all of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. We moved on to the Maldives for the second week which was good but nothing compared to Shangri Lanka. All in all it was the best place we've ever stayed. Can't wait to return to Shangri Lanka in the not too distant future...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.5 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing