We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tour and villa for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-Lanka Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 63 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
1 review
“Fantastic tour and villa for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Rohan and karen were fantastic from the moment i contacted them, they organised a tour for the first half of our stay and allowed us to modify the itinerary as we went along and understood abit more about Sri Lanka! Rohan was our driver and guide and was the safest driver we experienced during our whole three week visit to the country. We visted Yala National Park and Ella and Hapatule in the hill country. Rohan's choice of hotel was excellent everytime. We have frineds who had stayed at Shangri Lanka villa and they had told us how nice it was, but we were still gobsmaked by the place. Fantastic rooms, pool and location. It is just far enough of the Galle-columbo coastal road to mean peace and tranquility but to allow a easy walk to the beach if you don't want to take advantage of the free tuk tuk rides. Karen and Rohan and all the staff were helpful, friendly and knew how to balance that with privacy for a honeymooning couple! We planned to eat out a couple of nights in and around bentota but the food that Karen and Rohan and their (very firendly and courteous staff) made us on the first night meant we ate at Shangri Lanka every night. In fact the Rice and Curry meals were the best we had in Sri Lanka and that is saying something! We had been married in Sri Lanka the week before our stay with Rohan and Karen but had not realised we needed our marriage certificate stamping by the foreign minister, Rohan saved us a lot of time and hassle by organising for a friend of his to take the paperwork to columbo for us, for a very reasonable fee. Our entire stay including all food, booze, tour and accomodation was very reasonably priced. All in all Shangri Lanka deserves all the brilliant reviews that it has got on TripAdvisor and we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidlad_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
292
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

location was wonderful, a small jungle on your doorstep. peaceful and quiet. the owners are very lovely people who went out their way to help us have a fantastic holiday.
Very clean and well looked after rooms and grounds.
tuk tuk on site to take you to local sites and restaurants.
home cooked food, great produce and some tasty traditional sri lankan curries.
would return again as you couldnt ask for more.
if planning to see the rest of the islands amazing sites, everything can be organised easily and quickly with the owners. we had the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b1bstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Its difficult to add anything more to the already excellent reports for this property. Karen and Rohan are very attentive hosts and we had really a great vacation. The rooms pool and gardens are neat tidy and the location with rooms over looking the jungle setting are superb. The sights and sounds and regular visitors such as monkeys keep you entertained. The pool is perfect for a lazy day.
We were lucky as all the guests staying at the time we were there were fun and this added to the experience.
The property is a 10 min walk to the beach down a quiet country road away from the hussle and noise of the beach road. Tuk Tuk avaliable if your not feeling too energetic. Beaches unspoilt with few people to spoil the natural scene. Amar seemed to be the local beach bar guests gravitated to.
Sri Lanka is hectic (traffic mad!!) but it draws you in and Shangri Lanka is ideally positioned for trips to the south and in land to Kandy. Rohan was an excellent guide and visitors should try one of his trips, really worth the experience.
Evening meal was served on the patio with other guests. Karen and her team are very attentive and food is very good. Breakfast can be taken on your balcony and is served as you rise.
There is little one can be critical of and thats why so many people return to this lovely place, we shall certainly go back.
Try local town for gifts cheaper than through beach boys etc...
Thank you again Rohan Karen and staff.
Simon and Justina

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soarbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Nothing can do justice to the welcome and surroundings that greeted us when we first arrived at Shangri Lanka Villa. We stayed in the top Villa of which was exquisitely furnished and decorated in Sri Lankan colours and art. Our balcony overlooked the garden, pool and best of all “the jungle tree tops”. Whilst taking breakfast ‘on the balcony'!! we watched the monkeys swing by, chipmunks, paradise birds, hornbills, humming birds, geckos, fruit bats and not forgetting Bobby & Maisy (the house dogs) who took a liking to ginger nut biscuits!
The lane to the beach (10mins) was a safari in itself – water buffalo, mongoose, water monitors, herons and a variety of exotic birds.
We spent 3 amazing weeks at the villa - eating in most nights - a combination of excellent seafood, fresh fish, sir Lankan curries and roast sucking pig - washed down with a couple of bottle of white wine! – as the reviews say – you’ll not eat better elsewhere.
Rohan, Karen and the boys work 24/7 and give 110% to deliver a personalised service that is second to none – we’ll be back for Jan 2011 to celebrate a couple of big 50 birthdays !! Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReahManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Everything thats been said in previous reviews is true. Its a lovely place to stay for a relaxing break in the sunshine. The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool and grounds are great. The food prepared by Karen and served by the boys is excellent, and anything you want is prepared freshly each day.
I thought Champagnelife2010 had posted my review for me as that was exactly what we did everyday. Early morning tea on the balcony followed by breakfast at your leisure. Down to the pool for some sun and relaxation with a good book. Back to balcony for a beer and lunch before returning to the poolside after the midday day sun for for some more r and r.
I was worried about the mossies before I went and took everything known to man to deter them. In the event I was bitten twice in 13 days. Rohan says they only come out between 5-30 and 7 pm in the evening, which appeared to be the case, the time we were in our room for drinks and to prepare for dinner.
I have marked down sleep quality only because the monkeys appear some mornings at daybreak and use the roof as a staging post. And at about 6-30 am each morning the baker comes round with a musical jingle, but the cakes and savoury pastries are well worth getting up for.
I could go on but I will leave it for my next visit already planned for Jan 2011.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

I can make it short: All former reviews reflect exactly what ShangriLanka Villa is: A true and unique paradise conducted by the most charming and skilled Karen and Rohan! We stayed there nearly 2 weeks and we enjoyed everything at its best, including the two house dogs Bobby and Maizie. If you have time, it is a must to go with Rohan on a three days' tour to discover some of the major beauties of Sri Lanka. We had great dinners with some other guests and - in our still cold Switzerland - we miss the wonderful breakfasts on the terrace of our room. We will definitely come back. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wernero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

We arrived at the Shangri Lanka boutique guest house after a four day tour with Rohan (one half of SLV). If you visit Sri Lanka a tour is a must as it is the best way to see and sample Sri Lanka at its best. Rohan was perfect as our guide and driver, being a local he knew all the bet places to take us and was always a great source of information to find out about what the guide books don't tell you.

We met Karen (the other half of SLV) when we arrived at the villa. We settled into the 2nd floor room, with large double bed, spacious bathroom and within minutes we were unpacked and soon sitting on the balcony enjoying a large glass of Lion beer. It took us about a day to relax into the life and routine of the villa and we soon found ourselves in a routine of gorgeous breakfasts with fresh bread, pancakes, bacon, sausage, homemade jam, fresh fruit platters and tea every morning brilliantly served by the boys, then spending the rest of the morning reading by the pool soaking up the rays and swimming. By lunchtime we were back on our balcony enjoying a freshly made BLT with chips, before further sunbathing and swimming by the pool in the afternoon.

Towards the evening our dinner order was taken, you can ask for what ever you like, whether it be a BBQ, fresh fish from the town or lovely chicken curry to name a few meals we had. We would drink, eat and chat the night away with fellow guests and Karen & Rohan before retiring for the night ready for another big breakfast in the morning,

If your looking for somewhere in Sri Lanka to relax and do very little, have five star service from Karen, Rohan and the boys (Chaminda, Dhanuska and Sanka) then this is the place. We stayed 7 nights in all and would love to return with friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneLife2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 30 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing