We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous villa & great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 66 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The villa was lovely, the rooms were well furnished and very spacious. There was a group of us and we were able to rent the whole villa. The pool and garden were both really nice and one of the many highlights of our stay was watching a group of monkeys playing in the jungle beyond the garden just a few metres from our balcony. It made an interesting change to staying right by the beach - which was still just a 10 minute walk away! It was a bit far to walk to town, but it was easy and quick to arrange a tuk tuk through Karen or Rohan, the drivers were great and even helped us and waited to bring us back again, all for out £2 :-)

Karen & Rohan along with all the others were very accommodating. They helped us with arranging many things from changing up money, to interesting trips out to transport to where our friends were getting married nearby and much more... The food at the villa was really tasty as well as being great value. The breakfast was especially good which they happily prepared for us at times ranging from 6am to 1.30pm!

Rohan organised us a tour which made up the second week of our holiday and took in a lot of sights. He came with us as our tour guide and really was brilliant. He was good fun, we were hard pushed to find anything he didn’t know the answer to, he booked us lovely hotels and we only had to mention something in passing and it was there!

We had a great holiday. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_s82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

booking a holiday for me is a major event - I want it to be perfect. Mostly I get it almost right, but our holiday to Shangri Lanka Villa was even better than I had ever dreampt it would be. Of course when you read the previous reviews you do realise this is a special place, but even so I still wondered whether it would come up to MY expectations! I needn't have worried because it didn't just meet them, it exceeded them.
It's not often I would recommend a holiday to someone else knowing how everybody's dreams are different, but I would recommend Shangri Lanka with absolutely no hesitation.

It has already been said what wonderful hosts Karen and Rohan are, and this is what makes it work so well. They are there to see to your every need, but in a way which is in no way intrusive. The boys are a true asset to the whole ambiance of Shangri Lanka as to are Masie and Bobbie (the dogs). The food cooked at the Villa was really special and was complimented by some very convivial company and good wine!

Whatever you want from a holiday there is something to meet every need in Sri Lanka, and again Karen and Rohan are there to ensure you get whatever it is you want from your holiday. For us it was to spend time chilling out, and where better than on the wonderful beach in Bentota. Often we were the only people there, our only other company being the crows and the cows! Amal's bar, and the very friendly Wadgie (probably not how you spell his name) provided the sunbeds and umbrella to make sure we could spend a few hours each day reading and soaking up the sun, not to mention a very inexpensive lunch and fresh fruit juices.

Karen arranged for us to go on a couple of trips in the tuk tuk driven by Asanka who was not only a good driver but also provided us with lots of local knowledge. His trip to Galle which took in the turtle hatchery was excellent and it also included a visit to the tsunami museum on the way which was particularly emotional. Another excellent outing was an early mornng boat trip on the Bentota River which took in the mangroves (absolutely amazing) and where we saw a wide variety of wildlife including crocodiles!

If I had never moved away from the Villa for the whole 2 week holiday I would still have had a truly amazing time - my only complaint is that there isn't a Shangi Lanka Villa in every country!!!!

Thank you so much Karen and Rohan for a holiday of a lifetime
Shirley and Peter

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Rohan and karen were fantastic from the moment i contacted them, they organised a tour for the first half of our stay and allowed us to modify the itinerary as we went along and understood abit more about Sri Lanka! Rohan was our driver and guide and was the safest driver we experienced during our whole three week visit to the country. We visted Yala National Park and Ella and Hapatule in the hill country. Rohan's choice of hotel was excellent everytime. We have frineds who had stayed at Shangri Lanka villa and they had told us how nice it was, but we were still gobsmaked by the place. Fantastic rooms, pool and location. It is just far enough of the Galle-columbo coastal road to mean peace and tranquility but to allow a easy walk to the beach if you don't want to take advantage of the free tuk tuk rides. Karen and Rohan and all the staff were helpful, friendly and knew how to balance that with privacy for a honeymooning couple! We planned to eat out a couple of nights in and around bentota but the food that Karen and Rohan and their (very firendly and courteous staff) made us on the first night meant we ate at Shangri Lanka every night. In fact the Rice and Curry meals were the best we had in Sri Lanka and that is saying something! We had been married in Sri Lanka the week before our stay with Rohan and Karen but had not realised we needed our marriage certificate stamping by the foreign minister, Rohan saved us a lot of time and hassle by organising for a friend of his to take the paperwork to columbo for us, for a very reasonable fee. Our entire stay including all food, booze, tour and accomodation was very reasonably priced. All in all Shangri Lanka deserves all the brilliant reviews that it has got on TripAdvisor and we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidlad_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

location was wonderful, a small jungle on your doorstep. peaceful and quiet. the owners are very lovely people who went out their way to help us have a fantastic holiday.
Very clean and well looked after rooms and grounds.
tuk tuk on site to take you to local sites and restaurants.
home cooked food, great produce and some tasty traditional sri lankan curries.
would return again as you couldnt ask for more.
if planning to see the rest of the islands amazing sites, everything can be organised easily and quickly with the owners. we had the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b1bstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Its difficult to add anything more to the already excellent reports for this property. Karen and Rohan are very attentive hosts and we had really a great vacation. The rooms pool and gardens are neat tidy and the location with rooms over looking the jungle setting are superb. The sights and sounds and regular visitors such as monkeys keep you entertained. The pool is perfect for a lazy day.
We were lucky as all the guests staying at the time we were there were fun and this added to the experience.
The property is a 10 min walk to the beach down a quiet country road away from the hussle and noise of the beach road. Tuk Tuk avaliable if your not feeling too energetic. Beaches unspoilt with few people to spoil the natural scene. Amar seemed to be the local beach bar guests gravitated to.
Sri Lanka is hectic (traffic mad!!) but it draws you in and Shangri Lanka is ideally positioned for trips to the south and in land to Kandy. Rohan was an excellent guide and visitors should try one of his trips, really worth the experience.
Evening meal was served on the patio with other guests. Karen and her team are very attentive and food is very good. Breakfast can be taken on your balcony and is served as you rise.
There is little one can be critical of and thats why so many people return to this lovely place, we shall certainly go back.
Try local town for gifts cheaper than through beach boys etc...
Thank you again Rohan Karen and staff.
Simon and Justina

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soarbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Nothing can do justice to the welcome and surroundings that greeted us when we first arrived at Shangri Lanka Villa. We stayed in the top Villa of which was exquisitely furnished and decorated in Sri Lankan colours and art. Our balcony overlooked the garden, pool and best of all “the jungle tree tops”. Whilst taking breakfast ‘on the balcony'!! we watched the monkeys swing by, chipmunks, paradise birds, hornbills, humming birds, geckos, fruit bats and not forgetting Bobby & Maisy (the house dogs) who took a liking to ginger nut biscuits!
The lane to the beach (10mins) was a safari in itself – water buffalo, mongoose, water monitors, herons and a variety of exotic birds.
We spent 3 amazing weeks at the villa - eating in most nights - a combination of excellent seafood, fresh fish, sir Lankan curries and roast sucking pig - washed down with a couple of bottle of white wine! – as the reviews say – you’ll not eat better elsewhere.
Rohan, Karen and the boys work 24/7 and give 110% to deliver a personalised service that is second to none – we’ll be back for Jan 2011 to celebrate a couple of big 50 birthdays !! Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReahManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Everything thats been said in previous reviews is true. Its a lovely place to stay for a relaxing break in the sunshine. The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool and grounds are great. The food prepared by Karen and served by the boys is excellent, and anything you want is prepared freshly each day.
I thought Champagnelife2010 had posted my review for me as that was exactly what we did everyday. Early morning tea on the balcony followed by breakfast at your leisure. Down to the pool for some sun and relaxation with a good book. Back to balcony for a beer and lunch before returning to the poolside after the midday day sun for for some more r and r.
I was worried about the mossies before I went and took everything known to man to deter them. In the event I was bitten twice in 13 days. Rohan says they only come out between 5-30 and 7 pm in the evening, which appeared to be the case, the time we were in our room for drinks and to prepare for dinner.
I have marked down sleep quality only because the monkeys appear some mornings at daybreak and use the roof as a staging post. And at about 6-30 am each morning the baker comes round with a musical jingle, but the cakes and savoury pastries are well worth getting up for.
I could go on but I will leave it for my next visit already planned for Jan 2011.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: £83 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing