We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great food”
Review of Mama's Galle Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mama's Galle Fort
Ranked #34 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great food”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We LOVED Mama's Guest House and felt fortunately that we were able to get one of only two rooms, having no idea before we got there how small the hotel was. Most people go for the excellent food on the roof terrace. Our room was very large well furnished and clean, with a sitting area as well as the comfortable queen size bed. The bathroom, with a separate shower section, was spacious. Body scrub and shampoo sold downstairs were provided. There was a mosquito net around the bed as well as air conditioning and an overhead fan. No view from the room. (Their other room on the front of the building has a small furnished terrace that faces the street with no sitting area in the room itself. We liked our room better.) The bedrooms are one flight up. Two flights up is the terrace dining room with nice views and lovely flowering plants. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was excellent. We chose a Sri Lankan breakfast (roti with carmelized onion sambal and dahl) with excellent French press coffee and fruit juice. Mama teaches cooking classes and if you learn to cook what you eat in the restaurant, it's got to be worth it. Our only negative over the two nights we spent there was the 5 a.m. call to prayer from the nearby mosque. Other than that, you could not find a more pleasant place to stay within the walls. Service was friendly and courteous. Sure, there are fancier places in Galle, but you do feel like a special guest at Mama's.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleNWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    15
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
327 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Went to Mama's for lunch to check out how accurate the reviews are about the views! To be fair is was just after the rains, therefore the stairs upto the rooftop and the rooftop itself was wet. There seemed to be one waiter who was running up and down steep stairs to serve the handful of customers. The owner who we met downstairs seemed quite shrewd and business minded*. What I preferred on the menu was no available so we ordered rice and curry. One portion was good for a female and I dont think a local male would be satisfied with the small portions. The food itself was average.

The views to the side of the lighthouse is pretty as the houses are in pastel shades and the roofs are maintained. But the rest of the 180 degree views are of dilapidated houses/ rooftops.

Visit Mama's just to checkout if you like the vies and maybe just for a meal and a look around the house. It has a steep yet unusual staircase.

The rooms are well appointed, but there is hardly a view. Just the streets and houses on one side. The path to the rooftop cafe is past the bedroom doors, therefore it could be noisy and crowded when people tread carefully down the steep stairs.


On this visit he quoted a reasonable price for the room but on a later occasion when I called him he quoted Rs.3000 more and said he would give a discount of Rs.800 and that I should book fast by sending him an e-mail and down payment. He kept on asking for a payment, when all the rooms were free and it was off season!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

In a quiet, narrow street Mama's just has two bedrooms - but they are both large, breezy, comfortable and with ensuite bathroms. We stayed in Room 2, this is at the front of the house with views both down onto the street from the shuttered windows on the balcony and to the fort ramparts and sea from the bedroom window. We think that this is the pick of the two rooms and is full of character as it is actually four different spaces. When you first walk into the room there is a vestibule with a couple of chairs and chaise lounge then you walk through another set of double doors to the bedroom and again out through more double doors to the shuttered balcony.
The bed is two single beds pushed together with a mosquito net that needs some attention - it is attached to the ceiling on curtain tracks but sags between each curtain hook.. We were fortunate that we didn't have any mosquitos visit us.
Room number 1 has one large bed - not sure what state the mozzie net is in that room though.
Our room was white-washed and had bright turquoise curtains at the window from floor to ceiling - a wonderful contrast to the white - there was also a window seat with cushions and covers in the same blue.
There was both a fan and aircon in the room.
The bathroom was adequate - not the best feature of the room. Water supply was fine, but terrazzo has been used on the floors and benchtop and that stains badly. We had the most wonderful cinnamon scrub and clove shower gel provided in large pottery bottles - very classy!
It would be better if the rooms were serviced - our bathroom was awash with water and the bathmat needed changing. Maybe they do this after a certain number of days.
The balcony was fun for watching the street activity - small boys playing cricket and the various street sellers hawking their wares to the housewives in the morning. Particularly enjoyed the fish-seller with his bicycle and case of fish on the back being tailed by a clutch of cats and kittens all meowing for a feed!
A warning - access to both bedrooms is via an antique, narrow-treaded spiral staircase which could well cause problems for some people.
When we tried to exit the hotel to watch the sunrise from the ramparts we found that the front door was locked and no-one was up to let us out. We did find a way - but it would be best to let the staff know your intentions the night before. And just pray that there isn't a fire!
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We thought this was a charming, atmospheric place to stay and would recommend it and the nearby mosque will make sure that you wake up in time for your sunrise walk!

Room Tip: Room number 1 is at the front of the guesthouse and can have street noise, but has great views and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very clean and pleasant rooms, very friendly staff. Nice breakfast in the terrace, witch has a very nice view over Galle. We didn't have any meals in the place, so nothing to say regarding that.
Recomended, though a little overpriced (no TV, no Wifi).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I arrived with great expectations for Mama’s (based on their website and many reviews) for a five night stay. Some were well founded, but others were disappointing.
Mama’s is situated is in a peaceful area inside the old fort, with very little traffic noise in the narrow streets, but at 4.45am (and other times throughout the day) the nearby mosque loudly calls the faithful to prayer through the five loudspeakers on its roof.
Inside, we were greeted warmly by the manager, and all other staff were very pleasant. The only way up to the two rooms (first floor) and the restaurant (terrace) is via an extremely narrow and steep antique spiral staircase which could prove to be impossible for elderly or infirm guests. Our room was spacious and clean with a large comfortable bed, but the shower fluctuated dramatically in pressure and temperature. Our room was only serviced on our third day in residence.
The restaurant is on the terrace, but the photo on the website was possibly taken from the roof as the actual view of the ocean is much more restricted. Still, a very pleasant dining area with entertainment from the palm squirrels on the neighbouring roof. Breakfast was quite adequate with fruit, eggs and toast. The smallish dinner menu was very good on first acquaintance, but would become boring after two or three days.
We took the “cooking class” at US$25 each, and were treated to a demonstration of how to mix the base meat or vegetable with about 8 spices (and coconut milk) in remarkably similar quantities before cooking. At least we got a “free” lunch at the end.
A computer is available in the lobby for surfing, and I was loaned a G3 USB plug-in to access the net from my laptop. No TV or radio was available in the room or elsewhere.
Warning - do not ask Mama’s to do laundry for you, unless you really understand the currency. We filled in the laundry form, but didn’t properly compute the charges with the result that our four days of dirty clothes cost us about US$30. Comparison with other hotels showed that we had been overcharged by about 2½ times. The laundry had been done by the Sun House, an associated guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwijock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

After seeing the fabulous reviews I happened to drop in there for lunch during one of my visits to the fort. The service was terrible, may be because I was a Sri Lankan myself. We ordered a prawn dish but got chicken instead, and when we said that was not our order, we were then served a prawn curry 10 minutes later, and the prawns were almost raw. The okra curry served had sum-thing which looked like a geckos S... right on top in the dish. The food was tasteless.
it was a terrible experience and I will never site the place again. journo-ludo

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journoludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galle hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This place is situated in a quiet peaceful street inside the walls of galle.has a lovely roof top terrace with a.view to the sea.the night we ate there was very busy, which would seem good except for the layout of the place.waitstaff have to run up and down three floors to deliver food and as a result, service is slow and the food was not so good.the pasta ( mushroom and bacon)consisted of a small bowl of packet pasta with maybe two tiny spoons of chopped bacon and some tinned tomatoes.the fish of the day was ok but nothing special and overlooked.brushetta was chopped tomatoes and onions served on white squares of bread with an olive on top.mamas, maybe you should read an Italian cook book to make these basic recepies.one round of drinks was forgotten and people who had made reservations had to be turned away as there seem to be no one running the restaurant.with such a good location it was so let down by the standard of food and disorganisation.to the two wait staff who were trying to run around after thirty people as well as clear, do drinks, take orders and run up and down three flights of stairs well done.its a pity there was no one to back you up

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank propsgirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Thenu Rest Guest House
Thenu Rest Guest House
#56 of 125 in Galle
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secret Palace Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#28 of 125 in Galle
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#88 of 125 in Galle
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#14 of 125 in Galle
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#20 of 125 in Galle
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Galle Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Galle Fort

Property: Mama's Galle Fort
Address: 76 Leyn Baan Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mama's Galle Fort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamas Galle Fort Roof Café and Guesthouse is situated at 67, near Leyn Baan Street in the world heritage site of Galle Fort.It is newly renovated house Available 3 Bedrooms with A/C facilities with Roof cafe restaurants. Mrs.Malani and Her daughter ready to you family services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mama's Galle Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama`s Galle Fort Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing