We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms are wonderful - a top choice”
Review of Mama's Galle Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama's Galle Fort
Ranked #74 of 167 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

It would appear some reviewers are struggling to understand that this is the page for the guesthouse, not the cafe on the roof.

My travel companion and I stayed 2 nights and were delighted with our stay, the owners are underselling the place.

Both of the two rooms are large and have above Sri Lankan average. High ceilings, large bathrooms and huge rooms on both the front and backside of the building. The included breakfast was very good, staff helpful and the location perfect right inside the fort. Good value for the money. Next time I'm in Galle I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had breakfast here. I had the "eastern breakfast" of coconut roti and fruit platter. Fruit platter was tiny. Really small amounts and not very tasty at all. Not very friendly service either. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Having read lonely planets review of this restaurant we were expecting good things. They are correct on one thing, the location was great. Every thing else was terrible. The two waiter guys had no idea what they were doing, we're incredibly slow and we had to repeatedly ask for menus, drinks and to place our orders. The food was no better; bland, overpriced and served at a cool temperature. If you want to go somewhere with nic ambience then this is the place, just don't expect any service or decent food

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TJL336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We LOVED Mama's Guest House and felt fortunately that we were able to get one of only two rooms, having no idea before we got there how small the hotel was. Most people go for the excellent food on the roof terrace. Our room was very large well furnished and clean, with a sitting area as well as the comfortable queen size bed. The bathroom, with a separate shower section, was spacious. Body scrub and shampoo sold downstairs were provided. There was a mosquito net around the bed as well as air conditioning and an overhead fan. No view from the room. (Their other room on the front of the building has a small furnished terrace that faces the street with no sitting area in the room itself. We liked our room better.) The bedrooms are one flight up. Two flights up is the terrace dining room with nice views and lovely flowering plants. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was excellent. We chose a Sri Lankan breakfast (roti with carmelized onion sambal and dahl) with excellent French press coffee and fruit juice. Mama teaches cooking classes and if you learn to cook what you eat in the restaurant, it's got to be worth it. Our only negative over the two nights we spent there was the 5 a.m. call to prayer from the nearby mosque. Other than that, you could not find a more pleasant place to stay within the walls. Service was friendly and courteous. Sure, there are fancier places in Galle, but you do feel like a special guest at Mama's.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleNWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Went to Mama's for lunch to check out how accurate the reviews are about the views! To be fair is was just after the rains, therefore the stairs upto the rooftop and the rooftop itself was wet. There seemed to be one waiter who was running up and down steep stairs to serve the handful of customers. The owner who we met downstairs seemed quite shrewd and business minded*. What I preferred on the menu was no available so we ordered rice and curry. One portion was good for a female and I dont think a local male would be satisfied with the small portions. The food itself was average.

The views to the side of the lighthouse is pretty as the houses are in pastel shades and the roofs are maintained. But the rest of the 180 degree views are of dilapidated houses/ rooftops.

Visit Mama's just to checkout if you like the vies and maybe just for a meal and a look around the house. It has a steep yet unusual staircase.

The rooms are well appointed, but there is hardly a view. Just the streets and houses on one side. The path to the rooftop cafe is past the bedroom doors, therefore it could be noisy and crowded when people tread carefully down the steep stairs.


On this visit he quoted a reasonable price for the room but on a later occasion when I called him he quoted Rs.3000 more and said he would give a discount of Rs.800 and that I should book fast by sending him an e-mail and down payment. He kept on asking for a payment, when all the rooms were free and it was off season!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

In a quiet, narrow street Mama's just has two bedrooms - but they are both large, breezy, comfortable and with ensuite bathroms. We stayed in Room 2, this is at the front of the house with views both down onto the street from the shuttered windows on the balcony and to the fort ramparts and sea from the bedroom window. We think that this is the pick of the two rooms and is full of character as it is actually four different spaces. When you first walk into the room there is a vestibule with a couple of chairs and chaise lounge then you walk through another set of double doors to the bedroom and again out through more double doors to the shuttered balcony.
The bed is two single beds pushed together with a mosquito net that needs some attention - it is attached to the ceiling on curtain tracks but sags between each curtain hook.. We were fortunate that we didn't have any mosquitos visit us.
Room number 1 has one large bed - not sure what state the mozzie net is in that room though.
Our room was white-washed and had bright turquoise curtains at the window from floor to ceiling - a wonderful contrast to the white - there was also a window seat with cushions and covers in the same blue.
There was both a fan and aircon in the room.
The bathroom was adequate - not the best feature of the room. Water supply was fine, but terrazzo has been used on the floors and benchtop and that stains badly. We had the most wonderful cinnamon scrub and clove shower gel provided in large pottery bottles - very classy!
It would be better if the rooms were serviced - our bathroom was awash with water and the bathmat needed changing. Maybe they do this after a certain number of days.
The balcony was fun for watching the street activity - small boys playing cricket and the various street sellers hawking their wares to the housewives in the morning. Particularly enjoyed the fish-seller with his bicycle and case of fish on the back being tailed by a clutch of cats and kittens all meowing for a feed!
A warning - access to both bedrooms is via an antique, narrow-treaded spiral staircase which could well cause problems for some people.
When we tried to exit the hotel to watch the sunrise from the ramparts we found that the front door was locked and no-one was up to let us out. We did find a way - but it would be best to let the staff know your intentions the night before. And just pray that there isn't a fire!
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We thought this was a charming, atmospheric place to stay and would recommend it and the nearby mosque will make sure that you wake up in time for your sunrise walk!

Room Tip: Room number 1 is at the front of the guesthouse and can have street noise, but has great views and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very clean and pleasant rooms, very friendly staff. Nice breakfast in the terrace, witch has a very nice view over Galle. We didn't have any meals in the place, so nothing to say regarding that.
Recomended, though a little overpriced (no TV, no Wifi).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
3.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#5 of 26 in Galle
277 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leisure Land Luxury Eco Villas
3.6 mi away
Villa Republic Galle
Villa Republic Galle
#1 of 1 in Gintota
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 26 in Galle
1,850 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 26 in Galle
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Galle Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Galle Fort

Address: 76 Leyn Baan Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mama's Galle Fort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamas Galle Fort Roof Café and Guesthouse is situated at 76 Leyn Baan Street in the world heritage site of Galle Fort.It is newly renovated house Available 2 Bedrooms with A/C facilities with Roof cafe restaurants. Mrs.Malani and Her daughter ready to you family services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mama's Galle Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama`s Galle Fort Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing