We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ernstmaye...
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calm family-run guesthose; be careful with the payment”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This family-run guesthouse is a quiet place outside of the Galle city downtown. The garden is beautiful, and you can cook your own food and also do your own laundry. The guesthouse is near the Karapitiya hospital (15 minutes walking). The beach is quite far away, you cannot walk there.
The house itself is not very clean, when we came there, we cleaned everything, especially the kitchen. Then it was ok.
My fiancé and me stayed there for 7 weeks. The landlords didn't talk much with us, but when we asked them something, they were helpful. Since the father is a doctor, we could also call him when we were afraid of having Dengue fever, giving us helpful tips.

However, be careful to don't give them too much money upfront: when you change your plans, they won't return you anything. First, we wanted to stay there for three months and he talked us into giving him the whole money upfront, (he gave us some discount). He told us "everything is possible" and he will always help us. We trusted them and didn't think of leaving earlier. But because of many illnesses, we decided to leave earlier, already after 7 weeks. We asked them to give us a little money back, because we paid for 13 weeks and left after 7 weeks, but they refused to do so. This was especially disappointing since we are students, and it is a family-run guesthouse and we had the illusion that they would try to help us out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review.
Thank you for giving us opportunity help you in your illness even you both were not in our place at that time but far away in other side of the country. Thank you for your gratitude for our ‘extra effort’ to a guest!

The issue is very clear, since we offer you half rate for your longer stay; we were unable to refund the amount you expected when you are leaving the country before the date you planned to leave. You did not agree to a compensatory option offered. Due to this simple reason you came with many other complains contrary what our previous guest never made.

Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina A
Sibiu, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The place is exactly like described: calm and in the middle of the nature. I enjoyed many hours in the beautiful garden! I was working at the Karapitya hospital and the distance is walkable. The family is very friendly and helpful! Would recommended it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
1 review
“Lovely and friendly place”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I spent wonderful weeks with Mahinda and his family. The place is idyllic, clean and everyone is so helpful and friendly. I would always return to this place and can only recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank Alex It is nice to have a wonderful person like you with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilo B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice and calm home stay ”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a very pleasant week at the homestay. Manjarie and her husband are very friendly and helpful with everything we needed.
The place is perfect if you are working in galle or want the real town and not the touristic Fort experience.

Thanks a lot for having us at your place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Nice to have you both with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha L
1 review
“Very nice accommodation in calm area”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I stayed 3 weeks at Manjarie&Mahinda`s Place. It was very nice and calm. In there garden are many tropical plants and also typical Sri Lankan- animals (monitor lizards, special birds, monkeys,...). I liked that very much. Mahinda, his wife Manjarie and their two sons are friendly, helpful and caring. I asked Manjarie to cook with me Sri Lankan food (because I love cooking) and she showed me many dishes. I could eat with the family and felt like part of it.
I can highly recommend this place and will come back one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Martha is very respectful and responsible girl who loves clocking we learned German recipes and love have guest like you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice place with caring owners who live next door. They can also tell you a lot about Sri Lanka and some unkown places worth a visit. We had a great stay and even if the guest house itself is in a quiet area you can reach every important institution (even the Fort) within a few minutes by foot or TukTuk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2017
"Thank you, we are happy to host you"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simiodaso
Galle, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very nice and friendly place. Always coming back there when I am in Galle. Highly recommendable!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you and you are welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing