We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rampart View Guest House
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I spent four nights at the Rampart View Guest House. The people who run the place are extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating.

I chose to buy the breakfast (not included in the cost of the room, but that was okay). It was 500 rupees and when I was given the choices, I said that what I would really prefer was just a bowl of fruit each morning, along with my coffee. They were able to prepare a really nice bowl of papaya, mango, banana, and pineapple for my breakfast, and it was quite satisfying. I was very happy to eat there and not have to walk out of the hotel to look for breakfast.

I would recommend this place without any qualms.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms, all at the same level with the ramparts. I think there is not a bad choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduardo13820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I chose this guesthouse because of the location, and it was perfect. It's quite strange to step outside your room and onto your balcony and be at the same height as people walking along the ramparts! So it's not exactly private, but great for people watching.
The room was very nice, the bathroom was well furnished, with a hot shower.
It was a little bit difficult to get up the steps to my room, especially with my bag (which isn't even a big one!) and you would need to take care if the steps were wet.
Breakfast is served on the balcony. Very nice, but potentially a bit hot (no fan) so you have to hope there's a sea breeze. There wasn't when I was there.
The balcony area is nice, but it is shared, so if the other guests are smokers, it isn't pleasant. In fact someone in the room next to mine smoked heavily on the balcony and I could smell this in my room. I couldn't sit on the balcony when he was there because of this. (I suppose I could have asked him not to smoke.)
The owner is lovely, and very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karentoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

good location, very peaceful at night (apart from the ROAR of the ocean). comfortable, clean, largish room. the view from the balcony (expecially the part where they serve the enormous breakfasts) is lovely, with the sea only meters away.
i didn't use A/C or fan at night, but slept with the windows open and that was cool enough, and listened to the waves.
the owner was kind enough to offer me some of her End-of-Ramadan sweets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Location-wise this guesthouse can't be beaten and if it I'd too hot to gout on an adventure you could sit on the balcony all day watching the world go by. it seems as though everyone comes here - to have a picnic with the family, to go to the beach for a swim, to while away the time waiting for the sun to set, and mostly for the lovely cooling ocean breezes.

The family who run the guesthouse are lovely and very friendly. The guesthouse itself is basic. Our room had a double bed, efficient ceiling fan and an air conditioner which we didnt need to use. The bed was reasonably comfortable. There is a bar of lifebuoy soap in the bathroom but if you were hoping for a small bottle of shampoo and conditioner you will be disappointed. The hot water system is hard to work out and we found the easiest way to use it was to have two showers going, one with hot water and one with cold. all in all the guesthouse is excellent value for money.

There are signs prominently displayed asking you not to drink alcohol, which is a shame - a sundowners always goes down well. Strangely we didn't find a single restaurant or shop within the walls of the fort that sold alcohol. and neither did we see any televisions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzurisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was the only 'guest house' that we stayed in during our tour of Sri Lanka, but it was one of the most pleasant stays during our few weeks on the island. We booked an extremely reasonably priced room, with air conditioning, mosquito nets, sea view and stunning view of the sunset. The bathroom looked almost brand new. The only concern we had was a few cracks where insects could have potential got through, but, that said, we had no problems (and the mosquito net put our minds at ease).

We were unsure of the time of our arrival and so asked to have a meal provided (at an extremely low price) for our first evening. Mrs Rauf asked what we wanted and then cooked us a banquet. We asked for traditionally cooked fish. We had tuna with a traditional dahl curry, a potato curry, okra, poppadoms etc etc! After this we asked to have all of our meals cooked by Mrs Rauf, and didn't even consider going elsewhere. The traditional cooking really was a highlight of our holiday.

Finally, the roof garden which looks out onto the ocean was a fantastic place to sit and watch the world go by.

We would strongly urge anyone coming to Galle, looking for value for money, to consider staying here (and having Mrs Rauf cook for you). It was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose an air conditioned room with a sunset view (even though it is fractionally more expensive)- n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the annex as there were 4 of us. The room was easily big enough, with 4 single beds.
The room however had a samp problem and had mould on the walls and a musty smell, if you're allergic beware.
Otherwise, room was adequate. They don't allow alcohol in the public spaces either, although the view from the roof is awesome. I would however caution anyone with small kids not to go up there, there where no guard rails and a fair drop.
We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food however there is so much to eat nearby it didnt matter.
All in all, fair calue for money, but a little run down and the sraff werent exactly sparkly. They werent mean, just a bit meh.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RampartView, Owner at Rampart View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

It is most unfortunate that you did not raise these concerns during the course of your the stay so that we could have rectified these issues at the time.

The annex were you stayed is not actually part of Rampart View Guesthouse. It is in a neighbouring property which we allocate to guests when we are full. We have only recently taken on this room and are still in the processing of bringing it up to the same high standard as our other rooms in the main building.

We are grateful for the shortcomings you have raised and will endeavour to rectify them as quickly as possible.

In order to create a safe family environment for our guests and in accordance with our Islamic beliefs, we do not allow alcohol to be consumed in public areas. However, we always make it clear to guests that they are most welcome to consume alcohol in their own room.

We are most disappointed with your comments towards our hard-working staff. A brief look through our dozens of reviews will show that our staff are always on hand to assist guests in an efficient and friendly manner.

Sincerely,
Rampart View Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Galle Fort has emerged as a hot travel destination in recent years, and it's not hard to see why. Wandering its compact network of narrow lanes on foot, each rich in architectural heritage, is an enchanting experience. A night within the Fort itself is recommended, and Rampart View is enviably located by the ramparts near Flag Rock Bastion and within walking distance of the Fort's various attractions. Rampart View is certainly at the budget end of the spectrum of accommodation options in Galle Fort, but though simple and spartan, we found our room spacious, clean and comfortable, with an en-suite bathroom with shower, and providing a fine view of the ramparts and the Indian Ocean beyond. There was no TV, but the complimentary Wi-fi was strong enough for video streaming if visual entertainment was required. Nobody ever visited Galle to watch TV though. On our arrival we were given a brief tour of the property, which included some initially complicated sounding arrangements regarding the main door and its alarm, although none of this ultimately posed any practical difficulty for us. Owned by a Muslim family, a 'No Liquor Please' sign is prominently displayed on the first floor balcony. Nobody should be inconvenienced by this as there is an ample supply of places to eat, and drink if required, elsewhere in the Fort. Guests also have use of a rooftop garden area, a good vantage point for views of the ramparts and neighbouring streets. The traditional Sri Lankan breakfast, served on the balcony, although costing extra, was superb and filling, with hoppers, sambol, and curry. All in all, then, an inexpensive and well located guesthouse with much to recommend it as a base for exploring Galle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
3.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Gems
2.1 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lady Hill
Lady Hill
#12 of 25 in Galle
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 25 in Galle
30 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Ocean Dew
Villa Ocean Dew
#21 of 25 in Galle
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rampart View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rampart View Guest House

Address: 37 Rampart Street, Fort, Galle | Sri Lanka, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £62 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rampart View Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is situated overlooking the sea and it has rooms with sea view. The view of the sunset & sunrise is what unique and the big terrace where the guests could have the sun bath is what differentiates our Guest House. Registered and approved Home Stay Guest House by the Sri Lanka Tourist Board. Free from alcohol.The view of the ocean, Southern & Northern side of galle. It is only ten minutes walking distance from the Galle town to our Guest House.We at Rampart View will deliver reliable and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Rampart View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rampart View Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing